Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Need Help info on oficially complaining about webhost


Cyberpunk
02-05-2001, 06:42 AM
I have 2 hosting packages from http://www.itslondon.com based in London, UK.

For the last month they have ignored all emails, without even 1 reply. They do not answer the phone and neither of my hosting plans work properly nor have done for about over 6 weeks now.

I've tried everything I know, including contacting the information given in whois output.

So far the contacts have been 15 emails and 40+ phone attempts. Their online contact methods through their website dont work either anymore.

Has anyone please got any suggestions on how to take this further as I am getting very annoyed. So far now every web host I have used has turned out to be a waste of time since I started websites and I'm getting sick of it.

If anyone can help it would be much appreciated.

SI-Chris
02-05-2001, 07:08 AM
How did you pay? If you paid by credit card, do a charge back through the issuing bank. Just make sure you have your stuff documented in case the charge back is contested.

GordonH
02-05-2001, 07:20 AM
Hello
I think this company has gone bust.

We had a few people come over to us and the only way to get their UK domains released was to get Nominet (like CRSNIC) to intervene.

Gordon

Cyberpunk
02-05-2001, 08:57 AM
Thanks for the info folks.

I suspect this company has indeed gone bust, it certainly looks that way dosent it.

I have a .net, a .com and a .co.uk with them, I'll contact nominet about the .co.uk. I go to network solutions about the other 2 dont I. If I request to change host for them myself to internic will there be any problems with them releasing the names from their name servers as a friend of mine lost the use of his domain name for 4 months in a similar situation.

I'll look into a charge back but I've used up some of the hosting period already.

Does anyone know any good free hosts with cgi and ssi features with a decent amount of space I could transfer to, I dont think I can afford more paid for hosting at the moment because of this situation.

Thanks.

GordonH
02-05-2001, 09:03 AM
Hello
It will depend whether the names were registered through Network Solutions or not.

Go to http://www.networksolutions.com/ and do a whois lookup on your domain.
Look at who the admin contact is.
If its not you, you may have a problem.

With the .co.uk you will need to make sure its retagged to a cheap registrar other wise Nominet will give you a neutral tag and charge you 80 pounds plus VAT on renewal.

If you get stuck I can help (Just click the e-mail icon under this post).

Gordon

Cyberpunk
02-05-2001, 09:17 AM
I just checked .com & .net

Admin, tech and billing contact all listed as itslondon - FM6BR for .com and FM5455

I transfereed . net to them and I wondered about them wanting to change them all at the time. I did this manually through internic because of problems with previous host but it took nearly 2 weeks.

.co.uk is registerd to arachnid which I beleive was itslondons nominet tag.

I tried looking up registrants at internic and anywhere else I could find but I can find no info as to which registrant itslondon used.

GordonH
02-05-2001, 09:40 AM
Just do a whois look up at http://www.crsnic.net/

This is the shared registry database and it will tell you which registrar it was.
I will go and have a look at those admin handles.

If you tell me the domains I can give better advice on what to do.

With the .co.uk you need to contact Nominet and ask for it to be retagged. We sometimes send people to Easily.co.uk who run a service for people who have had this problem.
We use the Tucows tag for .co.uk but we are a bit more expensive than Easily.....

Gordon

GordonH
02-05-2001, 09:47 AM
Just checking that number.

FM6BR is not a Network Solutions Handle.
Its also not CORE

Cyberpunk
02-05-2001, 11:49 AM
apologies.

Mis type, should have been FM6-BR.

Domains are,

roman365.com
roman365.co.uk
cybercult.net

Thanks.

GordonH
02-05-2001, 12:01 PM
Hello
These are Network Solutions names.

What you need to do is got to
http://www.networksolutions.com/
Click on "make changes"

Enter the domain name.
Choose the option "Fax authorisation form"
Select "domain modification"

Follow the instructions.

This will generate a fax you can send them to have the name servers changed to your new hosts which is what you need to get the domain moved.

However, you will still need to get the admin contact changed to you and i cant see a form for that.

I notice you are in Aberdeen. Its a small world, I am in Livingston.....

Hope this helps a bit.

Gordon

Cyberpunk
02-05-2001, 12:12 PM
Ok, all I have to do now is either see if I can muster up cash for morte hosting for the roman ones and/or transfer cybercult to a free host supporting ssi/cgi etc.

Got an enquiry about transferring my domains into freeola.com at the moment to find out if theres fees involved.

If I can afford more hosting I'll definately check out the outfit youre with, you have been extremely helpful!

I cant do fax here but thats a small problem, internic site has other ways too dosent it.

One last question, do you know of free hosts that are good along the lines I'm considering, freeola let you be bannerlerss and popup free I think.

Thanks Again.

Duncan.

Cyberpunk
02-05-2001, 12:16 PM
I lived in Hamilton for a short while, I beleive Livingstons not to far from there.

Certainly hope its a nicer place than Hamilton was.

GordonH
02-05-2001, 12:26 PM
There are not really any reliable free hosts with cgi and no banners.
The sums just don't add up.

If you are OK about banners there are lots of choices.
Have a look through http://www.freewebspace.net and check out their discussion board for recommendations.

There is also a lot of cheap hosting with CGI and no banners.
<<ADMIN EDIT: Please email directly>>

Good luck with Network Solutions.....

Gordon


[Edited by Chicken on 02-05-2001 at 11:55 AM]

sruonline.co.uk
02-05-2001, 02:28 PM
Hello,
If you can find a way of forwarding your domain to one of my subdomains, <<ADMIN EDIT>>
Admin, apologies for advertising in this section!

[Edited by Chicken on 02-05-2001 at 02:27 PM]

Chicken
02-05-2001, 03:26 PM
Please don't apologize, just don't do it :)

JayC
02-05-2001, 04:01 PM
Originally posted by GordonH
Hello
These are Network Solutions names. Actually, only two of them are. Roman365.com is registered through bulkregister, and FM6-BR is a bulkregister handle.

So in addition to the steps described for the NSI names, he'll have to contact BR for the third domain. They don't have an interface for endusers; the best bet is probably to call them at 800-361-2991 (but I don't know if there's international access to that number), or email support@bulkregister.com.

sruonline.co.uk
02-05-2001, 05:40 PM
Oh Admin, I was only trying to help! <grin>

Cyberpunk
02-05-2001, 06:24 PM
Thanx JayC.

I'll have to try email, I'm in the UK and international phone calls are a last resort for me right now.

Again I thank everyone, now all that remains is to find out if I've lost my hosting/money and find new host/s.

Dean
02-11-2001, 02:01 PM
Hi,
I used itslondon too. I joined them ages ago they used to be really good and I unfortunately recommended them to friends who got tangeld up in the mess.
They never setup the accounts (on behalf of my friends)
I currently have two accounts with them both of them are still up and running even though I am not paying anything for it. (I emailed them when they were still responding and told them to cancel both my accounts which they said they done they stoppped charging me but my account is still live :) )
Anyway best of luck

Dean

Cyberpunk
02-19-2001, 12:20 AM
Big smiles!

From: Cyberpunk [mailto:cyberpunk@callnetuk.com]
Sent: 17 February 2001 04:04
To: angry@itslondon.com; domains@itslondon.com; dns@itslondon.com
Subject: Domain changes to be carried out immediately!
Importance: High


I want all of my domains (cybercult.net, roman365.com, roman365.co.uk) modified so that all contact information is returned to my details immediately!

Your company has failed to respond to numerous emails and countless phone calls.

I have lodged complaints with bulkregister, network-solutions and nominet about your failure to do as I instructed.

Because you have changed the admin contacts I am having to directly communicate with these companies to retreive my domain control. Bulkregister about 1 week ago instructed you to make changes to roman365.com which you ignored as well. If I do not get confirmation that my contacts information has been changed within 1 day from sending this email that you have changed my contacts for all three and the name servers for roman365.co.uk to:

NS.VOSN.NET 216.74.122.2
NS2.VOSN.NET 216.74.122.26

then I will consider that you have effectively stolen control of my domain names and I will take the matter further with parties I have already been in contact with, and in addition, I will lodge a serious complaint about your company with companies house.

Do what I instruct immediately and confirm that you have within 1 day from now!


Your message has been processed by the UK NIC automated DNS

delegation system. The required additions/changes have been

made to the database and will become visible when the zone file

is reloaded. Reloads take place every morning between 0400 and 0800

British local time.

The delegation for roman365.co.uk has been updated successfully.

To check the current state of the entry for roman365.co.uk in the database use the following command:

regards

UK NIC Automatic Hostmaster


These have been done

Thanks

DNS Master

If you have any further requests plaesr send mail to dns@itslondon.com