Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Okayweb: Anyone Know Anything?


humorthem
01-30-2001, 10:23 AM
I manage a site hosted by http://okayweb.com.

The site has been down for at least 36 hours - that's when I noticed it. It could have been longer. They have ignored multiple e-mails, including some on a number that supposedly notifies them by pager. I looked up a phone number in whois, but it dumps into a voice mail box without a personalized message. Their company site is still up, however.

Is anyone familiar with this company? Are they still in business? Any suggestions, other than simply bail?

Thanks,

Greg

Martie
01-30-2001, 11:59 AM
Not familiar with the company.
You didnt give the url for the site you manage there?
Either way..if its a new account, you probably should look to see if they have a cancel account policy..and do that ASAP..if all else fails then you can call your CC and dispute the charges, and have them do a chargeback.
Good Luck

-Edward-
01-30-2001, 12:37 PM
I've seen them before. Raq2's for $299 a year? hahahaha

Still using the rip off of the microsoft site too.

klisis
01-30-2001, 12:52 PM
I don't like the way they made hosting plans, too many 'unlimited'.

And Technics is right, their site design is a weakened version of Microcrap.

cbaker17
01-30-2001, 12:59 PM
I think the fact that they use OKay in their name is enough to send a warnign sign, do you want just a OKAY webhosting company.

humorthem
01-30-2001, 01:10 PM
Sorry, I should have posted the URL:

http://saintmichaellutheran.org

The site has been up (developing)since April. We have had problems before, but usually on the second request I can get an answer.

I have gone on and sent a message to an ISP who is also listed as one of our nameservers. So far, no responses from anyone. I found another phone number, called it, and was hung up on before I could even state my name.

I think we'll have to write off the last few months of hosting we've already paid for, and go elsewhere.

I'm open to suggestions, however.

Greg