View Full Version : Avoid namesecure.com like the plague
dbeck 09-15-2006, 10:40 PM Today I initiated a request to transfer all of my domain names away from namesecure.com. I'm transferring them to ENOM and I initiated the request via ENOM.
I only received about half of the authorization emails from ENOM. So I started looking into it and I was shocked to find out how unscrupulous namesecure is. They changed the email address for all 3 contacts on each of my domains to be their own support email address. I found this out by using WHOIS on Network Solutions. I logged into my account on namesecure and went into edit the contact information on the domains. My email address was listed in the contact information yet whois is showing namesecure's support email address.
Namesecure.com is overriding my email addresses with theirs so that I cannot receive the transfer request authorization emails and approve the transfers. These are all domains not anywhere close to expiring.
I am going to report namesecure to ICANN.
Whatver you do, do not do business with namesecure. They apparently are not only highly unethical, they also do not provide any phone number you can call to talk to them. THey really, really suck.
DarkRogue 09-15-2006, 11:35 PM Are you sure you dont have some sort of whois privacy thing enabled on those domains?
dbeck 09-15-2006, 11:44 PM I reported namesecure to ICANN.
I can't believe they are falsifying the WHOIS information. If this isn't resolved in the next 24 hours I am going to post screen shots as evidence of what namesecure did on every webhosting related forum I can find.
dbeck 09-15-2006, 11:48 PM Are you sure you dont have some sort of whois privacy thing enabled on those domains?
DarkRogue,
I am 110% positive there is no whois privacy on those domains. I have never, ever used whois privacy and namesecure's control panel clearly shows that there is no privacy on the domains.
All the domains for which I approved the transfer show the correct adminsitrative and technical contacts. The six domains for which I never received the email to approve the transfer, all show support@namesecure.com as the administrative and technical contacts. They are overriding the real contact information with their own so that i cannot receive the emails to approve the transfers. Which is pretty stupid because all it did was get them in trouble.
ENOM can simply have me fax them the approvals for those domains. I sent in a tech support request to ENOM to that affect.
Dave Zan 09-16-2006, 12:45 AM What has namesecure said re: changing the WHOIS admin email to theirs?
dbeck 09-16-2006, 12:58 AM What has namesecure said re: changing the WHOIS admin email to theirs?
Nothing yet. They don't have telephone support (which is why I'm moving away from them.) The only way to contact them is via email. What started the whole thing was I had a domain that didn't expire for another 4 years yet the domain showed up as DEACTIVATED in namesecure's control panel. I wanted to call them and speak to a live human and it was then that I discovered that they no longer offer telephone support.
So I used their contact form and I sent them a message saying that I wanted someone to call me regarding the deactivated domain. Well, they changed the status of the domain so that it was active but never called me. I responded again that I wanted to speak to someone and that if they didn't call that they were going to lose my business.
They didn't call. So I sent them an email saying that because they didn't call that they had lost my business.
Today I signed up as an ENOM reseller and initiated a transfer request for all of my domains.
When I didn't receive the email authorizations for several domains I started looking into the problem. It was then I found out that they had updated WHOIS to reflect fraudulent information to block me from receiving the emails.
In fact, on www.betterwhois.com the UPDATED date for the domain shows today. namesecure has had the domain for a few years and it hasn't been touched (no updates) since the last time I renewed the domain.
Obviously, they made the WHOIS update today to block the transfer.
anon-e-mouse 09-16-2006, 02:06 AM Whatver you do, do not do business with namesecure. They apparently are not only highly unethical, they also do not provide any phone number you can call to talk to them. THey really, really suck.
I have had two domains with them for years and have even called them to get my password once when I needed to renew.
dbeck 09-16-2006, 02:09 AM I have had two domains with them for years and have even called them to get my password once when I needed to renew.
I've called them before too. They no longer offer telephone support. If something happens to your domain and takes your site down you could be down for several days while you email their support and wait for a response.
iNetGeek 09-21-2006, 09:33 PM I've used NameSecure since 2002 (i believe) and have had nothing but great service from them. Hope all goes well.
franksredhot 09-23-2006, 10:53 AM Only used them once, no real issues
JamesJ 09-23-2006, 12:47 PM I've also had accounts with Namesecure for several years--no complaints...until now (after they've 'revamped' their customer support department).
Very recently, one of my domain names became deactivated. I sent an e-mail to the customer support address and though I received confirmation that it was sent, nothing has changed. This was a week ago. I found the Namesecure phone number and as it's been said, you can no longer speak to a live human representative. You only reach a telephone recording telling you to e-mail your concerns.
I've been searching online and it seems like a common practice for Namesecure to ignore customer issues--after they've received payment, of course.
Namesecure.com should be thoroughly investigated for these practices. It is highly unprofessional and raises serious red flags about the company.
Just call Namesecure's cutomer service line and see for yourself:
Technical Contact
NameSecure LLC
Phone: 570-708-8418
franksredhot 09-25-2006, 09:41 AM I do not think they even show a number on their site
madatlife 11-17-2006, 10:03 AM I am having big problems with these clowns too
|