Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : puzzle to solve


imago-allan
07-16-2002, 11:26 AM
Greetings!

EDIT: (I rephrased the question)

Disclaimer: Domain names mentioned here are fictitious.
Any similarities are purely coincidental. Thanks.

Say neverland.com gets a reseller account at goodhost.com.
Goodhost.com offers it a static IP: 123.123.123.1.
Also goodhost.com instructed it to use the IP addresses:
123.123.123.1 and 123.123.123.2 as the nameservers which also correspond to ns.neverland.com and ns2.neverland.com

Neverland.com's website is now hosted by goodhost.com using the nameservers ns.neverland.com and ns2.neverland.com.


Neverland.com also acquired another reseller plan from a separate hosting company besthost.com. besthost.com also offers neverland.com a static IP: 456.456.456.19. Besthost likewise instructs neverland.com to use the IP addresses 456.456.456.3 and 456.456.456.4 to use as nameservers which also represent ns3.neverland.com and ns4.neverland.com respectively.

Neverland.com is hosting dummy.com using its reseller account at besthost. Thus, dummy.com is using the nameservers ns3.neverland.com and ns4.neverland.com.

When an email from dummy.com's account say info@dummy.com is sent to info@neverland.com, the email is not received.

info@dummy.com ---> info@neverland.com (no email is received)


However, when an email is sent from info@neverland.com to info@dummy.com an email is properly received.

info@neverland.com -->info@dummy.com (email arrived)


An investigation was conducted and it was found out that the emails from info@dummy.com was "redirected" to neverland.com's static IP at besthost.com!

Note that neverland.com is not physically hosted at besthost.com.

The analysis suggested was that when an email from info@dummy.com which is hosted at besthost's reseller account is sent to neverland.com, the internal server at besthost.com's reseller account is interpreting to be sent to the static IP: 456.456.456.19. and not to neverland.com which is hosted at goodhost.com.

How can this problem be resolved? Is it possible for besthost.com to "instruct" its reseller account's server to redirect the emails to the server of goodhost.com?

Here is the current scenario:

info@dummy.com ---> Static IP / info@neverland.com
(besthost) besthost / (goodhost)

legend: / - outgoing email blocked


Here is the proposal:

Static IP --point to--> static IP
(besthost) (goodhost)

Is the above proposal possible?

puggy106
07-16-2002, 11:30 AM
Ok, I think I can understand that ... going to get a drink and will reply again! Need to give my brain a break after that!

ntwaddel
07-16-2002, 11:40 AM
i think this would have been easier if you would have just made up names for the companies :-P

elevation
07-16-2002, 12:50 PM
Originally posted by ntwaddel
i think this would have been easier if you would have just made up names for the companies :-P

I was thinking the exact same thing! :nuts:

Roger
07-16-2002, 01:22 PM
One solution is to tell besthost.com to point the MX record for neverland.com to the goodhost.com's reseller IP.

That's a simple change on DNS and it should work fine.

If they are using sendmail, they should also remove neverland.com from the local-host-names file.

imago-allan
07-16-2002, 10:48 PM
To everyone, do you think the suggestion of Roger will work. Don't have any experience with it. We don't want to screw up.
Please confirm.

Thanks.

Roger, have you tested it before. Sorry about being so "innocent" about this 'cause as of now we are still learning.

:)

SoftWareRevue
07-16-2002, 11:53 PM
Originally posted by puggy106
Ok, I think I can understand that ... going to get a drink and will reply again! Need to give my brain a break after that! puggy!! Quit drinkin and get back to work. :p

The puzzle has changed; somewhat.

*Pouring me some coffee and gonna get this. ;)