Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : something awful hosting


Pmd7176
06-14-2002, 12:51 PM
Something Awful ( http://somethingawful.com ) has started a hosting ( http://sanethosting.com ) company.. it is very interesting- 24 cents a gig!

look at this spam policy...

SPAM and Unsolicited Commercial Email (UCE): SA Net Hosting Inc. takes a zero tolerance approach to the sending of Unsolicited Commercial Email (UCE) or SPAM over our network. Very simply this means that customers of SA Net Hosting Inc. may not use or permit others to use our network to transact in UCE. Customers of SA Net Hosting Inc. may not host, or permit hosting of, sites or information that is advertised by UCE from other networks. Violations of this policy carry severe penalties, including termination of service.

Violation of SA Net Hosting Inc.'s SPAM policy will result in severe penalties. Upon notification of an alleged violation of our SPAM policy, SA Net Hosting Inc. will initiate an immediate investigation (within 48 hours of notification). During the investigation, SA Net Hosting Inc. may restrict customer access to the network to prevent further violations. If a customer is found to be in violation of our SPAM policy, SA Net Hosting Inc. may, at its sole discretion, restrict, suspend or terminate customer's account. Further, SA Net Hosting Inc. reserves the right to pursue civil remedies for any costs associated with the investigation of a substantiated policy violation. SA Net Hosting Inc. will notify law enforcement officials if the violation is believed to be a criminal offense.

First violations of this policy will result in an "Administrative Fee" of $250 and your account will be reviewed for possible immediate termination. A second violation will result in an "Administrative Fee" of $500 and immediate termination of your account. Users who violate this policy agree that in addition to these "Administrative" penalties, they will pay "Research Fees" not to exceed $175 per hour that SA Net Hosting Inc. personnel must spend to investigate the matter. PLEASE, DO NOT SPAM from your account.

As our Customers are ultimately responsible for the actions of their clients over the SA Net Hosting Inc. network, it is advisable that Customers develop a similar, or stricter, policy for their clients.


ps.. I really have nothing to gain... really.. it's just an interesting host..somethingawful (http://somehtingawful.com)

ARETNA
06-14-2002, 12:55 PM
Wow, that is SomethingAwful:kaioken:

NixHosting
06-14-2002, 01:02 PM
Personally don't like the forums and the owner. But never the less I wish them the best of luck. Cheap bandwidth prices too. Maybe the next rackshack ? :)

StarGate
06-14-2002, 01:10 PM
Originally posted by NixHosting
Personally don't like the forums and the owner. But never the less I wish them the best of luck. Cheap bandwidth prices too. Maybe the next rackshack ? :)

... well according to their NAME they already ARE the next RackShack :Iamsoevil: :D

StarGate
06-14-2002, 01:13 PM
I like that text on the main page though:


As anybody who has ever tried to run a professional website knows, the online world is full of thieves, liars, and con artists. Hosting companies have been collapsing more frequently than residents in a retirement home. Ad networks are paying outrageously low prices for outrageously obnoxious popup ads, and it's becoming increasingly more difficult to run a website which can break even, much less make a profit. Forget all the ad serving companies, they'll mostly all turn into relics of the past. The very retarded past.

I know this from personal experience; I have been scammed out of over $55,000 in the past three years of running a website. Network after network went bankrupt, canceling all debts and essentially causing me to live off Ramen noodles and stale tap water due to unbelievably high bandwidth charges. However, I stuck by my guns and struggled through the tough times, knowing that some day things would turn around and I would find a cheap, reliable, and trustworthy colocation place for my website. A colocation company that wouldn't charge ludicrous sums of money for bandwidth. I'm glad I decided not to jump into that vat of acid years ago, because that time has come.

Caleb
06-14-2002, 05:34 PM
Well, if it's anything like the forums on that site, Lowtax will shut your site down and keep your money if he disagrees with what you say on your site. I'm saying this from experience, by the way.

Ryan Adams
06-14-2002, 09:26 PM
Originally posted by Caleb
Well, if it's anything like the forums on that site, Lowtax will shut your site down and keep your money if he disagrees with what you say on your site. I'm saying this from experience, by the way. Unfortunately, that's not too far from the truth... :( Seeing him in action on his forums, you can easily tell that Kyanka is completely unable to accept criticisim or even friendly advice without throwing a tantrum.

That - combined with the fact that he's lost money on every single online venture he's tried - would make me very reluctant to trust my hosting with him.

Drewcifer
06-14-2002, 09:42 PM
Which forums would those be? The ones he's trying to charge 10 bucks to be a 'member' of? That's some rich chattin time...

akashik
06-15-2002, 02:24 AM
Originally posted by Ryan Adams
That - combined with the fact that he's lost money on every single online venture he's tried

:D I'd been thinking much the same when I read the previous post mentioning he'd claimed to have been 'scammed' for 55 grand. Poor business decisions?

Greg Moore

MadSkilage
06-15-2002, 04:03 AM
All I know is that Photoshop Phridays and Cliff Yablonski make my life worth living. If he plans to fund the site with the money from hosting, then I say go for it.

iamdave
06-15-2002, 05:28 AM
:eek: