Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : omg.. This host has pop-up windows..


ChiChiNetWeb
06-18-2002, 01:31 PM
ohh.. This host has pop-up windows and banner ad's on their site? I didn't think web hosts would want to have pop-up ads and banners on their websites. Usually that might scare away customers, I thought.

Thanks,
Michael B.

ChiChiNetWeb
06-18-2002, 01:32 PM
Oops.. I forgot the URL.

http://www.e-spinweb.com

Synthetic
06-18-2002, 01:34 PM
Is that a 1-page site? Where's the navigation? :eek:

ChiChiNetWeb
06-18-2002, 01:43 PM
Loo at the meta tags? I have to questions this. Lookat the description...lol

<TITLE>Welcome to E-SpinWeb Solutions</TITLE>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<meta name="Keywords" content="WebHosting,WebHost,hosting,host,sitehosting,hosts">
<meta name="Description" content="Your Online Guid to Casiono Gaming">

xerocity.com
06-18-2002, 02:08 PM
The simple fact that 4 pop-ups appeared would scare me away.

Any website that is designed for profit that isn't content based, in my opinion, should not display advertisements.

viGeek
06-18-2002, 02:10 PM
What junk, i hate popups!

Rochen
06-18-2002, 02:16 PM
No popups bounced out at me, just the banner up the top of the page. Maybe I am just lucky? :D

Axel Teflon
06-18-2002, 02:29 PM
2 pop ups for me mahh! Hate Pop Ups!

Ectoman
06-18-2002, 02:29 PM
There is only one page, with a few pop-ups. Who would even think about joining that? Where is the support? The Contacts? The Control Panel?

Looks like someone just set something up real quick for some money.

Synthetic
06-18-2002, 02:34 PM
This company seems to be in association with http://www.quickurl.com

ChiChiNetWeb
06-18-2002, 02:36 PM
QuickUrl.Com has even more pop-ups.. One on EVERY page.

ATST
06-18-2002, 05:56 PM
AAAAAgh!!
I actually put in my restricted zone, any site that gives me cookies without good reason, or any site that contains pop ups. Plus I add it to my 0click database, (which blocks all transmissions. The pop up window will now pop up a 404) plus enter it in my POW list. (kills pop ups as they pop up)

XTNet
06-18-2002, 06:04 PM
Originally posted by ChiChiNetWeb
Loo at the meta tags? I have to questions this. Lookat the description...lol

<TITLE>Welcome to E-SpinWeb Solutions</TITLE>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<meta name="Keywords" content="WebHosting,WebHost,hosting,host,sitehosting,hosts">
<meta name="Description" content="Your Online Guid to Casiono Gaming">

Im guessing he ripped off another site and forgot to remove pertenant HTML source. Either that or he is trying to fool the search engines, which really doesnt seem too intelligent. However, neither are the popups.

NixHosting
06-18-2002, 06:11 PM
Hmm maybe it's just a traffic generator site. They own the domain why not put it to use. Since web hosting is one of the internets leading markets they use that for search engine placement. Thus they get money from the banners. A wasted domain being put to use I suppose.

NumLock
06-18-2002, 06:18 PM
none for me. nice site also. ;)

tagalaxy.net
06-19-2002, 07:32 PM
ah, good ol' Opera stopped any popups :)
sad site to see a hosting comp with ads though :(

JamRover
06-20-2002, 04:20 AM
hmmm...this clearly confirms their desperation