Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : found on my server logs


ADEhost
05-10-2002, 02:36 PM
I was checking my server logs today, I found this company

http://www.relevare.com/site/

their robot did an entire index of my web pages.

does anybody know whom it indexes for ?

or better, can anybody else confirm that they have them indexing thier servers also?

Mike

side note: I think this is the proper forum if not could the mod. move it.

GlideTech
05-10-2002, 02:51 PM
From what I can tell it is a business only index and you have to be a client of relevare to get access to it.

If you click on "Quicknav" down at the bottom you can find alot more info about their spider called "bumblebee".

I personally have never seen this in my logs, but seems interesting :)

ADEhost
05-10-2002, 02:57 PM
Well the reason I'm asking is that I was wondering if someone is monitoring my site for changes. if so Whom, the Why I already know.


Mike

p.s.

if anybody else gets it in thier log file, I can develope a profile of the firm requesting the info.

Shannon
05-10-2002, 03:00 PM
BumbleBee's been by to see us a few times, looks like once every two days or so.. but no idea why... :shrug: just wrote it off as one of the many odd search bots we see. ;)

Rotifer
05-10-2002, 08:07 PM
I like their site.

JayC
05-10-2002, 08:16 PM
Originally posted by Shannon
just wrote it off as one of the many odd search bots we see. ;) Speaking of odd bots, has anyone else seen one identifying itself as "research@yahoo.com" over the past couple of days? I've had it show up at a couple of different sites.

Well... check on that IP: it seems to have no connection to yahoo.

Maybe it's another one to "write off," but personally I just banned the IP in my .htaccess. I don't realy care about Relevare because at least they are clear about who they are -- but this one seems to be trying to be deceptive.

Shawn (GEcom)
05-10-2002, 09:41 PM
Originally posted by JayC
Speaking of odd bots, has anyone else seen one identifying itself as "research@yahoo.com" over the past couple of days? I've had it show up at a couple of different sites.

Well... check on that IP: it seems to have no connection to yahoo.

Maybe it's another one to "write off," but personally I just banned the IP in my .htaccess. I don't realy care about Relevare because at least they are clear about who they are -- but this one seems to be trying to be deceptive.

Yes, this one has appeared in the logs over the last few days.

ADEhost
05-10-2002, 10:23 PM
any chance you got the IP of that bot?

mike

Shawn (GEcom)
05-10-2002, 10:48 PM
Yup, here is some info below. I just did a quick query on yesterday's log files, it seems to have spidered the entire website. They seem to have many different e-mail addresses.

IP: 209.126.176.3
Browser: Mozilla/4.0 research@yahoo.com

IP: 209.126.176.3
Browser: Mozilla/5.0 research@mediatrec.com

IP: 209.126.176.3
Browser: larbin_2.6.2 larbin2.6.2@unspecified.mail

There are several other addresses as well, but these were the first few.

-Shawn

iamdave
05-10-2002, 10:59 PM
They've got a kickass site.

avara
05-11-2002, 05:55 PM
I wouldn't worry about it, plus they have a great site. Maybe they'll send some customers your way? ;)