Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Should I?


ljprevo
07-12-2002, 03:19 PM
Honestly I am not, but would you?

I had this customer try to order from me and his card kept declining (thanks AVS!)

Well he opened a ticket asking us to manually run it through.

Well the decline was because of no AVS or Address Verification Match.

He gave me a UK address :eek:

Normally when I get UK cards the AVS can't process and I get a message "Non US Card"

Well seeing that I trace the IP address to none other than Taiwan.

All while using a Hotmail account.

I have my mind made up, it's fraud.

But the guy keeps claiming that he is legit, and the UK card is good. Has pretty good english.

He has not answered me why he has a Taiwan IP address.

Fraud?

Angel78
07-12-2002, 03:27 PM
perhaps he is an irish man whose grandparents are from Jamaica and his sister got that card from her second husband whose uncle was married to a girl name Annette from sweden and she used to work in england and gave her CC to her son to buy some milk but he took the CC and gave it to his sister and she accidently put it in the letter and send it to the sister of the irish man but as she was on vacation in Jamaica, her brother took the letter open it and bought first a ticket to Taiwan, and once there he decided that he need's a web hosting account, so i guess it is not a fraud :)

ljprevo
07-12-2002, 03:30 PM
:laugh:

Angel78
07-12-2002, 03:37 PM
I guess it has become hard for fraud-ppl to get account nowadays, :)

ntwaddel
07-12-2002, 04:21 PM
haha, tell him to pay via c2it.com or send a money order :-P that will filter out the cc kiddies instantly

Synwave
07-12-2002, 06:02 PM
Ask if you can contact him over the phone! - This can scare off fraudsters!

Gem Hexen
07-13-2002, 02:02 AM
If he put down a valid phone # (yeah, right...)

DotComster
07-13-2002, 04:13 AM
>>He has not answered me why he has a Taiwan IP address.

That would be enough reason to reject him - but did you do a WhoIs on his domain? You know who currently hosts him?

SoftWareRevue
07-13-2002, 11:10 AM
I'd probably go along with Angel78's explaination. :D

If I knew what that was. :eek2:



No. Really. :cartman: That makes perfect sense to me. :stan:



But, back to your question . . . . . . NO. I wouldn't. There are legitimate orders you can process.

RRolfe
07-13-2002, 11:23 AM
i wouldnt run the card.

akashik
07-13-2002, 12:42 PM
Originally posted by ljprevo
Has pretty good english. He has not answered me why he has a Taiwan IP address.

Just void it. Last time I was taiwan was as a stop-over between australia and the US. After that amount of time in the air, almost everyone there I spoke to had better english than me, so that means very little. It's got pretty much all the flags for being a bad order short of a flashing red light

Greg Moore

MadCool
07-13-2002, 12:59 PM
Definitely fraud. Ask for a phone number and trace it.

Deb
07-13-2002, 03:27 PM
I agree with the fraud idea however in the name of playing the devil's advocate, if the guy swears it's valid...and there is a SLIM CHANCE that it is... simply send him to a form and have him print it and fax it back to you with a copy of his Picture ID and Front/Back of the card itself.

The form should look "something like" this....

http://usa.visa.com/media/business/authorizform_cil.pdf