Martie
05-13-2002, 08:41 PM
Anyone else reveiving the spam from octanehost.com?
:angry:
:angry:
![]() | View Full Version : spam from octanehost.com Martie 05-13-2002, 08:41 PM Anyone else reveiving the spam from octanehost.com? :angry: Dylan 05-13-2002, 09:01 PM yep avara 05-13-2002, 10:39 PM They spammed our sales@hostit365.com email address. :rolleyes: marksy 05-13-2002, 10:44 PM Ditto here... markblair 05-14-2002, 12:13 AM I, too, have received spam from them. Meant to reply with something not-so-nice. Funny thing is they sent it to an e-mail address that I haven't used on any of the many web sites I have worked on/created. Wonder just how they got that e-mail address since it's only been sent to family and friends. Martie 05-14-2002, 12:19 AM I got several...through different domains, and they were all in the form of a "newsletter that we subscribed to" LOL....ya right!! markblair 05-14-2002, 12:27 AM Funny part is that they state that "Octane Host is well known for its superior level of support." yet the domain itself has only been registered since April 11, 2002. Domain Name: OCTANEHOST.COM Registrar: TUCOWS, INC. Whois Server: whois.opensrs.net Referral URL: http://www.opensrs.org Name Server: NS1.OCTANEHOST.COM Name Server: NS2.OCTANEHOST.COM Updated Date: 11-apr-2002 Record last updated on 11-Apr-2002. Record expires on 11-Apr-2003. Record Created on 11-Apr-2002. Domain servers in listed order: NS1.OCTANEHOST.COM 64.57.223.19 NS2.OCTANEHOST.COM 64.57.223.20 NodeHost 05-14-2002, 09:57 AM One question: Why would a ISP want to spam other ISP's? Is that not redundant? coight 05-14-2002, 09:59 AM I would love to know what they are saying :D markblair 05-14-2002, 10:02 AM Originally posted by NodeHost One question: Why would a ISP want to spam other ISP's? Is that not redundant? Why does Microsoft make crappy software at times? Some things we will just never know the answers to. Chicken 05-15-2002, 03:50 AM Whooo-hooo, got it too... now will they shut them off? Hmmm... markblair 05-15-2002, 07:05 AM I just received a second one. I did remember sending them an e-mail telling them to no longer send me their SPAM. Since this is now number two, I think it might be time to give them a call and explain the laws to them. Not a good way to start out your hosting company if you have to spam people in hopes to gain customers. Unfortunately, probably many that do this are successful. :eek: Angel78 05-15-2002, 07:07 AM i didn't :bawling: Can you forward it to me? :) Angel78 05-15-2002, 07:09 AM btw http://www.jtel.net/ is their provider alchiba 05-15-2002, 09:36 AM I received the spam too and promptly forwarded it, with a short nasty-gram attached, to the abuse address posted on jtel's site. I also got a phone call this morning from some barely intelligible guy from Hostopia wanting to do some kind of "business analysis" for me. Yeah, that's sooo not-gonna-happen. :D mgriffin 05-15-2002, 08:12 PM They're mailing from open relays and in several blacklists as well... Here's one from them our filters caught earlier today... (This mail was handled by an open relay - please visit <http://ORDB.org/lookup/?host=64.57.223.29>). ([1] Lambert/Aztec/Aims, see http://spews.org/ask.cgi?S835). ([1] Edirect, see http://spews.org/ask.cgi?S483). (Blocked - see http://spamcop.net/bl.shtml?64.57.223.29). (Listed on SBL - see http://spamhaus.org/SBL/sbl.lasso?query=SBX2786). Subject: Unlimited Domain Hosting From $39.96 - Mike Annette 05-17-2002, 11:20 PM I'm so happy that we weren't the only ones spammed by this. We sent it back up the line to jtel and verio with a nastygram, but what are the odds that anything of note will happen to them? markblair 05-28-2002, 03:13 PM Originally posted by Annette I'm so happy that we weren't the only ones spammed by this. We sent it back up the line to jtel and verio with a nastygram, but what are the odds that anything of note will happen to them? Apparently, they are not going to stop nor do they "get it". I just received an e-mail from YourHostBiz.com which has the same layout, design, newsletter, etc. that OctaneHost has. Take a look at their sites. Notice anything about them that looks the same? http://www.octanehost.com http://www.yourhostbiz.com I even received the latest newsletter at an e-mail address that is not used on any of my web sites. This is the same thing that happened before. Has anyone tried calling them because I'm getting ready to since they obviously don't listen to our requests to be removed from their spam. And Jtel appears not to care or this wouldn't have happened again. |