Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Cyberwings - Cogent verifies lines being lit


invar
07-17-2002, 03:19 PM
For those who are interested in what is going on with Cyberwings, I emailed Cogent yesterday requesting information.

I received a response today from someone within the company.

I forwarded this email to about a dozen people, before someone suggested I post here.

Additionally, I forwarded that email in a raw unedited form, so names were not changed nor was my contact information. Below is the slightly modified form (things enclosed in *'s are edited*) just in case.

The top part is their response, way at the bottom is my original email:
-------------- Begin paste ------------------

They have indeed placed an order with us, not certain if it has been
activated yet, but if not will be in the next week or so.

Thank you

-----Original Message-----
From: ContactForm@salt.cogentco.com
[mailto:ContactForm@salt.cogentco.com]
Sent: Tuesday, July 16, 2002 5:46 PM
To: Cogent Communications
Subject: Information Request - n/a


------------------------------------------------------------
The following information was sent as part of an information request through
the form located at http://www.cogentco.com/Access/contact_us.html

If a question appears at the end, the form location is
http://www.cogentco.com/Access/contact_usq.html
------------------------------------------------------------

Name: *My Name*
Title: n/a

-------------------
Company Information
-------------------
*my contact information*


-They are an ISP

-Their primary business activity is: n/a

-Their primary use of Internet access is: Web Browsing

-Their internet connection is:

-How fast is their internet connection? Greater than 1.54 Mbps

-How many employees at their location? 1 - 50

-------------------------------------------------
***OPT OUT*** User wishes to opt out of receiving further information from
Cogent

-Their question is:

As you may or may not be aware of, Cyberwings recently "temporarily" shut
down its hosting service. They haven't provided an adequate explanation,
but have noted that negotiations with Lightship have failed, and have caused
them to have to relocate.

Their current claim is that they are relocating to an unspecified location
in Virginia with T-3 lines provided by AT&T and Sprint, and a 100Mbps line
provided by you, Cogent.

As of yet, the CEO of Cyberwings has not provided any concrete evidence of
this supposed move. As such, many of us, the customers, are rigorously
trying to find out as much as possible regarding this move.

Do you know if Cyberwings, or Shawn White have indeed contracted a 100mbps
line from you and whether or not it is indeed active as Shawn White claims?

Thank you.

sparrow8
07-17-2002, 03:29 PM
GeeZ......................So much for the Non Disclosure agreements Shawn had.........................?????????????????????
according to his July 17 update?????????????????

Sparrow

invar
07-17-2002, 03:30 PM
yeah, go figure. don't ask me, i just pass along the information i receive.

you guys have no reason to believe me, but the email received is indeed real and was from cogent, none of it was made up.

it's not much to go on, but it's better than nothing.

Hiccups
07-17-2002, 03:33 PM
Any way to take a peek at the full headers of that?

invar
07-17-2002, 03:43 PM
yes, with some information edited out of course. i left my own email in there. as usual, *'s indicate an edit from yours truly:

Received: from a1.netforward.com [216.185.114.66] by alum.rpi.edu with ESMTP
(SMTPD32-7.11) id AB381160148; Wed, 17 Jul 2002 10:12:08 -0400
Received: from server1.mail.cogentco.com (server1.mail.cogentco.com [66.28.3.8])
by a1.netforward.com (8.11.4/8.11.4) with ESMTP id g6HE9B716980
for <invar@cyberjunkie.com>; Wed, 17 Jul 2002 09:09:12 -0500
Received: from dca-03.ms.cogentco.com (dca-03.ms.cogentco.com [192.168.168.3])
by server1.mail.cogentco.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id E304A10EBC
for <invar@cyberjunkie.com>; Wed, 17 Jul 2002 10:21:20 -0400 (EDT)
Received: by dca-03.ms.cogentco.com with Internet Mail Service (5.5.2653.19)
id <319BZND1>; Wed, 17 Jul 2002 10:09:06 -0400
Message-ID: <E15A0A26BB57B845AF909DA6C14EBEE102A8F8C1@dca-03.ms.cogentco.com>
From: "*cogent employee's name*" <*someone*@Cogentco.com>
To: "'invar@cyberjunkie.com'" <invar@cyberjunkie.com>
Subject: RE: Information Request - n/a
Date: Wed, 17 Jul 2002 10:09:01 -0400
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Mailer: Internet Mail Service (5.5.2653.19)
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset="iso-8859-1"
X-RCPT-TO: <kenric@alum.rpi.edu>
Status: U
X-UIDL: 320033863

They have indeed placed an order with us, not certain if it has been
activated yet, but if not will be in the next week or so.

Thank you

-----Original Message-----
From: ContactForm@salt.cogentco.com
[mailto:ContactForm@salt.cogentco.com]
Sent: Tuesday, July 16, 2002 5:46 PM
To: Cogent Communications
Subject: Information Request - n/a


------------------------------------------------------------
The following information was sent as part of an information request through
the form located at http://www.cogentco.com/Access/contact_us.html

If a question appears at the end, the form location is
http://www.cogentco.com/Access/contact_usq.html
------------------------------------------------------------

Name: *my full name*
Title: n/a

-------------------
Company Information
-------------------
*my contact information*

-They are an ISP

-Their primary business activity is: n/a

-Their primary use of Internet access is: Web Browsing

-Their internet connection is:

-How fast is their internet connection? Greater than 1.54 Mbps

-How many employees at their location? 1 - 50

-------------------------------------------------
***OPT OUT*** User wishes to opt out of receiving further information from
Cogent

-Their question is:

As you may or may not be aware of, Cyberwings recently "temporarily" shut
down its hosting service. They haven't provided an adequate explanation,
but have noted that negotiations with Lightship have failed, and have caused
them to have to relocate.

Their current claim is that they are relocating to an unspecified location
in Virginia with T-3 lines provided by AT&T and Sprint, and a 100Mbps line
provided by you, Cogent.

As of yet, the CEO of Cyberwings has not provided any concrete evidence of
this supposed move. As such, many of us, the customers, are rigorously
trying to find out as much as possible regarding this move.

Do you know if Cyberwings, or Shawn White have indeed contracted a 100mbps
line from you and whether or not it is indeed active as Shawn White claims?

Thank you.

Gem Hexen
07-17-2002, 06:42 PM
Originally on cwstatus.com
I CANNOT take new pictures of the NEW DC due to FEDERAL GOVERNMENT SERVERS being on this site with us. Period. If you do not like that, sorry, it's the way it goes.

I cannot take pictures because we are in a government shared facility.

I asked permission to get PICTURES of the new DC and was denied since we are sharing facilities with certain government servers that are under government rule. Sorry.

- Didn't he say it was his own data center?
- Strange that he can't share photos!

VoxKeysGtr
07-17-2002, 07:12 PM
He certainly made it sound that way, just like the data center they had built from scratch in Maine. :rolleyes:

magick
07-18-2002, 01:53 AM
will believe that when i see my sites back......

smidwap
07-30-2002, 11:07 PM
This doesn't mean everyone has to take back everything they said :stickout :eek .

Well now we do know Shawn has his own data center, unless he was buying a Cogent 100mbps line for his home (or apartment :D ). For some reason, I had to trust him on this one, but I still don't like the way he handled the entire situation. It is a mistake a CEO of a web hosting company made...a BIG one. :o