coldkash
02-02-2001, 09:09 AM
I have visited cfhub.com and am impressed by its speed. Can anyone tell me where it is hosted, i'll host my site on that server.
Also is there any method to ascertain host server address through a site's name
plz help
allan
02-02-2001, 10:54 AM
It appears that cfhub.com is hosted by Media 3:
traceroute to http://www.cfhub.com (209.211.255.61), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 gw.iad.version12.net (63.80.246.1) 1.942 ms 1.828 ms 1.797 ms
2 206.112.71.125 (206.112.71.125) 2.797 ms 1.385 ms 1.277 ms
3 206.112.64.52 (206.112.64.52) 1.325 ms 1.343 ms 1.216 ms
4 0.so-0-0-0.WR2.IAD6.Alter.Net (157.130.59.73) 1.295 ms 1.342 ms 1.242 ms
5 0.so-3-0-0.XR2.IAD5.ALTER.NET (152.63.39.98) 1.274 ms 1.326 ms 1.402 ms
6 301.at-0-0-0.TR2.DCA8.ALTER.NET (152.63.35.134) 3.424 ms 3.491 ms 3.429 ms
7 115.at-7-1-0.TR2.NYC9.ALTER.NET (152.63.10.74) 10.464 ms 10.652 ms 10.496 m
s
8 186.ATM7-0.XR2.BOS1.ALTER.NET (152.63.20.209) 17.336 ms 17.305 ms 17.373 ms
9 190.ATM9-0-0.GW2.BOS1.ALTER.NET (146.188.176.253) 19.134 ms 101.150 ms 119.
941 ms
10 media3.net-customer.alter.net (157.130.25.162) 19.483 ms 19.432 ms 19.312 m
s
11 209.211.255.61 (209.211.255.61) 20.312 ms 19.594 ms 19.434 ms
[root admin]# awhois 209.211.255.61
LCI International (NETBLK-NETBLK-LCI-NET-2) NETBLK-LCI-NET-2
209.211.0.0 - 209.211.255.255
Media 3 Technologies, LLC (NETBLK-QWEST-209-211-248) QWEST-209-211-248
209.211.248.0 - 209.211.255.255
To single out one record, look it up with "!xxx", where xxx is the
handle, shown in parenthesis following the name, which comes first.
The ARIN Registration Services Host contains ONLY Internet
Network Information: Networks, ASN's, and related POC's.
Please use the whois server at rs.internic.net for DOMAIN related
Information and whois.nic.mil for NIPRNET Information.
http://www.media3.com/ It would appear they are at least connected to UUNET's and QWEST's backbone...which is really good.
hope this helps
allan
kunal
02-02-2001, 10:58 AM
They are hosted by Media3. http://www.media3.net
I wasnt very impressed by the speed. You can get similar speeds with other hosts.
kunal
02-02-2001, 11:01 AM
uuallan, you beat me to that :( :)..
allan
02-02-2001, 11:05 AM
Originally posted by kunal
uuallan, you beat me to that :( :)..
Yea, but you managed to do it in one sentenct, I had to cut and paste a whole novel :).
allan
Jason Ellis
02-02-2001, 03:19 PM
I would be very cautious about doing any business with Media3. They are identified as the ISP who has the largest number of SPAM customers by http://www.spamhaus.org. In addition, their entire IP netblock is being blocked by MAPS (http://mail-abuse.org/pressreleases/2001-01-02.html) which means that a very large portion of ISPs deny all e-mail coming from Media3's netblocks.
You can make your own judgements if you like, but my feeling is that if a significant amount of my outgoing e-mail (could be as much as 40% or more) is being blocked by the receiving mail server, I'm going to find a different provider PDQ.