cbaker17
06-06-2002, 04:05 PM
Anyone read hostingtech and see on 4th page an advertisement from affinity? looks like their taking a pot shot at rackshack its kinda funny
![]() | View Full Version : HostingTech and Affinity's ad making fun of rackshack cbaker17 06-06-2002, 04:05 PM Anyone read hostingtech and see on 4th page an advertisement from affinity? looks like their taking a pot shot at rackshack its kinda funny tagalaxy.net 06-06-2002, 05:07 PM someone wanna scan it in? coux 06-06-2002, 05:20 PM good idea. anyone? mistral1 06-06-2002, 07:14 PM what is it saying? PulseHost 06-06-2002, 07:25 PM Yea, can you go ahead and list the wording of the ad? Nadav 06-06-2002, 07:25 PM Originally posted by PulseHost Yea, can you go ahead and list the wording of the ad? A screenshot or the actual image would be nice also ;) JG 06-06-2002, 08:57 PM It's two pages. Here's the major content. Left side: "So, some hosting shack has a few servers for $99 a month... Ever wonder what you aren't getting?" [picture of guy sleeping in chair] $99 The Hosting Shack [picture of a server] Right side: [picture of group of happy people] "With affinity, you get a great deal...and a lot more. Like our customer support team." $99* affinity [picture of a server] fractiousws 06-06-2002, 09:05 PM Originally posted by JG It's two pages. Here's the major content. Left side: "So, some hosting shack has a few servers for $99 a month... Ever wonder what you aren't getting?" [picture of guy sleeping in chair] $99 The Hosting Shack [picture of a server] Right side: [picture of group of happy people] "With affinity, you get a great deal...and a lot more. Like our customer support team." $99* affinity [picture of a server] Haha, very funny. I was supposed to have recieved this months issue, but nothing yet :bawling: Roy@ENHOST 06-06-2002, 10:53 PM Belittle-ing your competitor in an ad. Isn't that considered illegal? cbaker17 06-06-2002, 10:56 PM Not at all, in fact they could have used rackshack.nets actual company name in the ad if they wanted to, as long as they dont say anything that is not factual. Aussie Bob 06-07-2002, 12:58 AM All's fair in love and war. I'd guess that they had their legal people cast an eye over it before they went ahead with it. It's cheeky and borders on the grey side, but that's just my opinion. That's one for the legal eagles to wrestle with. :) Does anyone have a pic to post here of the ad?? You've got me so damn curious. :D tagalaxy.net 06-07-2002, 01:00 AM im most countries it is illegal... in USA it isnt...dunno about UK Chicken 06-07-2002, 02:58 AM RS should do a comparison of what they do get: Affinity: 667MHz w/ 128MB Ram w/ 2 x 9GB SCSI hard drive and 50GB transfer. RS: 1.3GHz w/ 512MB Ram w/ 60GB hard drive and 400GB tansfer. You better offer something comparable if you run ads like they did. It just makes them look like an donkey, personally. If they offered a 1.3GHz processor (or close) and more ram (hard drives seem nearly equal, I'd actually rather have dual 9GB SCSI's than a single 60GB), but don't offer 50 GB of transfer... that's monkey talk... They need to up things a bit, as it just doesn't look like they can come close, and that's not good. Nothing on the site with those prices (about double to start), but funny ad at least... WillSmith 06-19-2002, 05:19 PM Originally posted by Roy@ENHOST Belittle-ing your competitor in an ad. Isn't that considered illegal? Advertisements typically don't name competitors explicitly because doing so helps establish the competing brand. Even if the name is mentioned in a disparaging way, the mere mention legitamizes the competitor as an alternative. If I saw Affinity's ad and wasn't already knowledgable about this industry, and the ad actually named RackShack, I'd say to myself, "I'll have to add this RackShack company to my list of possible hosts." MKelso 06-19-2002, 08:31 PM Good point, as many will take a look and thats the path to byebye portential customer... Chicken 06-19-2002, 08:43 PM As I said, you don't name your competitor when you offer: Affinity: 667MHz w/ 128MB Ram w/ 2 x 9GB SCSI hard drive and 50GB transfer. -and they offer... RS: 1.3GHz w/ 512MB Ram w/ 60GB hard drive and 400GB tansfer. But they read these forums (I'm sure), and if they want to try it, heh... make sure to put the full URL: http://www.rackshack.net ;) UmBillyCord 06-20-2002, 02:22 AM Affinity: 667MHz w/ 128MB Ram w/ 2 x 9GB SCSI hard drive and 50GB transfer. RS: 1.3GHz w/ 512MB Ram w/ 60GB hard drive and 400GB tansfer. Actually it is worse. The comparison is between a $99.00/mo - 1 GB of space - Ensim VDS. That is what is $99.00. It is not even a full server. Also, this $99.00/mo is not monthly - but semi-annual pricing. Monthly is $110.00. http://affinity.com/partner/reseller/programs/flex_hosting.php Chicken 06-20-2002, 01:39 PM They have servers: http://affinity.com/partner/dedicated/dedicated_servers/linux.php But the prices above were printed in the mag., they don't have it listed on their site. I guess you have to call as you can't order them online. headsurfer 06-20-2002, 03:06 PM What I thought was a little funny, other than the comparison of a Virtual Server/Private Server to our dedicated server, is that there really is a Hosting Shack at www.hostingshack.com, but they don't have dedicated servers. |