Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : SPAM from 4yourhosting.com


roly
06-01-2002, 09:23 PM
Today I got in my e-mail:

From: wtccalpsoe@aol.com | Block Address | Add to Address Book,

To: roly2002au@yahoo.com.au

CC:

Subject: WOW! Hosting and FREE DOMAIN REGISTRATION for only $3.95 A MONTH, GUARANTEED reni

Date: Sun, 2 Jun 2002 09:25:32 -0700





$3 A Month Hosting at http://www.4hourhosting.com

This is a unique offer and will not be repeated!

You can get your OWN website for just $3 a month:

Control Panel
Webmail
CGI
SSL
PERL
SSI
Daily Stats
1000MB Transfer
And More!

Don't Delay...act today!

----------------------------------------------

Under Bill S.1618 TITLE III SECTION 301. Per Section 301,
Paragraph (a) (2) (C)passed by the 105th US Congress any
email or Mass Marketing email cannot be considered Spam as
long as the sender includes contact information and a method of
removal.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This email is in compliance with California Business Code by
displaying "ADV" in the subject line. They stand for
"ADVERTISMENT".

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

REMOVAL INSTRUCTIONS:

If you would like to be removed from any further emailings
simply send a blank email to;

remove@4hourhosting.com

with the word "REMOVE" in the subject line

iyuhibvxqcnmrlwjd
:rolleyes:

<EDIT I MEAN 4HOURHOSTING.COM>

Tazzman
06-01-2002, 09:38 PM
But it isn't spam, at least not according to them :rolleyes:

Got some spam the other day from some totally unknown guy trying to sell me the .com of a .org I own for $7000. What was the first line of the email you're asking? Yep: 'This is not spam'...

I sent him a nice email back saying 'this IS spam, contact me again and I'll contact the relevant authorities'. I HATE spam. Spammers must DIE !!!

And who would pay $7000 for a domain anyway, especially on a student's budget :D

roly
06-01-2002, 09:40 PM
LOL:stickout

I hate it when people say 'this is not spam' it is spam, i have never visited thier site nor gave them my e-mail address:rolleyes:

Chicken
06-01-2002, 09:56 PM
Originally posted by Tazzman
Got some spam the other day from some totally unknown guy trying to sell me the .com of a .org I own for $7000. What was the first line of the email you're asking? Yep: 'This is not spam'...

I sent him a nice email back saying 'this IS spam, contact me again and I'll contact the relevant authorities'. I HATE spam. Spammers must DIE !!!

And who would pay $7000 for a domain anyway, especially on a student's budget :D
Well Tazz, I wouldn't consider that spam. You own a version of the domain he owns and he was asking you if you wanted to buy it. He's wasn't sending that message to 1,000 people.

Anyway, he was hoping you'd be willing to part with $7,000 heh... maybe he should have said $100 and he'd have a sale?

roly
06-01-2002, 09:59 PM
please chicken change the subject to SPAM from 4hourhosting.com

Tazzman
06-01-2002, 10:21 PM
Maybe if he'd asked for $50 I wouldn't have called it spam, but for $7000, it's spam :D

At least he hasn't bothered me since, I must have frightened him away :)