Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : ICANN warning


Gadgy
05-15-2002, 12:43 PM
ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers), which is the
official Internet registration body approved by the United States
Department of Trade & Commerce.

Advisory Concerning Deceptive Notices from "XChange Dispute Resolution".

Summary. ICANN has recently received many reports of domain-name
registrants receiving "Domain Dispute Notification" mailings from an
entity identifying itself as "XChange Dispute Resolution." The mailings
falsely state that XChange is an "ICANN authorized arbitrator" and that
the registrant must mail in a "security deposit fee" to defend "ownership
of the domain name." Registrants are warned not to be tricked by these
false notices.

Details of the False Notices. These notices are addressed to domain-name
registrants, identify a domain name, and state that "XChange Disputes has
received a Domain Dispute Resolution Complaint (DDRC) under the Uniform
Domain Resolution Policy (UDRP) estabished by the Internet Corporation for
Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) ... " The notification also warns "You
are required under the UDRP to participate in this arbitration case or
relinquish ownership of the domain. If you accept the loss of control of
this domain to Party A then no reply is required from yourself." The
mailing instructs the recipient to "defend" the identified domain name by
returning a completed form along with a "security deposit." The requested
security deposit, which appears to range from $250 to $1250, is allegedly
required from the registrant in order to "ensure a genuine belief of
ownership ...".

The mailing instructs registrants to send a check for the security
deposit, made payable to "XChange Reciprocal Services" at 490 Fallon Road,
Petaluma, CA 94952-9655. The notices all appear to be signed by "Janice
Veneno, Dispute Resolution Service Representative, XChange Dispute
Resolution (an ICANN authorized arbitrator)." A page of "Dispute
Guidelines" attached to the notices states that "As an ICANN-certified
UDRP arbitrator we follow the rules and regulations set out by the ICANN
committee" and that the "security deposit" will be "returned to the
registrant at the end of the dispute process whatever the outcome."

The True Facts. The sender of these notices has not been approved by ICANN
as a provider of dispute-resolution services under ICANN's Uniform
Domain-Name Dispute-Resolution Policy (UDRP). The authoritative list of
all approved providers is posted on the ICANN website at
http://www.icann.org/dndr/udrp/approved-providers.htm. ICANN's UDRP does
not allow dispute-resolution service providers to demand a "security
deposit" from registrants, and does not deprive registrants of the rights
to their names solely because of a failure to reply to a notice of a
dispute.

What to Do If You Receive the Notice. By all means, do not send money as
requested by this notice! Instead, please contact an appropriate
governmental law enforcement/consumer protection agency to report the
incident. If you wish, you can fax the notice to ICANN at +1 310 823-8649;
we may pass it on to an appropriate law-enforcement agency.

JayC
05-15-2002, 03:47 PM
I suppose it's worth mentioning again, just in case that scam is still operating, but that announcement is more than a month old.

See http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?threadid=44248

ds2
05-15-2002, 04:14 PM
I too got this from easyspace today although I dont recall using easyspace...