Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : mxhub.com ripping MCHost


MCHost-Marc
05-17-2002, 09:40 PM
Okay, there are quite a few companies ripping off parts of our website, i usually don't care but this is a little too much. Compare:

http://www.mchost.com/plans/ with
http://www.mxhub.com/hosting/reseller/


Copied Part:

We offer the most unique and advanced approach into the reseller industry. Unlike other reseller providers where you have to buy each of your clients' account separately, the ----- reseller plan gives you the flexibility to Host UNLIMITED Domains under one large account and set as well as monitor each clients disk and bandwidth usage using the -------------!


...and even more, the entire knowledge base:

http://helpdesk.mchost.com/kb.cgi?cat&query=Pre-sales&lang=en
http://support.mxhub.com/helpdesk/kb.cgi?cat&query=Reseller%20Pre-Sales%20FAQ&lang=en

Come on, come up with your own ideas and don't copy others' hard work. :rolleyes:

Avail
05-17-2002, 09:47 PM
You must be doing something right -- people sure do copy you often :)

Samuel
05-17-2002, 10:14 PM
Kiwi, we all know that you are so proliferate that all of these "Rips" are small little ventures on the side.

Note: Small little ventures =)

Your site has been ripped what, 300 times since august 2001?

21inchguns
05-17-2002, 10:16 PM
must be damn frustrating......
but how are you finding all these sites, or are people reporting them to you.....

cheers

Samuel
05-17-2002, 10:18 PM
Originally posted by 21inchguns
must be damn frustrating......
but how are you finding all these sites, or are people reporting them to you.....

cheers

Server logs Im sure.

AcuNett
05-17-2002, 10:41 PM
Server logs would only indicate someone visiting a site, which mxhub would have done.... it wouldn't have showed something suspicious.

Avail
05-17-2002, 10:57 PM
Originally posted by AcuNett
it wouldn't have showed something suspicious.


Yes it would; server logs show you people linking to your images.

Annette
05-17-2002, 10:58 PM
They probably get notified the same way we do: somebody drops a note pointing to the offending site. We tend to get a lot more content rips than graphics/design.

MCHost-Marc
05-18-2002, 04:40 PM
Server logs. They had linked one of our graphics on their website :rolleyes:

astralexis
05-18-2002, 06:28 PM
mxhub <-- naughty naughty

iamdave
05-18-2002, 06:37 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi
Server logs. They had linked one of our graphics on their website :rolleyes: Hahaha, how lame. Marc are you going to be taking any legal action?

1q1q1q
05-18-2002, 07:01 PM
bandwidth theft also?:confused:

kosmo
05-18-2002, 07:05 PM
Marc,

I am still waiting for the proof that you have actually PURCHASED the cpanel skin which you demo on your site. Any news about this?

In my last private email (months ago, 31st January 2002) I wrote: "Please give me informations about the licensee of the cpanelthemes skin installation on atlantis.dnsvault.com." but I didn't get any answer although you had promised "One of our clients has purchased the skin for the server. Please let me know if you need the domain and i'll dig it out for you."

Thanks for supporting software develoipment by finding out who has purchased the software you are already using.

kosmo

AcuNett
05-18-2002, 07:07 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi
Server logs. They had linked one of our graphics on their website :rolleyes:

Ah that's why ;) I never bothered to see if the images were on their servers or not.

Sorry Avail :D

acidHL
05-18-2002, 07:08 PM
Originally posted by kosmo
Marc,

I am still waiting for the proof that you have actually PURCHASED the cpanel skin which you demo on your site. Any news about this?

In my last private email (months ago, 31st January 2002) I wrote: "Please give me informations about the licensee of the cpanelthemes skin installation on atlantis.dnsvault.com." but I didn't get any answer although you had promised "One of our clients has purchased the skin for the server. Please let me know if you need the domain and i'll dig it out for you."

Thanks for supporting software develoipment by finding out who has purchased the software you are already using.

kosmo

The one named cpanel? I do belive they created that themslves.

Shannon
05-18-2002, 09:41 PM
Ouch, these guys just rubme wrong in a few ways...

From their support forums:We used qmail that can handle 10,000 emails in 1 sec, just like hotmail. 10,000 emails in 1 second? Why does this sound a bit over the top? I mean, I'm sure that qmail is fast.. but 10k a second?

Then there's this from their "Network Page"Our entirely switched, Cisco powered network employs Cisco class routers running HSRP (N+1 hot failover) to ensure that data can be routed even in the event of a router failure. Wait.. www.mxhub.com is on a rackshack server... I thought Rackshack used all Juniper equipment? Not Cisco? Oh wait, their entire network page (http://www.mxhub.com/network/) is pretty much a copy of Rackspace's Network Page (http://www.rackspace.com/infrastructure/network/network_details.php).. That explains it.

I donno... I just think they lifted more then just mcHost's ad copy. ;)

bruce1234at
05-18-2002, 09:54 PM
i'd use .htaccess to prevent other's from linking to images on your website. nothing worse than a bandwidth pirate! :(

iamdave
05-18-2002, 10:02 PM
Originally posted by Shannon
Ouch, these guys just rubme wrong in a few ways...

From their support forums: 10,000 emails in 1 second? Why does this sound a bit over the top? I mean, I'm sure that qmail is fast.. but 10k a second?

Then there's this from their "Network Page" Wait.. www.mxhub.com is on a rackshack server... I thought Rackshack used all Juniper equipment? Not Cisco? Oh wait, their entire network page (http://www.mxhub.com/network/) is pretty much a copy of Rackspace's Network Page (http://www.rackspace.com/infrastructure/network/network_details.php).. That explains it.

I donno... I just think they lifted more then just mcHost's ad copy. ;) LOL

Sina
05-19-2002, 04:49 PM
http://www.lostworldx.com/webhosting
vs.
http://www.wisehosting.net

Ex. Chat button, and the partners at the buttom

They are using our images from our own site, and also the table of features.

Why dont they atleast copy them on their own server so we would not notice ?

astralexis
05-19-2002, 05:29 PM
Funny is the bottom line of their pages:
Copyright (c) 2001-2002 MxHub.Com. All Rights ReservedSo how come their site is still up? Didnīt you write them a cease and desist email, Marc?

MCHost-Marc
05-19-2002, 07:08 PM
Hi Marc,

We will take action against this. I think it is quite useful if we could use the FAQ for our customer base as well. However, we hope that you could let us have most part of the FAQ content while we make necessary changes to meet the copyright content.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

-------------
Feel free to contact us again if you have any query.

Best regards,
Joseph


:eek: :eek2: :puke:

iamdave
05-19-2002, 07:12 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi


:eek: :eek2: :puke: :eek:

iamdave
05-19-2002, 07:12 PM
They've got one BIG set of balls!

astralexis
05-20-2002, 12:19 AM
We will take action against this ...
This was their reply?
Hehe,...
take action against...
can one take action against ones own actions? LOL
all they have to do is stop being jerks
Sorry for the inconvenience
Inconvenience? Gosh...
Seems they donīt feel like having done any wrong
Oh well...

MCHost-Marc
05-24-2002, 09:50 PM
Well, its removed so its all good now.

ToastyX
05-24-2002, 10:01 PM
Originally posted by acidHL


The one named cpanel? I do belive they created that themslves.

If you look closely, it sure looks like a modified version of the theme available at cpanelthemes.com, which I believe kosmo created.

Aussie Bob
05-25-2002, 01:57 AM
Originally posted by iamdave
They've got one BIG set of balls!
:laugh: :laugh: :rolleyes: :eek: