Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Registefrly Scam?


@eggheadz.com
05-09-2006, 09:24 PM
Hi people,

I sure Hope I have not been taken.

On registerfly.com, there is a list of "AVAILABLE NAMES TO REGISTER"
Now I called myself buying some of these 3 letter and hip sounding domain names.

On their site, it says there is no history of my order, but they charged my card for it. Is this real or what?

I checked the whois on one of them, and it said ICANN RESERVED and expires in 2011. I will call my bank and tell them it's a fraud charge, if this is the case.

I am on the phone waiting for them now.

Thanks,

@eggheadz.com
05-09-2006, 09:41 PM
Yup, it's not real. Knew it. This is my 1st and only experience with them.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v382/Gemini365i/J-EdGe/Screen-Shots/REGISTERFLY.png

They are advertising domain names that are NOT available to register. Beware when buying from that place.

gerolsteiner
05-09-2006, 09:51 PM
Did you really think you were going to get net.info, registry.org???

Come on, a little common sense.....it's obviously a mistake at registerly, not a scam.

when in doubt, check at the registry level

pir.org
affilias.info
neustar.us

@eggheadz.com
05-09-2006, 10:00 PM
oh come on now, I sure did! LOL
I was slobbin over net.info, jumped all over it.

How can it be a mistake on their part. They are a registrar. Registrar and network admins don't make those kinds of mistakes by querying unavailable domain names to REGISTER!

Oh well, I know to stay away from the Fly!

solidar
05-09-2006, 10:11 PM
oThey are a registrar. Registrar and network admins don't make those kinds of mistakes by querying unavailable domain names to REGISTER!



it happens all time, many names may be available but are reserved by registry.

I did a check and it was taken

The results of your bulk domain registration search


Domains NOT available for registration:
net.info. is taken Be the first to "grab" net.info


I am sure million people wish for name to be available as well and it aavailable for you? I use their search and it was taken

https://registerfly.com/multi/index.php

zoobie
05-10-2006, 11:31 AM
Is yahoo.com available?

tigrrra
05-10-2006, 12:05 PM
yahoo.com yes it is :) lol i was thinking of getting that one but who would i sell it to

777
05-10-2006, 10:20 PM
Why charge a credit card then?

jokestar
05-11-2006, 06:12 AM
Dude.. registerfly is good man

but yes... i have never payed by credit card ALWAYS.. e-gold

now they are starting out paypa .
its really good... i have a few domains with thm and i have no problem

Right Hosting
05-11-2006, 11:35 AM
I just searched and found 3 .info domains I was going to register as I got an email from then on the 10th of May, it said I can register .info domains for $.60 each tomorrow which I gathered means Friday 11th , after going through all the hassle of this plus the checkout etc and entering the promo code I got an error saying it finished on the 9th - grrr - I just told them what I thought of them :O