Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Here we go again!


James Cross
07-08-2002, 06:13 AM
Looks like someone trying to be a smart ass again by copying our site design and referring traffic through to their own site.

http://www.carewebhosting.com/hosting/webhostdir.htm

Anyone heard of these guys before?

roly
07-08-2002, 06:57 AM
Yes I've heared of them, a few weeks ago they were spamming webhostingtalk dedicated/webhosting and reseller forums with ads.

James Cross
07-08-2002, 07:02 AM
From what i can tell theyre hosted at Dialtone. Not suprisingly they dont have any published phone numbers on their site....

James Cross
07-08-2002, 07:43 AM
Looks like we're not alone in this, theyve done the same thing to:

http://www.carewebhosting.com/hosting/hostindex.htm
http://www.carewebhosting.com/hosting/tophosts.htm
http://www.carewebhosting.com/hosting/hostsearch.htm
http://www.carewebhosting.com/hosting/findsp.htm

I'm sure there are probably more ........

akashik
07-08-2002, 07:59 AM
weird, all the links seem to go to different pages of http://www.dataneuron.com. Looks like they might be trying to play a trick on the SE's or people, or something...

... Tommy's gonna be angry when he sees it :)

Greg Moore

James Cross
07-08-2002, 08:09 AM
Originally posted by akashik
weird, all the links seem to go to different pages of http://www.dataneuron.com. Looks like they might be trying to play a trick on the SE's or people, or something...

... Tommy's gonna be angry when he sees it :)

Greg Moore

He just found out about it :angry:

I think its definately a search engine indexing scam. Pretty dumb though, not exactly a long term marketing strategy.

akashik
07-08-2002, 08:14 AM
better send him off to the pub before he breaks something

James Cross
07-08-2002, 08:18 AM
LOL he's on vacation until Wednesday, i just spoke to him via MSN Messenger....not a happy bunny!

ATST
07-08-2002, 01:45 PM
Yep, definately a Search Engine scam. All the links on that page (and there are many) go to about four pages only somewhat related to the links!
One "awards" link goes to a "customercare.shtml"?

James Cross
07-08-2002, 02:31 PM
We've reported it to Dialtone who are investigating the issue as we speak. Should get the problem sorted later today.

Marketing
07-08-2002, 11:00 PM
Hi James
Thanks for letting us know about this, like you guys we are contacting Dialtone today.

Doesnt it make you sick, these guys have no morals.
Thanks again

vSector
07-09-2002, 12:00 AM
They are all acting as doorway pages. If you ask me its not a bad idea or tactic... Illegal but stilln not bad, I give him 10/10 for the idea.

See he will submit each "shell" to a search engine and it will be listed, then ranked, then visited.

James Cross
07-09-2002, 04:18 AM
Originally posted by Marketing
Hi James
Thanks for letting us know about this, like you guys we are contacting Dialtone today.

Doesnt it make you sick, these guys have no morals.
Thanks again

I traced the server to Dialtone but someone on our forums seems to think its a site operating from India. Anyone else get that result from a search?

iamdave
07-09-2002, 05:17 AM
The least they could've done was take out the logo.

Studio64
07-09-2002, 05:24 AM
The low down on http://www.carewebhosting.com/ in one post.

A useless whois

Registrant:
Care Web Hosting hostmaster@carewebhosting.com phone number
Care Web Hosting
Glenside
Glenside,NJ,United States 23456

That whois is complete BS..
No such town as Glenside
Zip of 23456 is Virginia Beach, VA


carewebhosting.com resolves out to 64.239.46.25
Reverse DNS shows a nameserver as ns.web2011.net

That IP is owned by Dialtone


Dialtone Internet (NETBLK-DIALTONEINTERNET-3)
4101 SW 47 Ave Suite 101
Davie, FL 33314
US

Netname: DIALTONEINTERNET-3
Netblock: 64.239.0.0 - 64.239.127.255
Maintainer: DITN



Results from traceroutes
Ended up in Davie, FL on a Dialtone pipe @ their nameserver
(That's confirmed from 4 traceroutes starting at different points around the world)...


Their nameserver NS.WEB2011.NET has more useless whois
(Registered through bulkregister.com)

Domain Name: WEB2011.NET

Administrative Contact:
Webcentric Technologies host@web2011.net
Webcentric Technologies
.
., . .
US
Phone: .
Fax: .


Both nameservers

64.239.46.25 -> ns.web2011.net
64.239.47.28 -> ns2.web2011.net

Both resolve down to Davie, FL and Dialtone Internet

No good matches in the Davie, FL phone book for "care", "web", "host", "internet"...

I'm at a dead-end now...

James Cross
07-09-2002, 05:31 AM
Thanks thats what i got when i ran a trace yesterday. The site is still live, which i find incredible given the blatent infringement.

Marketing
07-09-2002, 10:45 PM
Thanks Studio and James
We also came out with the same result when doing a search.
And James your right there still up and running.
Just cant beleive the gual of these guys.
We sending them an e-mail saying we will take legal action but i guess they wont answer

James Cross
07-10-2002, 05:58 AM
The site has been pulled by Dialtone. Youve got to ask yourself how long it will take them or another bunch of muppets to try the same scam though.

Chicken
07-11-2002, 12:02 AM
Gotta watch out for them there muppets :D

James Cross
07-14-2002, 04:55 PM
I blame animal! Its always the ones with with shifty eyes youve got to watch out for......