View Full Version : Any info on these hosts
bogztoyz 05-21-2002, 05:33 PM I am in the process of finding a host for a small website for the company I work for. The 2 hosts that I have found that offer the features I am looking for are
splicehost.com
and
alivehost.com
I have searched the forums for the host, but only one thread and not info from that. Any comments would be appreciated.
Rotifer 05-21-2002, 05:58 PM Never heard of them.
avara 05-21-2002, 06:36 PM I tried searching for both of them on Google, but came up with nothing.
Satj2000 05-21-2002, 06:42 PM Try hostsearch.com and see if you can find any ratings there...
viGeek 05-21-2002, 06:43 PM Never heard of them either, however as stated above they arent listed into google, which means they are either a: new, or b: not listed in google lol
Also i see SpliceHost offers the big Unlimited Bandwidth for all of their plans, that right there would tell me not to go with them. There is no such thing as unlimited, and they are lying to you :)
puggy106 05-21-2002, 06:48 PM Try a search on this froum:)
avara 05-21-2002, 06:53 PM Originally posted by puggy106
Try a search on this froum:)
He already tried that...
Rochen 05-21-2002, 07:06 PM Originally posted by avara
He already tried that...
I think they meant a search for "unlimited" not sure though...
Gafyn 05-21-2002, 07:16 PM I would imagine he means
Splash Host
and
Alivewww or Alive Uk whatever they call themselves these days.
RH Robert 05-22-2002, 01:37 AM Why would he mean what he didn't say?
http://splicehost.com/ is a valid company, as is http://alivehost.com These are what he asked about. Not splashhost or alivewww
Aussie Bob 05-22-2002, 02:54 AM Originally posted by vigor
Never heard of them either, however as stated above they arent listed into google, which means they are either a: new, or b: not listed in google lol
Nothing escapes them damn gooblebots. They must be new and google hasn't indexed 'em yet. :)
bogztoyz 05-22-2002, 09:44 AM I did a search on this site and only came up with Splicehost, which had a nuetral to positive review. My concern isn't bandwidth, as the site is for a specific audience in our area. I know that many hosts advertise "unlimited" bandwidth and then cut you off, or charge you outrageous fees if you go over a limit. The page I am looking to host is primarily text, a few images and some simple tables.
I am looking for anyone with experience with either hosting company. I just want to know if they are legit, and not some company that changes names every other month to attract unsuspecting customers.
Aussie Bob 05-22-2002, 10:09 AM Originally posted by bogztoyz
I am looking for anyone with experience with either hosting company. I just want to know if they are legit, and not some company that changes names every other month to attract unsuspecting customers.
Here's an idea - post your request into the "Request's" section of this forum and stipulate that you'd like a host who's been in business for "X" amount of time and you want references too.
MisterX 06-16-2002, 05:06 AM I think that you`ll find that Alivehost.com is a completely different company from UKAlive (aka Alivewww.com) so you might even receive a decent level of service - which has NOT been my experience of Alivewww.com !
Don`t confuse the two companies, its a bit unfortunate that the US company have chosen a very similar name to their UK competitors.
I`ve had NO experience of the American company so you are on your own there...
MisterX
:cartman:
Bloory 07-26-2002, 01:09 AM Mister X,
Alivewww areseemingly improving -
1 the forums are back,
2 uptime is at 99.xx% forthethird week running
3 they've taken on a temporary member of staff
4 they're trying reallyhard to respond to customer wishlists and problems.
I've been the first to moan, but at the minute, things are seeemingly better at Alivewww/Ukalive than many other hosts.
No affiliation,
Bloory
Most of there problems with uptime seem to be related to a customer/ex-customer abusing the system. This has now been stopped.
You should post what you are looking for in the ads section of this forum and see what offers pop up.
Originally posted by Aussie Bob
Nothing escapes them damn gooblebots. They must be new and google hasn't indexed 'em yet. :)
Isn't that the truth! You would be suprised at some of the things I've found on there, credit cards someone had stored in text in a sub dir of their site, open backends to systems, tons of other little things that shouldn't be indexed.
|