Tiggy
06-29-2002, 02:51 PM
Today I got an unexpected email warning me about Gearhost (who I am currently hosted and happy with)... it reads:-
"If the Ryan Kekos of Gearhost is one and the same as Microclear.net you should be very careful. Microclear disappeared in the middle of the night, but only after billing all their client's cards for a year. Never give them your credit card info."
I remember seeing the warnings about Ryan's history here at WHT a few months ago now, but I chose to stay with Gearhost and don't regret my decision.
I just wondered if this is a passing visitor advising me of Ryan's history (which I was aware of) or if it was a general mailing targetted at existing Gearhost customers. Personally I'm not convinced that it is a passing visitor as it is only mentioned once on the site who my host is (although there is the chance it could be)... I just wondered if any other Gearhost customers have got the same mailing at all?
"If the Ryan Kekos of Gearhost is one and the same as Microclear.net you should be very careful. Microclear disappeared in the middle of the night, but only after billing all their client's cards for a year. Never give them your credit card info."
I remember seeing the warnings about Ryan's history here at WHT a few months ago now, but I chose to stay with Gearhost and don't regret my decision.
I just wondered if this is a passing visitor advising me of Ryan's history (which I was aware of) or if it was a general mailing targetted at existing Gearhost customers. Personally I'm not convinced that it is a passing visitor as it is only mentioned once on the site who my host is (although there is the chance it could be)... I just wondered if any other Gearhost customers have got the same mailing at all?
