cyansmoker
05-23-2002, 06:57 PM
This morning someone sent that message to our 'sales' address:
---
I have been trying to reach someone there for more info on your plans that you offer for hosting services. ICQ me at XXXXXXXXX
Thanks!
Jim XXXXXXXX
Vice President of Sales
www.likewhoa.com
---
So what do you think? Would you contact this person?
He's interested in buying something right?
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Well, I did.
Here is the transcript of our ICQ chat:
---
me_______ 5/23/200 11:10 AM Hi, you have contacted us this morning
regarding your hosting needs.
him_______ 5/23/200 11:10 AM yes....
him_______ 5/23/200 11:11 AM I am with LikeWhoa in NYC, I wanted to see
what kind of hosting that you have
me_______ 5/23/200 11:11 AM Sure, what do you need to know ?
him_______ 5/23/200 11:11 AM who are you hosting with today?
me_______ 5/23/200 11:12 AM You mean our servers? Some of them are in the
Hub of Telecom in Los Angeles but all our new
servers are in Atlanta, in the Marietta
building. Our data center is DV2
(http://www.dv2.com)
him_______ 5/23/200 11:14 AM we are offering crazy deals on hosting here
me_______ 5/23/200 11:15 AM Yes I'm a bit lost here. Are you trying to
sell us hosting ?
him_______ 5/23/200 11:15 AM I am tryign to offer our services on HOsting
him_______ 5/23/200 11:15 AM yes, I am offering hosting
me_______ 5/23/200 11:16 AM The email that you sent to us is as follow: "I
have been trying to reach someone there for
more info on your plans that you offer for
hosting services. ICQ me at XXXXXXXXX" - it
seems to imply that you are LOOKING for
hosting doesn't it?
him_______ 5/23/200 11:16 AM maybe I was inpling wrongly
him_______ 5/23/200 11:16 AM I apologize for that
me_______ 5/23/200 11:17 AM So you're contacting hosting companies to
offer them hosting ?
him_______ 5/23/200 11:17 AM yes
him_______ 5/23/200 11:17 AM offer them the best deal out there
him_______ 5/23/200 11:17 AM nothing wrong with saving folks cash and
giving them the best hositng around
me_______ 5/23/200 11:18 AM OK being said that we are a hosting company,
what can you offer to us?
him_______ 5/23/200 11:18 AM a great price on upstream bandwidth
him_______ 5/23/200 11:19 AM from a variety of tier 1 players
me_______ 5/23/200 11:19 AM Oh I see. Well, I see 'verio' on your
site...at least their logo
him_______ 5/23/200 11:20 AM yah
him_______ 5/23/200 11:20 AM thre is Qwest, Verio and At&T
me_______ 5/23/200 11:21 AM Well, we are quite happy with Level3 and
Aleron (and even Cogent). How do you offer
this bandwidth? Are you a broker or would we
have to move our servers to your Data Center?
him_______ 5/23/200 11:21 AM you can move to us and save a bunch on Colo
space
him_______ 5/23/200 11:21 AM we offer dedicated servers
me_______ 5/23/200 11:22 AM I see...I can't find anything on colo or
dedicated on your site?
him_______ 5/23/200 11:22 AM I cut custom quotes for all that
---
I gave up at that point we were not going anywhere.
This is quite lame tactics I think...and DV2 and the other DCs out there should know about these guys.
Also, I went to their web site and it looks remarkably like Cingular, or is it just me..?
Regards,
-Chris.
---
I have been trying to reach someone there for more info on your plans that you offer for hosting services. ICQ me at XXXXXXXXX
Thanks!
Jim XXXXXXXX
Vice President of Sales
www.likewhoa.com
---
So what do you think? Would you contact this person?
He's interested in buying something right?
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Well, I did.
Here is the transcript of our ICQ chat:
---
me_______ 5/23/200 11:10 AM Hi, you have contacted us this morning
regarding your hosting needs.
him_______ 5/23/200 11:10 AM yes....
him_______ 5/23/200 11:11 AM I am with LikeWhoa in NYC, I wanted to see
what kind of hosting that you have
me_______ 5/23/200 11:11 AM Sure, what do you need to know ?
him_______ 5/23/200 11:11 AM who are you hosting with today?
me_______ 5/23/200 11:12 AM You mean our servers? Some of them are in the
Hub of Telecom in Los Angeles but all our new
servers are in Atlanta, in the Marietta
building. Our data center is DV2
(http://www.dv2.com)
him_______ 5/23/200 11:14 AM we are offering crazy deals on hosting here
me_______ 5/23/200 11:15 AM Yes I'm a bit lost here. Are you trying to
sell us hosting ?
him_______ 5/23/200 11:15 AM I am tryign to offer our services on HOsting
him_______ 5/23/200 11:15 AM yes, I am offering hosting
me_______ 5/23/200 11:16 AM The email that you sent to us is as follow: "I
have been trying to reach someone there for
more info on your plans that you offer for
hosting services. ICQ me at XXXXXXXXX" - it
seems to imply that you are LOOKING for
hosting doesn't it?
him_______ 5/23/200 11:16 AM maybe I was inpling wrongly
him_______ 5/23/200 11:16 AM I apologize for that
me_______ 5/23/200 11:17 AM So you're contacting hosting companies to
offer them hosting ?
him_______ 5/23/200 11:17 AM yes
him_______ 5/23/200 11:17 AM offer them the best deal out there
him_______ 5/23/200 11:17 AM nothing wrong with saving folks cash and
giving them the best hositng around
me_______ 5/23/200 11:18 AM OK being said that we are a hosting company,
what can you offer to us?
him_______ 5/23/200 11:18 AM a great price on upstream bandwidth
him_______ 5/23/200 11:19 AM from a variety of tier 1 players
me_______ 5/23/200 11:19 AM Oh I see. Well, I see 'verio' on your
site...at least their logo
him_______ 5/23/200 11:20 AM yah
him_______ 5/23/200 11:20 AM thre is Qwest, Verio and At&T
me_______ 5/23/200 11:21 AM Well, we are quite happy with Level3 and
Aleron (and even Cogent). How do you offer
this bandwidth? Are you a broker or would we
have to move our servers to your Data Center?
him_______ 5/23/200 11:21 AM you can move to us and save a bunch on Colo
space
him_______ 5/23/200 11:21 AM we offer dedicated servers
me_______ 5/23/200 11:22 AM I see...I can't find anything on colo or
dedicated on your site?
him_______ 5/23/200 11:22 AM I cut custom quotes for all that
---
I gave up at that point we were not going anywhere.
This is quite lame tactics I think...and DV2 and the other DCs out there should know about these guys.
Also, I went to their web site and it looks remarkably like Cingular, or is it just me..?
Regards,
-Chris.
