Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : anybody else got this SPAM?


Joana
06-25-2002, 01:21 AM
just recieved this email from coffeecup..

----------------------------------------
Hello There,

Just a quick note from us here at CoffeeCup Software
(an Internet 500 Company). http://www.coffeecup.com

CoffeeCup is the #1 Downloaded Website Design software on the Web.
Now with over 8,000,000 users worldwide and software sold in over 70
countries, we would like to talk to you about an Alliance.

In a time when numbers definitely do count, are you offering something
above and beyond your competition? Partner with us to offer your
customers our Website software included with your Web hosting accounts.
Give me a call or send me an email and let's discuss the possibilities.

Michael Longo
mike@coffeecup.com
361-887-7778 (ext #203)

TheGAME1264
06-25-2002, 01:38 AM
I haven't received that specific one but I have received a series of "fabulous" offers to partner with hosts, outsource my excess work to companies in over a dozen countries, and resumes where people claim to have years' worth of job experience in their skills summaries but only list one month's worth in their "experience' sections.

I guess what I'm trying to say is it's just part of the business. I often will reverse-market to these people or make proposals where I gain something, just to see if they're serious.

Take your CoffeeCup buddy there for example. What I'd do with him is ask him if he'd give you a full version of the software for free for your use so that you could become familiar with it and recommend it to your customers if you liked it. If he agrees, you get free software. If he doesn't, you know he's not serious. Either way, you get something.

Synthetic
06-25-2002, 01:47 AM
Nope, but I have been receiving ALOT of spam from Jessica, asking me "what's up?." And not from just one e-mail address... 8 of them.

Lonny
06-25-2002, 02:45 AM
I think that as long as they send one email and leave a valid email and phone number etc. it is not considered as SPAM, but I'm not sure :)

msn
06-25-2002, 03:00 AM
I got it too after i downloaded CoffeeCup softwares

Roy@ENHOST
06-25-2002, 06:11 AM
Never use your real email for downloading Coffeecup softwares.
I always use fake emails when signing up for something or downloading something.
That is one way to avoid spam

tazd9t9
06-25-2002, 06:41 AM
No but i seem to get loads of stupid email from webdesigners, software developers etc and most of them send the same email 4 or 5 times

markblair
06-25-2002, 08:03 AM
Originally posted by Lonny
I think that as long as they send one email and leave a valid email and phone number etc. it is not considered as SPAM, but I'm not sure :)

Unfortunately for the spammers, it's not that simple. You could have all the correct information listed (e-mail address, name, etc.) but if you send a message to a person or list of people and the contents of the message were never asked for by the receiving party, that is spam. I'm assuming that Joana never asked to receive information from CoffeeCup. If so, she received spam. Plain and simple. Just thought you'd want some clarification.

Joana
06-25-2002, 08:20 AM
Originally posted by markblair


Unfortunately for the spammers, it's not that simple. You could have all the correct information listed (e-mail address, name, etc.) but if you send a message to a person or list of people and the contents of the message were never asked for by the receiving party, that is spam. I'm assuming that Joana never asked to receive information from CoffeeCup. If so, she received spam. Plain and simple. Just thought you'd want some clarification.

Yeah, I never used their products or visited that site :(