Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : ***** is the best!


baba
02-05-2001, 04:04 AM
Hi

I just signed up with *****. They are great! I could say that they are the best in the market. Only $20/month you get your own domain with 2 GB storage! What more do you want?

sodapopinski
02-05-2001, 04:36 AM
Originally posted by baba
Hi

I just signed up with *****. They are great! I could say that they are the best in the market. Only $20/month you get your own domain with 2 GB storage! What more do you want?

LOL.. :D
Hey is there anybody mind to share their knowledge about C|Host?
Because I'm too lazy to talk about the great C|Host..
ooppss...I change my mind..it's not great :D

[Edited by SodaPopinski on 02-05-2001 at 03:39 AM]

MySiteHost
02-05-2001, 05:33 AM
nt

BC
02-05-2001, 06:50 AM
I'll see proof before I believe a single character in that post.

klisis
02-05-2001, 08:33 AM
LOL. haha.

Jonah
02-05-2001, 08:44 AM
Yes, they're just so great!!! Man, I don't even wanna waste my time trying to convince you otherwise. It'll take all day. Search the board please!

Go ahead, sign-up but don't come back and complain about them, please.

Deb Suran
02-05-2001, 08:52 AM
Anyone considering ***** should first read these webpages:

Their December 1999 melt-down (http://slashdot.org/articles/99/12/31/0919221.shtml)
PC Week story: "Oughta be e-legal" (http://www.zdnet.com/pcweek/stories/news/0,4153,2558220,00.html)
MSNBC story: "***** exposes credit card numbers" (http://www.msnbc.com/news/360102.asp?cp1=1)
Petition for class action status in current lawsuit against ***** (http://www.evolvedsites.com/cipetition.html)

mybiz
02-05-2001, 09:48 AM
This has to be a post from them...


it just doesn't make since..

give him time, he will learn his lesson.

Jonah
02-05-2001, 10:50 AM
It's either a joke from someone that know what this board thinks about them, or it's ***** which I don't think they are stupid enough to do.

"I just signed up with *****. They are great! I could say that they are the best in the market. Only $20/month you get your own domain with 2 GB storage!

What more do you want? We want: uptime and support!

Duster
02-05-2001, 11:00 AM
Just look at the name of this new poster, baba. It reminds me of an old nursery rhyme

"baba black sheep, have you any wool
if you sign up with *****, you must be a fool"

And, of course, we know that sheep get fleeced and led to slaughter.

sodapopinski
02-05-2001, 11:07 AM
Originally posted by Duster
Just look at the name of this new poster, baba. It reminds me of an old nursery rhyme

"baba black sheep, have you any wool
if you sign up with *****, you must be a fool"

And, of course, we know that sheep get fleeced and led to slaughter.


:emlaugh: LOL..LOL..LOL... :stickout

webfors
02-05-2001, 11:33 AM
Hahahaha!!! Wow, I'm going to sign up with them right away!!!

teck
02-05-2001, 12:10 PM
do you really get 2 gb of storage?

JayC
02-05-2001, 03:58 PM
Originally posted by teck
do you really get 2 gb of storage? What? Only 2 gigs? I won't sign up with anybody that doesn't have unlimited storage!

The "I just signed up" phrase is the only part of that first post that could make it possibly legitimate. "I just signed up" means "I haven't had time yet to experience any downtime," and "I haven't yet tried to contact tech support." And that's true not only with CI but with any host: a recommendation from a brand new customer is barely more than no recommendation at all.

Chicken
02-05-2001, 04:37 PM
Originally posted by JayC
What? Only 2 gigs? I won't sign up with anybody that doesn't have unlimited storage!

Heh, so true. Usually we'd go through the whole, please post your URL deal, but errrrr... I don't think it matters in this case.

TheWingThing
02-05-2001, 04:53 PM
Guys,
This seems to be once-in-a-lifetime offer.
If you sign up, you won't stay alive to sign-up again with any other host. Sign-up and and your lifetime will end dealing with them.

Wing.

BC
02-05-2001, 06:52 PM
Originally posted by Duster
Just look at the name of this new poster, baba. It reminds me of an old nursery rhyme

"baba black sheep, have you any wool
if you sign up with *****, you must be a fool"

And, of course, we know that sheep get fleeced and led to slaughter.

Touche.

I just had a quick look at 'baba's' e-mail address.......

baba@*****.com

And it seems to be real too.

Nice of ***** to grace us with their presence. :D

[Edited by BC on 02-05-2001 at 05:56 PM]

Nic[H]olas
02-05-2001, 07:02 PM
Originally posted by JayC
Originally posted by teck
do you really get 2 gb of storage? What? Only 2 gigs? I won't sign up with anybody that doesn't have unlimited storage!

I Have always been told there is no such thing as UNLIMITED resources!

Aleksander
02-05-2001, 07:05 PM
Server storage space is cheap. Harddrives dont cost anything at all these days. Server space 99% of the time isnt an issue at all. Its the bandwidth that costs. And its usually the unlimmited bandwidth advertisements ou had better read the fine print on.

(still wonders why most hosts provide crap-for-nothing storage space though)

- Alek

JayC
02-05-2001, 09:27 PM
Originally posted by Nic[H]olas
I Have always been told there is no such thing as UNLIMITED resources! And you've been told the truth. I was joking in that post.

Aleksander hit it on the head. I haven't bothered looking at the specifics of the ***** deal supposedly being discussed here, but CI has very high bandwidth-overage charges. And their terms of service restrict how you can use that 2 gigs -- it has to be accessible through your site's html pages. Simply, there's no way can legitimately (as defined by their TOS) use anywhere enar that 2 gigs without exceeding the bandwidth restrictions and paying them there.

They're not the only ones who do it that way, of course.

JayC
02-05-2001, 09:30 PM
Originally posted by BC
I just had a quick look at 'baba's' e-mail address.......

baba@*****.com Sheesh. That is too funny. Or sad.

SI-Chris
02-05-2001, 09:38 PM
Yes, but the IP address of the poster traces to an ISP in Thiland (loxinfo.net). Probably just some kid trolling for a laugh.

http://www.samspade.org/t/lookat.cgi?address=208.147.1.11+&ipblock=on

egizmokid.com
02-06-2001, 11:38 PM
Originally posted by BC
Originally posted by Duster
Just look at the name of this new poster, baba. It reminds me of an old nursery rhyme

"baba black sheep, have you any wool
if you sign up with *****, you must be a fool"

And, of course, we know that sheep get fleeced and led to slaughter.

Touche.

I just had a quick look at 'baba's' e-mail address.......

baba@*****.com

And it seems to be real too.

Nice of ***** to grace us with their presence. :D

[Edited by BC on 02-05-2001 at 05:56 PM]

Actually, this is guy is probably NOT from the *****, the fact that he has so "ignorantly"(intentionally, tho) used a @*****.com address means that he wants us to think he is from *****.. but in reality I think its some kid playing a joke or someone who hates ***** and is trying to further weaken their reputation, ironically, by spamming in a intentional way..

uhh..

Shawn (GEcom)
02-06-2001, 11:44 PM
lol...still funny :)

Duster
02-07-2001, 12:43 AM
He couldn't possibly weaken or cause harm to *****'s reputation. I think he was just making a funny post. It was so absurd it was funny.

shobraj
02-08-2001, 01:04 AM
Relax guys, I guess its enough. He won't enter in this discussion board anymore with these types of craps.

sharkman
02-08-2001, 08:48 PM
Hey guys is it too late to trash ***** :-)