Andyc
06-23-2002, 09:41 AM
Anyone else get spammed from Dotxtra.NET wanting you to buy hosting for only $43.00 a year!!
![]() | View Full Version : SPAM from Dotxtra.net Andyc 06-23-2002, 09:41 AM Anyone else get spammed from Dotxtra.NET wanting you to buy hosting for only $43.00 a year!! XTNet 06-23-2002, 10:16 AM :eek: $43.00/yr ??? I wouldnt go with them just knowing that they are spammers even if it were $5/yr Andyc 06-23-2002, 10:33 AM Yeah, no kidding. I think I am covered in the web hosting department. Crazyness. CrowMan 06-23-2002, 11:00 PM I got spammed also...... I am glad we don't need to spam to make money! viGeek 06-24-2002, 12:29 AM Just as i was opening this thread, I heard a "DING" implying that i have new email. I checked and what do you know its SPAM from dotxtra.net :angry: :uzi: :spam: akashik 06-25-2002, 05:37 AM Just got it too. :angry: From their site: "Spamming, or the sending of unsolicited email, from a DotXtra, Inc. server or using an email address or domain that is maintained on an DotXtra, Inc. machine as reference is STRICTLY prohibited. DotXtra, Inc." Looks like they don't enforce their own rules. Poor business practise at best. Greg Moore Annette 06-25-2002, 05:48 AM My, my, that AUP looks familiar, right down to the payment items. So does the privacy policy. I wonder why that is. :rolleyes: akashik 06-25-2002, 05:53 AM Originally posted by Annette My, my, that AUP looks familiar, right down to the payment items. So does the privacy policy. I wonder why that is. :rolleyes: heh, was thinking the same when I read it actually, but didn't want to say something in case I was wrong. :) Greg Moore avara 06-25-2002, 05:54 AM Received that very nice piece of spam as well. Time to test my new flamethrower... Me: :nuts: Me + Flamethrower: :nuts: :flamethr: Me + Flamethrower + Spam: :nuts: :flamethr: :spam: I think I should get back to work now. :D Annette 06-25-2002, 06:03 AM Originally posted by akashik heh, was thinking the same when I read it actually, but didn't want to say something in case I was wrong. :) Greg Moore Nope, you're right, even if they did reverse the names on them at the top. Funnier: if you look at http://dotxtra.net/aup.htm instead of www. you'll even see that they left our name in the helpdesk and mailto links. Likewise if you go to http://dotxtra.net/policy.htm instead of www. Those two are the two top pages ripped off from our site. As people bring them to our attention (or we find them), they'll be getting the same form email I just sent to this guy. Fair warning to anyone who has lifted our stuff without permission, which really has little to do directly with this thread: get rid of it. I'm tired of seeing our stuff all over the place. |