Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : What do you think about Valcato?


Rebel
05-27-2002, 07:23 AM
Valcato Webhosting (http://www.valcato.com/?src=plans)

Prices too good to be true? Keep in mind these elements:

- No Terms of Service or even a Copyright notice listed anywhere.

- No real support mentioned or listed anywhere other than e-mail addy or the vacant forums.

- No mention of whether they even offer FTP access.

- No mention of what control panel software they use.

- Only accept PayPal even though they have credit card icons on display.

- No form to fill out, I thought most webhosting companies needed to know details like what domain they are trying to get hosted... Unless you have to pay before they contact you back to get your information...but that doesn't sound right. ;)

- Their site isn't exactly up to par either with the majority of webhosting company sites. It appears to be something thrown up very quickly and/or can be moved to a fresh hosting domain name rather fast.

I'm sorry, I could be wrong about this but...it just seems like a quick way to scam people. I mean only 5 sign ups for the standard package = $100.00 right off the bat.

I hope I'm wrong about these guys, what do you think?

viGeek
05-27-2002, 03:52 PM
Due to the various reasons you have stated above, i would stay away from them. Misleading information, leads to misleading people :)

Prices are a little on the extremely cheap side.

Gem Hexen
05-27-2002, 09:18 PM
There was some recent talk about them at freewebspace.net/forums :)

valcato
06-03-2002, 08:38 PM
Hi Rebel,

Just a few answers to your questions:

>>Prices too good to be true?

Very good, but not too good to be true!

>>No Terms of Service

http://www.valcato.com/cgi-bin/kb.cgi?view=11&lang=en is our TOS

>>No real support mentioned or listed anywhere other than e-mail addy or the vacant forums.

Support is our top priority! We offer support by e-mail, phone, user forum or online helpdesk system. Our forums are anything but vacant :)

>>No mention of whether they even offer FTP access.

Yes, we support FTP

>>No mention of what control panel software they use.

Cpanel 4.8

>>Only accept PayPal even though they have credit card icons on display.

We will soon be offering full credit card support through SWREG.ORG

>>No form to fill out, I thought most webhosting companies needed to know details like what domain they are trying to get hosted... Unless you have to pay before they contact you back to get your information...but that doesn't sound right.

On signup an autoreponder sends out an e-mail asking you for details, a shoddy system I know - we're going to have it all form based/automated soon! ;)

>>Their site isn't exactly up to par either with the majority of webhosting company sites. It appears to be something thrown up very quickly and/or can be moved to a fresh hosting domain name rather fast.

It was built rather fast (half an hour in Fireworks 4 to be exact). If you dont like it, join the forums, the users are holding a competition amongst themselves to design a better one!!

>>I'm sorry, I could be wrong about this but...it just seems like a quick way to scam people. I mean only 5 sign ups for the standard package = $100.00 right off the bat.

You couldn't be more wrong about our lovely host! :bawling: We are currently hosting 50 domains, with not one unsatisfied customer - again, feel free to ask the forum members! :D

Kind Regards,

~Jerome Everall
Valcato