Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Another Rip


Jeddi2k
05-22-2002, 06:56 AM
Original Site: http://www.unlimitedhostingplans.com
Rip site: http://www.allenviron.com/hostingplans.html
Is there any way to stop these stupid people?

Blikje
05-22-2002, 07:11 AM
First I didn't see the connection, but after seeing his hosting plan page and yours, the bell rings. You are cheaper though. Is het a reseller of yours?

Jacco

Jeddi2k
05-22-2002, 07:17 AM
No he is not a reseller of ours. He wanted to purchase a design from our design department and then he suddenly did not contact us anymore and started to copy all our images.
Also check out his sign up page!
Interesting enough is that he can't even download the flash "30 days money back guarantee" so instead he just created a screenshot of it and then created a gif! :eek:

Aussie Bob
05-22-2002, 07:21 AM
it looks nothing like your site, IMO.

BTW, what public disclosure do you give with these monthly "prizes" you are dishing out?? I went to see the winner of the XBOX and hit a "Members only" wall. :eek: :confused:

Jeddi2k
05-22-2002, 07:23 AM
Signing up for a username is free just FYI.

SI-Chris
05-22-2002, 08:01 AM
Originally posted by Aussie Bob
it looks nothing like your site, IMO.
You have to look at these to pages to see what he's talking about:
http://www.allenviron.com/hostingplans.html
http://www.unlimitedhostingplans.com/hostingplanslinux.asp

coux
05-22-2002, 08:16 AM
Thats really bad. I can't figure out why people do that though.. its always bad to make enemies. Especially when in an online business where there is so many things a person can do for revenge. Have you tried emailing him to sort it out?

Web Guyz
05-22-2002, 09:21 AM
You may not want to accuse him right away.

He may have actually hired a designer to do it and said I want those exact boxes.

While this is wrong, you can't necessarily blame him, himself.

Most designers will say no, I do my own work. I will make something LIKE it, but not exact.

Satj2000
05-22-2002, 09:33 AM
Originally posted by Web Guyz
You may not want to accuse him right away.

He may have actually hired a designer to do it and said I want those exact boxes.

While this is wrong, you can't necessarily blame him, himself.

Most designers will say no, I do my own work. I will make something LIKE it, but not exact.
Come on, he even did not bother to change the font... It is the exact same thing.
ALso check out: http://www.allenviron.com/signup.html
and: http://www.unlimitedhostingplans.com/signup.asp
The image of the main page is from http://www.unlimitedhostingplans.com/members/login.asp

Anyway, we also emailed him, it seems that he uses the Outlook rule to delete our messages right away.

Blikje
05-22-2002, 09:35 AM
But isn't their some copyright on the design?

Jacco

Aussie Bob
05-22-2002, 09:51 AM
Originally posted by Intelligent Hosting
You have to look at these to pages to see what he's talking about:
http://www.allenviron.com/hostingplans.html
http://www.unlimitedhostingplans.com/hostingplanslinux.asp
ah :confused: , he said -
Originally posted by Jeddi2k
Original Site: http://www.unlimitedhostingplans.com
Rip site: http://www.allenviron.com/hostingplans.html
Is there any way to stop these stupid people?
hence my -
Originally posted by Aussie Bob
it looks nothing like your site, IMO.
:)

Aussie Bob
05-22-2002, 09:58 AM
Originally posted by Satj2000
Anyway, we also emailed him, it seems that he uses the Outlook rule to delete our messages right away.
:laugh: :rolleyes:

Angel78
05-22-2002, 10:01 AM
he`s hosted at rackshack.net so if you really want to stop them try by mailing rackshack's about the issue :rolleyes:

Aussie Bob
05-22-2002, 10:06 AM
Originally posted by Angel78
he`s hosted at rackshack.net so if you really want to stop them try by mailing rackshack's about the issue :rolleyes:
I seriously doubt they'll shut him down for pinching some pics from someone's site. It's not like he stole the whole site. He just took those buttons. NOT that I'm saying that that is ok, but we don't know the full story etc.

carolinahosting
05-22-2002, 10:32 AM
Originally posted by Satj2000

Come on, he even did not bother to change the font... It is the exact same thing.
ALso check out: http://www.allenviron.com/signup.html
and: http://www.unlimitedhostingplans.com/signup.asp
The image of the main page is from http://www.unlimitedhostingplans.com/members/login.asp

Anyway, we also emailed him, it seems that he uses the Outlook rule to delete our messages right away.

Very simular... Look at his order form. He is using an order form that sends the order via your POP account. A little lame if you ask me...