NiXtreme
05-24-2006, 11:11 AM
I checked the address I use for domain names today to find www.elitehosts.com is attempting to transfer out a domain I own to themselves. They even sent two notices requesting I visit the link and approve the transfer. This is a shady deal to say the least. It appears they might be an Enom reseller but I'm not sure about that yet. If this is the type of transactions they attempt to pull off, its disgraceful. I will stay clear of their business for sure. Anyone know if making a complaint to ICANN or Enom will result in anything? Has this happened to anyone before?
the_ancient
05-24-2006, 11:35 AM
are you sure it is "elitehosts" the company or it is a customer of theirs either intentionally or not, trying the transfer it?
it could be someone just simply does not understand the domain name process and thought they could by the domain name.
Have you contacted them??? that should be your first course of action,
Hello NiXtreme,
Can you let us know which domain was attempted to be transferred to us please? We certainly don't engage in stealing of other peoples domain names.
Thank you
Upon looking into this further, I realized that the transfer request was put in for 'elitevps.com' (which you may own) instead of 'elitevps.net' (which we own).
We were transfering the domain from our OpenSRS account to our Enom account and we are sorry for the mistake. There was certainly no bad intention involved, just a simple mistake of someone typing .com instead of .net - this is a good example of why the domain validation emails are required :)
I'm sorry for the confusion that this has caused, if you send me a PM, I'd like to make it up to you.
Sorry once again for the mistake!
NiXtreme
05-24-2006, 12:20 PM
Thanks for the explanation. It is common for me to type .com when it should be another TLD. No hard feelings and good luck with the transfer. I didn't mean to jump on you too harshly but being my domain had "elite" and that's part of your domain it made sense.
steveabraham
05-24-2006, 12:49 PM
Ah yes, I've done that before. It's too easy to do.
mrzippy
05-24-2006, 06:04 PM
Amazing. WebHostingTalk.com actually has a thread where things end up resolved and both parties are happy.
I didn't think that ever happened. :)
BTW - I've done the same thing myself, where I typed ".com" instead of ".net".. and then 2 weeks later I couldn't figure out why the domain had expired. Arg.
ha ha, mrzippy. we've all been there.
Thread title edited a bit.
NiXtreme
05-25-2006, 11:55 AM
Thanks Bear for changing the topic a little. I just didn't get around to asking a moderator to add to it. Everything worked out well and I have no ill feelings toward Elitehosts. They were very quick and professional in dealing with this. After all, we are human and do sometimes make mistakes.