Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Anyone Familiar with *******.com?


Matrix
05-27-2002, 10:42 PM
Anyone familiar with them?
http://www.*******.com/

They had a special offer on:

Dual P3 1 Gig
1 Gig RAM
18 Gig SCSI
50 Gig B/W
RedHat 7.1/7.2
no CP included

Setup: $150
Monthly: $200


As for their datacenter:

Our Internet Data Center is directly connected to Tier-1 Internet backbone providers to ensure a reliable, high-bandwidth network and the superior connectivity. We have a strong and scalable network backbone, boasting fast and redundant DS-3, OC-3 and OC-12 connections. Our network connectivity allows Internet users around the world to experience low latency and high packet delivery.

Servstra-Sales
05-28-2002, 05:04 AM
It might also be helpful to you if you tried doing a search of the forums using the search tool for previous comments posted about *******.

Good luck.

Matrix
05-28-2002, 05:11 AM
From doing a search it looks as if they have had a lot of down time, but that appears to be before the got a new datacenter. So I wonder how its been since then?

Asher S
05-29-2002, 08:51 PM
Avoid ******* at ALL COSTS. We've had the misfortune of using these people to host our Hostcharge.com websites whereas we could have hosted ourselves. I wont get into details, but their customer support is truely pathetic, they lie a lot, their datacenter is mediocre.

When our HostCharge.com server went down, these pathetic people couldn't even reboot our box, and it took ages for them to do it eventually. They installed an outdated version of Apache which was the core of the problems to my knowledge. Luckly the server which crashed had only our websites and nothing senstive. Regardless to say we're pulling out of ******* and hosting ourselves as planned.

Ed and Jimmy and the rest of the crew at wow may have good intentions but their knowledge of software, network and hardware is apalling. If you need more details, free feel to email me at AsherSaeed@aol.com.

This is just my 0.02c, i guess there may be *some* satisfied ******* clients who might flame me, but I seriously dont care, this company should be avoided at all costs.

Regards,
Asher.

akashik
06-05-2002, 09:42 AM
Well they just junkmailed us offering 'great deals' so have been added to our 'businesses we won't do business with' list. They have their own datacenter? ******* traces to Verio.

Greg Moore

sodapopinski
06-05-2002, 10:32 AM
Originally posted by akashik
Well they just junkmailed us offering 'great deals' so have been added to our 'businesses we won't do business with' list. They have their own datacenter? ******* traces to Verio.
Greg Moore

They also sent spam email to my mailbox. :angry:
Don't do business with spammer.

clocker1996
06-05-2002, 03:29 PM
WOW

not cool

regier
06-05-2002, 04:42 PM
Yup,

They spam me every week. I've got 2 from them so far this week.