
|
View Full Version : web hosting company
aiste 06-27-2002, 09:01 AM Have you heard smth. about www.amen.uk.com ? I am looking for a hosting company and i think "amen" has good offers...(Only 4.5£ for 100 MB site,10 pop accounts,set up fees included.....)...
Have you heard smth about it?
Any suggestions?
P.S.I saw their ad in "Internet magazine"newest issue....
markcastle 06-27-2002, 09:23 AM Site design is a nice ripoff of Cobalt.com
Originally posted by markcastle
Site design is a nice ripoff of Cobalt.com
Ummm, I don't think so...:eek:
mlovick 06-27-2002, 09:29 AM They claim to have 30,000 satisfied customers. But the domain was registered 3 months ago.
Domain Name: AMEN.UK.COM
Registrant: Amen, c/o Amen France
Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Billing Contact:
Patrick Chassany (H72571) centralnic@amen.fr
Amen France
12-14 rond-point des Champs Elysees
Paris
75008
FR
Tel. 00 33 1 46 51 95 26
Fax 00 33 1 46 51 95 60
Record created on: 05 March 2002
Record expires on: 05 March 2004
Status: Live
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.AMENWORLD.COM 217.174.192.237
NS2.AMENWORLD.COM 195.154.205.8
KualoJo 06-27-2002, 09:36 AM That probably includes their french branch then (?). If not it is an outright lie. We just don't know.... :)
Paul-UKWSD 06-27-2002, 09:37 AM Originally posted by mlovick
[B]They claim to have 30,000 satisfied customers. But the domain was registered 3 months ago.
Maybe they got off to a flying start ;)
mlovick 06-27-2002, 09:39 AM Ah.. So the french are trying to poach our (UK) business :D
aiste 06-27-2002, 09:40 AM To mlovick
How did you get all this information?
mlovick 06-27-2002, 09:42 AM I queried centralnics whois db.
whois.centralnic.com
but you can check here:
www.centralnic.com
markcastle 06-27-2002, 09:47 AM Originally posted by 311
Ummm, I don't think so...:eek:
What do you mean i don't think so.....
Is the logo "Powered By" (http://www.amen.uk.com/image/accueil/powered_amen_small.jpg) not a rip off of the cobalt developer network logo (http://emea.cobalt.com/images/home/bugs.developer.gif)? Are the site colours not almost identical? Even if the general layout is reasonably different? I only picked up on it 'cos i have liked the cobalt site since i first saw it years ago.
Don't get me wrong - there is nothing wrong (IMHO) in looking to other great sites for design pointers, although i think the logo bit is a bit too similar for my liking.
Cheers
mlovick 06-27-2002, 09:51 AM The company was registered in the UK on the 11-04-2002
Name & Registered Office :
AMEN LIMITED
1 CANADA SQUARE
29 FLOOR
CANARY WHARF
LONDON E14 5DY
Status :Active
Company No. :04414694
Date of Incorporation : 11/04/2002
Country of Origin : United Kingdom
Wow - 30,000 clients in 1.5 months :D
KualoJo 06-27-2002, 09:51 AM Who cares? I think that Cobalt may have been an inspiration more than anything else... The sites are different, even the logo you pointed out isn't identical. I don't know how you can call it a rip/copy/whatever as it just plain "ain't". :)
mlovick 06-27-2002, 09:53 AM I actually like their site design. Reminds me of cobalt - but they sell virtual hosting on cobalts so there is a reason.
KualoJo 06-27-2002, 09:58 AM Nice address they have too, Canary Wharf... nice.
aiste 06-27-2002, 10:00 AM But don't you think that the offer(4.5£) is good ? I was comparing to other UK web hosting companies offers...
KualoJo 06-27-2002, 10:03 AM Sure, as long as they provide everything else you need in a good host. They are new, that doesn't necessarily mean they are bad, but just make sure that you're going to get good, fast support and a nice healthy uptime. These are often worth paying a few extra £'s for...
mlovick 06-27-2002, 10:03 AM The price is OK, but I do worry about dealing with a company who has been established for 1.5 months and claim to have 30,000 clients. :confused:
mlovick 06-27-2002, 10:04 AM Originally posted by jstonehouse
Sure, as long as they provide everything else you need in a good host. They are new, that doesn't necessarily mean they are bad, but just make sure that you're going to get good, fast support and a nice healthy uptime. These are often worth paying a few extra £'s for...
Yes - I agree.
aiste 06-27-2002, 10:39 AM Thanks for the advice....When i will try it,i'll tell you how it is...
KualoJo 06-27-2002, 10:40 AM OK, good luck! :)
mlovick 06-27-2002, 11:00 AM Aiste - ur in Paris, so this company is ideal for you, no?
aiste 06-27-2002, 11:25 AM Yes,now i am i Paris,but i live in London.Also,i don't speak French!!!!
mlovick 06-27-2002, 11:45 AM Originally posted by aiste
Yes,now i am i Paris,but i live in London.Also,i don't speak French!!!!
:D Well lets hope they speak english then.
Toons 06-29-2002, 06:02 AM Hi,
Just as an aside, some more info on these guys if you're interested.
They seem to be a french company just hitting the uk market, the address at canary wharf is a virtual office, it's not actually theres.
The servers are also based in france, so by the look of it there is no uk base as such, theyre just trying to sell to the uk.
Thats not by any means a bad thing, we're considering something similar in other countries in europe ourselves.
Thought it might explain things a little more though.
Regards,
Tony Lucas
aiste 06-29-2002, 09:38 AM What is the difference between servers based in France and in UK(for UK business)?
Toons 06-29-2002, 09:47 AM Hi,
Nothing massive, although at the end of the day the data then has to cross the channel which could (but not necessarily will), mean that the sites are slower than ones hosted in the UK.
|