Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Universal Webhosting SCAM - WATCH OUT


danny-e
04-23-2007, 06:05 PM
Watch out for the 2 following hosting companies trying to sell you hosting.
They are both the same people and both are scams.

The Sites:
universal-webhosting.com
zinc-uk.com

I purchased a master reseller account for £25 nearly 1 week ago.
Since then i have contacted the hosting several times.

In the end i found out there msn messenger address and added them to msn.
They said my account would be sorted by tomorrow which was 3 days ago.

I tried talking to them today through msn and found they had blocked me.
They are now ignoring all emails.

Watch out and don't be scammed by these people.

I paid thought paypal and have filed a claim. What else can i do to make sure no other people fall into the same position i did?


Also i found out that my friend has been scammed by this person within the last week. He bought a vBulletin license for his new project and the scammer sent him an empty file.


Thanks

Mike V
04-23-2007, 06:39 PM
Yep, the domain details for each company are identical. Could you post an abbreviated MSN chat log showing your conversation? We don't need the whole thing, just the relevant parts. :)

danny-e
04-23-2007, 06:42 PM
sorry i don't have any saved unless they get saved automatically
my friend told me to save them when i was talking to him today but i forgot all about it.
i will ask my friend that got ripped off if he has any chat logs

also if they get saved automatically, where would they be.

thanks

ldcdc
04-23-2007, 08:21 PM
Sorry to hear the bad news. I hope you'll be able to get your money back one way or another.

I purchased a master reseller account(...)
Thread moved to Reseller Hosting Forum.

I paid thought paypal and have filed a claim. Unfortunately, it might be hard to get the money back for intangible items. If I recall correctly, Paypal has a policy on this, though exceptions are not unheard of.

tercede
04-23-2007, 09:02 PM
Sorry to hear that. If they dont have the money in the account then paypal can't really do anything.

forumize
04-24-2007, 06:34 AM
Hello,

I am the person who bought the vbulletin licenec for my new project, i bought it last friday at around 11:30pm, we was talking on msn, and he told me on msn he needed the money to pay for his new server, before this i had payed. He then said the ex owner hadnt passed all relevent details on to him, implying he couldnt pay for the server so his host would completely go :eek:

Then later around 12-12:30pm he went offline (told me yesterday he went to bed) but in actual fact had blocked me. Later when i posted on a forum about this he contacted me and said that i had apparently DOS attacked his server and he has full proof, now earlier that day he sent me a file (isnt there some way to get IP's from that ?) so i think hes kinda stiching me up now. But i never did anything to his servers, as i wouldnt know how to command 1.

Ive got some chat logs, and when i said im posting on WHT, he said to me he would terminate danny's (first posted in here) account. (threat ?, breach of contact ?)

Later last night he told me he is selling up, and he told my friend danny aswell.

The chat logs below dont show much, but he didnt give me login details to anything and told me the login details was in the file he sent me (They wasnt :mad:)


Has any one got £9 spare in pay pal i really need to borrow it says:
yer
`·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· DANNY `·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· says:
k
`·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· DANNY `·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· says:
wots paypal
`·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· DANNY `·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· says:
payin now

Your contact appears to be offline, so you cannot send a nudge.

Has any one got £9 spare in pay pal i really need to borrow it says:
paypal@universal-webhosting.com
Has any one got £9 spare in pay pal i really need to borrow it says:

Has any one got £9 spare in pay pal i really need to borrow it says:
billing
Has any one got £9 spare in pay pal i really need to borrow it says:
not paypal
`·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· DANNY `·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· says:
You have sent £23.00 GBP to billing@universal-webhosting.com
`·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· DANNY `·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· says:
sent
`·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· DANNY `·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· says:
You have sent £23.00 GBP to billing@universal-webhosting.com
Has any one got £9 spare in pay pal i really need to borrow it sends:

Open(Alt+P)
`·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· DANNY `·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· says:
login details ?
Has any one got £9 spare in pay pal i really need to borrow it says:
there all in there called license.txt
`·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· DANNY `·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· says:
cudnt u jst giv me them now ?
Has any one got £9 spare in pay pal i really need to borrow it says:
just a sec i need to pay the server
`·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· DANNY `·.¸¸.·´´¯`··._.· says:
ok

You have successfully received C:\Documents and Settings\*****\My Documents\***********\vb-3.65.rar from Has any one got £9 spare in pay pal i really need to borrow it.


The support on there site is hirendous for support. i contacted them the other day still had no reply. I think its just a 15 year old kid to be honest, and hope he replys to this thread now :)

The full url is www.universal-webhosting.com (http://www.universal-webhosting.com) - DO NOT USE !

dan

cpanellover
04-24-2007, 09:53 AM
hi,

Illegal use of vBulletin www.vbulletin.com is the one and only please you should obtain vBulletin .... Also if he is really a 15years old kidd that would be illegal.Anybody under legal age cannot do business

forumize
04-24-2007, 10:05 AM
hi,

Illegal use of vBulletin www.vbulletin.com (http://www.vbulletin.com) is the one and only please you should obtain vBulletin .... Also if he is really a 15years old kidd that would be illegal.Anybody under legal age cannot do business

So whats hes done is illegal ?

and could this be taken to the local autherities ?

cheers
dan

cpanellover
04-24-2007, 10:28 AM
So whats hes done is illegal ?

and could this be taken to the local autherities ?

cheers
dan

Yes actually i'm 100% sure he's using a pirated vBulletin because without a valid vBulletin customer you cannot install it that information is send to you by vBulletin and is unique .... http://wwww.vbulletin.com/piracy.php but they will not let you know what action they took against him (privacy laws ...) and it also depends where he lives.Some countrys do not act on copyright infrigements aka prirated software

kjawaid
04-24-2007, 12:20 PM
i tired to access both sites .. but both are down .. i think this person is gone now

forumize
05-15-2007, 03:37 PM
Just to update, we won paypal. However he is using a different paypal address now. I would advise you to stay away completely, it also looks like hes got a new domain, but his other domains are still up

Hopefully legal action will be taken this week some time :)

Since paypal have taken our side im sure the police will investigate also small claims court could come in handy, i know its not much money but at least he doesnt have the money :)

Also reporting to Vbulletin some day this week, ive got chat logs etc :)

Cheers
dan