Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Does anyone else get this?


MGCJerry
07-03-2002, 10:01 AM
I received an email in my inbox and it reads below...

Dear Sir/Madam,

I have visited www.rpgregistry.com and found it is a thoughtfully designed one with much helpful information but poorly listed in many search engines. It's time to do something. Find a most effective way of advertising, find FULLPROMOTE! Best Service, lowest cost! Fullpromote will instantly submit your website to all the famous searching engines around the world.
To check our pricelist and submit www.rpgregistry.com to 500,000 search engines in the world, go to www.fullpromote.com.We will try our best to publicize your website.


What makes this funny, is that "rpgregistry.com" isn't even my site. :laugh: :eek: This is my second such message that was targeted to the wrong webmaster.

I also didnt realize that there was 500,000 search engines... I thought the few well known ones are important...?


Does anyone else here get junk in your email box for somebody elses site?

edude
07-03-2002, 10:23 AM
500,000 search engines? i think they exaggerated, i mean to make it look like a good offer, why not add 450,000 more search engines :cool:

RRolfe
07-03-2002, 11:19 AM
Originally posted by edude
500,000 search engines? i think they exaggerated, i mean to make it look like a good offer, why not add 450,000 more search engines :cool:
LOL

akashik
07-03-2002, 01:03 PM
I got that one myself - odd as it was for my partner's site. Her contact details are on there clear as day, and yet after looking through it and thinking it was a nice site they went ahead and contacted the e-mail address on the whois record (ie me).

Pfft. That e-mail met an untimely end, screaming in the jaws of spamcop.

Greg Moore

code_renegade
07-03-2002, 01:43 PM
Misrepresentation - that's the word. They are actually referring to the web directories, FFA lists, etc... I mean, so many search engines in the world? :rolleyes:

I'm a lazy person, so I let Google do the indexing :D