Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Spam


Yo-chan
06-23-2002, 05:51 PM
I received the following email to site@mydomain.com.


Hi.

i just want to let you know that your website is not really hosted by your hosting company but they are only a reseller for www.splashhost.com . they buy the space from splashhost and then sell it to you more expensive. you can get the plans a lot cheaper there. just letting you know =)

just a customer.



Since I received all the site @ mydomains.com, I was wondering; anybody got the same thing?

mlovick
06-23-2002, 05:53 PM
Why do they think you cant find this information out for yourself?

a:\
06-23-2002, 05:55 PM
The mail headers would be interesting to see....

Yo-chan
06-23-2002, 05:58 PM
Return-path: <nobody@www.server3indallas.com>
Envelope-to: site@mydomain.com
Delivery-date: Sun, 23 Jun 2002 16:22:55 -0400
Received: from server3indallas.com ([65.193.180.130] helo=www.server3indallas.com)
(Exim 3.35 #1)
id 17MDst-00034Y-00
for site@mydomain.com; Sun, 23 Jun 2002 16:22:55 -0400
Received: from nobody by www.server3indallas.com with local (Exim 3.35 #1)
id 17MDsZ-0006di-00
for site@mydomain.com; Sun, 23 Jun 2002 15:22:35 -0500
From: customer@splashhost.com
To: site@mydomain.com
Subject: info about your hosting company
Message-Id: <E17MDsZ-0006di-00@www.server3indallas.com>
Date: Sun, 23 Jun 2002 15:22:35 -0500

Alan - Vox
06-23-2002, 06:02 PM
Hello, I am aware of this issue. Someone has some how got a list of sites on one of my servers and sent this e-mail out using one of my servers. I can assure this e-mail address was not from me. I have stopped the mail server that was being used until i have tracked down the person who sent this out and stopped it.