Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : I guess it's my turn...


SpiralHost
06-18-2002, 06:28 AM
I've read a lot of threads concerning copied sites here at wht, well, I guess it's my turn.

You don't realise how annoying it is until it happens to your site.

I'm hardly a professional web designer but I did create my site all on my lonesome, from scratch, and it took me quite a while. Maybe I should be honored they liked my design so much!

Anyhow, I thought I'd post this here in case anyone was thinking of signing up with them knows the type of people they're about to do business with.

Compare www.surpasshosting.com with my site www.spiralhost.com, a little familier :mad:

NetXL
06-18-2002, 06:30 AM
Doesn't even look like they're finished ripping. :rolleyes:

Aussie Bob
06-18-2002, 07:49 AM
Originally posted by NetXL
Doesn't even look like they're finished ripping. :rolleyes:
Sorry for the inconvienience. We are currently ripping this site. We appreciate your patience while we finish our rip. :D :eek: :eek2: :eek3:

ATST
06-18-2002, 07:57 AM
Originally posted by Aussie Bob

Sorry for the inconvienience. We are currently ripping this site. We appreciate your patience while we finish our rip. :D :eek: :eek2: :eek3:
Ooops, how embarassing! :blush:

btw, here is the rest of the rip
http://www.surpasshosting.com/images/

El Nino
06-18-2002, 08:38 AM
They didn't bother to change the source code at all:
<!-- saved from url=(0026)http://www.spiralhost.com/ -->
This is also another nice one:
http://www.surpasshosting.com/images/guarantee.gif

Paul-UKWSD
06-18-2002, 09:36 AM
Its always sad to see these people copy sites and think that nobody will notice :rolleyes:

mwatkins
06-18-2002, 09:40 AM
Why don't you send them a little email, pointing out that the negative publicity they will generate as a result of this, and possibly other threads on this and other forums, will cost them more than the time or $ they are trying to save.

If you get no response you could always follow up that with a letter to their ISP. alleging copyright violation, and cc the happy little fellow.

A little peer pressure is a good thing.

I'm guessing you were looking through your logs and found someone transfering virtually everything... this guy seems to have just done this.

Good luck!

Registrant:
Emmanuel Vivar
Jetvivar
P.O.Box 147165
Daytona Beach, Florida 32114
United States

Registrar: Go Daddy Software (http://registrar.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: SURPASSHOSTING.COM
Created on: 09-Jun-02
Expires on: 09-Jun-03
Last Updated on: 13-Jun-02

Administrative Contact:
Vivar, Emmanuel webmaster@hostdime.com
Hostdime
P.O.Box 147165
Daytona Beach, Florida 32114
United States
(904) 274-0000 Fax --
Technical Contact:
Vivar, Emmanuel webmaster@hostdime.com
Hostdime
P.O.Box 147165
Daytona Beach, Florida 32114
United States
(904) 274-0000 Fax --

Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.SURPASSHOSTING.COM
NS2.SURPASSHOSTING.COM
NS1.HOSTDIME.COM

There ISP is HOSTNOC aka BurstNET possibly aka NOCSTER

whois -a 64.191.5.27
Network Operations Center Inc. (NETBLK-HOSTNOC-3BLK)
PO BOX 511
Scranton, PA 18501
US

Netname: HOSTNOC-3BLK
Netblock: 64.191.0.0 - 64.191.127.255
Maintainer: NOC

Coordinator:
Arcus, Matthew (ZMA1-ARIN) shawn@hostnoc.net
570-784-2491 x7

A BustNET company rep hangs out on WHT, you can email him via this form:
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/member.php?s=&action=mailform&userid=41

Perhaps they'd be good enough to suggest to the thief that he clean up his act.

Chicken
06-18-2002, 11:37 AM
:uhh: We didn't know... :uhh: There are many sites like that... :uhh: You copied our site...

:idea: It was the designer!

Rotifer
06-18-2002, 12:38 PM
That is one of the worst I have seen. :rolleyes:

xerocity.com
06-18-2002, 01:50 PM
Looks like it has been taken down. All I am getting is a directory listing.

mwatkins
06-18-2002, 01:53 PM
Excellent!!

PulseHost
06-18-2002, 01:57 PM
Anybody have a screenshot? I missed it :(

surpass
06-18-2002, 02:15 PM
Here is the screenshot



http://www.surpasshosting.com



See for yourself, I have taken a screen shot......

SpiralHost
06-18-2002, 02:27 PM
So do you an explanation, surpass?

PulseHost
06-18-2002, 02:41 PM
Originally posted by surpass
Here is the screenshot



http://www.surpasshosting.com



See for yourself, I have taken a screen shot......

None of us can see that image except you. You are linking it from your hard drive,

<body background="file:///D:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Emmanuel.HOSTDIME/Desktop/surpasshosting.jpg">



It would be better if you upload the image..

surpass
06-18-2002, 03:47 PM
Guys Guys Guys, This site is not even open for business, you can't even make profit from this site, there is no traffic to it, this was just to test the spectrum of the capabilites, spiral my apologies, I should have asked for permission. But by no intentions was this site going to be open to the public. Spiral by the way nice design, that is why I picked it to run a test on my site. Surpasshosting doesn't even exsist in the market so you have nothing to worry about......

skylab
06-18-2002, 04:07 PM
there's a new one for you to add up chicken.

MDJ2000
06-18-2002, 04:20 PM
Originally posted by skylab
there's a new one for you to add up chicken.

LMAO, my thoughts exactly. I needed a good chuckle.

ATST
06-18-2002, 05:34 PM
Originally posted by skylab
there's a new one for you to add up chicken.
bzzzzzzzz sorry folks, but he is wrong.
I have heard this one with regards to removing the copywrite from (free) software a couple of times already.
"It was only a test, we didn't have the site open to the public . . blah, blah, blah."
The word is, if it is online and accessable to the GP, then it is infact open to the general public
You know this must feel like some one broke into your house (instead of just admiring it from the outside) and took some of your personal things.
Of course my designs must not be that special cuz no one has stolen them yet.
Well, a few tried to link to my images, but after I did a htaccess image swap, I imagine they were suprised at what showed up on their sites! :D It does say on every page "please do not link to these images" The nerve of some people!!!