
|
View Full Version : Sorry Chicken - Star Gate ?
DotComster 07-06-2002, 03:41 AM Hi Chicken - just me wondering here - you can even delete this thread if you want.
Robert Frost? Does he own www.***********.com - or it's URL?
>>The URL that was banned was the registrar star gate.
I resell for them, and 4 others - I kinda like them so do my customers.
I can write NetSol's URL, and even Register.com's here - and my customers hate them two - yet Star Gate is going to be censcored here by WHT?
No offence intended here Chicken, really - I just need to know why this is happening.
Basmah 07-06-2002, 03:50 AM Hi Chicken,
Can't you just encounter the person from the registrar and clear things up instead of banning the name from the forum?
Basmah:)
DotComster 07-06-2002, 06:46 AM If you want to buy a domain - do not ever use these links:
http://www.nsi.com
http://www.netsol.com
http://www.networksolutions.com
Note - I just wanted to see if WHT blocked NetSoL - or if they just blocked Star Gate. - Net SoL is allowed and Star Gate is censored.
SoftWareRevue 07-06-2002, 08:40 AM There's always a reason. WHT doesn't censor URLs just for the sake of censoring.
If you really want to know; why not just email the moderators to the address listed at the bottom of every page here?
I like Star_Gate too. But, they obviously had problems adhereing to this forums' rules.
Forgot to mention; you may want to look at http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=59123
edude 07-06-2002, 08:53 AM SWR ;)
I know your online, come on MSN.. :P
Chicken 07-06-2002, 12:36 PM Ok, just so I don't have to re-explain this via PM a few thousand times :D ...
Members/hosts/other are not banned or blocked for what they do off board. They could be the worst provider known to man and as long as they don't violate the guidelines, they will not be banned/blocked here. This is why NetSol is not blocked, for example.
The reason a block was necessary is that one member had posted about over 120 times in the domain forum alone (out of 225-ish) and a quick scan of the posts showed that many of these were recommendations for the registrar. I love removing over 100 posts as much as the next guy, but in the interest of having a life, a block was put on the name which takes care of things much quicker.
This was brought to our attention by a another member with a keen eye. It isn't fair to members who play by the rules and who only advertise in the three places we allow advertising (signature & profile, advertising forums, paid advert at top).
Luminance 07-06-2002, 01:56 PM So what do actually see when you scan the posts? How do you know that member posted in recommendation of the registrar?
Chicken 07-06-2002, 02:22 PM Sorry, we cannot reveal the secret Chicken system ;) As for the member posting recommedations, errr.. well, they posted something to the extent of, "Try blahblah.com" which pretty much seals the deal there.
Luminance 07-06-2002, 02:41 PM can you also check if someone has registered 2 usernames? (ip check or something) and if I suspect someone, can I check it myself?
Basmah 07-06-2002, 03:58 PM If they relied on IP check, they'd boot out my husband and I as we are on the same IP# and are both members of this forum:D
Basmah:)
Chicken 07-06-2002, 08:53 PM Luminance, there's no way for members to check. If you have a concern, we'll gladly look into it for you, just email. As Basmah was saying, it isn't about users having the same IP, though if her husband was saying how great BasmahHosting was, we'd surely have a problem with that :D
Acroplex 07-06-2002, 10:40 PM This does not make sense to me, I recommend Star_gate and although I would not go to the extend to put their URL in my sig I think that banning an active registrar is extreme.
StarGate 07-06-2002, 11:34 PM Originally posted by DotComster
Robert Frost? Does he own www.***********.com - or it's URL?
My name is Robert Prost not Frost Grrrrrr! :bawling: :bawling:
I own ********.hm not .com ... at least not anymore... :bawling: :bawling:
StarGate 07-06-2002, 11:35 PM BTW: Net-fu*king-Sol should be censored, nuked, killed, hung, stabbed, burned.... etc :angry:
Quoting DotComster:
If you want to buy a domain - do not ever use these links:
http://www.nsi.com
http://www.netsol.com
http://www.networksolutions.com
Note - I just wanted to see if WHT blocked NetSoL - or if they just blocked Star Gate. - Net SoL is allowed and Star Gate is censored.
I agree 100% :agree:
Acroplex 07-06-2002, 11:38 PM Originally posted by ShareFile
My name is Robert Prost not Frost
You should feel honored you were mistaken for a great - but very dead - poet :D
Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.
My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.
He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound's the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.
The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.
Chicken 07-06-2002, 11:39 PM Originally posted by timechange
This does not make sense to me, I recommend Star_gate and although I would not go to the extend to put their URL in my sig I think that banning an active registrar is extreme.
We think that spamming your URL all over the place not only is piss-poor netiquette, but it is also a clear violation of the guidelines. If everyone did it, this forum would be a wasteland. We need to at least try to keep advertising limited to the places whre it is allowed to be fair to other members who own businesses and to be fair to our advertisers, etc. It would be kinda silly to allow one company to spam their URL all over the forum while asking for revenue for advertising now wouldn't it.
For the most part, the policies of the forum are not advertiser driven. WHT, while I've been here, has never allowed companies to come and spam the forums. We work very hard to catch as much as possible so that people have a place to go and discuss things. We surely don't catch it all, but we do our best.
Most ban/blocks are removed within 15 days - 6 months. This may be extreme, however if you've been here for 225+ posts, I fail to beleive that you didn't know our policies.
We enforce a very strict policy regarding solicitation of our membership by Forum participants except in those Forum sections where advertising is expressly permitted.
I feel this is more than fair, and if you feel the need to read spam, sign up for a hotmail account and enter your site into those FFA submit services. ;)
RRolfe 07-06-2002, 11:51 PM if someone spams these forums they deserve to get thier name/url banned. its not good that someone else got caught in the crossfire with thier name but hopefully he will find a way around it that works for them. :)
Chicken 07-07-2002, 12:54 AM And we're aware that it is more than an inconvenience, however there's no easy solution. If something can be done about it, then it will be. With that, I think the question has been answered.
|