startsphere
07-03-2006, 11:47 AM
Hey, i was looking thru my awstats today and i noticed traffic coming to www.proxoid.com (my site) from www.getproxy.net.
When i went there, i noticed that they were "leeching" off me as the site is exactly the same as mine cept the logo. Even goes thru my site when you proxy sumthing on the CGI.
What shud i do? I mean this is kinda copying me, i dont really like that.
SlimSlyk
07-03-2006, 11:56 AM
Get a way to check the referrer in CGI and then redirect them to your site with a little message that says "DO NOT USE GETPROXY.NET, THEY PROVIDE SERVICE BY LEECHING OFF OF OURS"
8inet-Johnathan
07-03-2006, 12:59 PM
What he did was view the source of your site and just copy it, change the logo and upload it to his server.
The site name in the title bar is the same, the google ad info is the same, 99% of the content is on both sites
Tekster
07-03-2006, 02:04 PM
What i would do, is change the images that he's leeching from your site. Make them nice, polite images
Konrad4
07-03-2006, 04:42 PM
Shouln't you be happy? More traffic for you.
Amdac
07-03-2006, 04:46 PM
Shouln't you be happy? More traffic for you.
It's not traffic to the proxied pages he wants, it's traffic to the index page where the ads are. That site is doing nothing but wasting his bandwidth. I have a solution for phproxy sites, but I'm not sure about cgi.
Zafar Ahmed
07-03-2006, 04:47 PM
Contact them and tell them to stop copying or else you will do a legal step.
Koopa
07-03-2006, 06:29 PM
What i would do, is change the images that he's leeching from your site. Make them nice, polite images
Did you take Tekster's advice? ;)
The Dude
07-03-2006, 06:36 PM
I cant believe how much alike they look!!!!!
It looks like a MIRROR of your site really.... And they give credit to YOUR SITE on thiers,its really bizarre!!
Interestingly when i check the IP doing this
http://www.proxoid.com/cgiproxy/nph-proxy.pl/001100A/http/www.whatismyip.org
And when i do a check from http://www.getproxy.net on this "whatismyip.org" it just re-directs to your site....
I wouldnt worry about it
Amdac
07-03-2006, 06:52 PM
it just re-directs to your site....
I wouldnt worry about it
Umm, that's the problem.... it's wasting his bandwidth. It IS something to worry about. It doesn't redirect to his site, it redirects to his proxied pages. The owner of the site is question is being paid for the clicked ads, while startsphere is having to pay for the bandwidth. It is a problem that needs to be addressed.
The Dude
07-03-2006, 11:52 PM
Oh i thought it was the other way around (Wasting the other guys bandwidth)
Ah man!!