Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : 6 months with SJRHosting - A Review


Symbolik9
03-01-2006, 05:10 AM
Since reading one of their posts in the Offers forums at WHT, I've been with SJRHosting (http://www.sjrhosting.com) since September 1st, 2005 (6 months as of today) and figured it'd be an apt time to post what I think of their services.

There's only one word I can use to describe their support response time: FAST. When I first started hosting with them, their server had one or two issues with the memory and hard drive dying in two different circumstances, causing the server to go down for an extended period. Within minutes of submitting a ticket, I got a response explaining in detail why the server was down, what was being done, and when it was expected to be back up. True to their word, the server was back up when they said it would be, and on top of that I was credited with extra disk space and data transfer. No matter what time I submit a trouble ticket, I'd get a response within the hour at most.

Besides the aforementioned server issues, uptime has been stellar. There hasn't been a single major downtime issue in the last 5 months. February's uptime was 99.849% which is conservatively low since my status monitor only updates every 30 minutes.

Scott is very prompt and courteous and I would not have any problems recommending SJRHosting to my friends. You guys do a great job and I hope to stay a customer for a long time.

I host a site for a MMORPG gaming group at http://www.evegoons.com for those seeking verification.

HybridReseller
03-01-2006, 06:17 AM
Glad to hear you're getting good service. Please keep us updated.

premium20
03-01-2006, 06:29 AM
And do they offer 24 x 7 support? What is the average response time to support tickets?

cunning
03-01-2006, 07:17 AM
Well, I just demo-ed their WHM panel and saw that the system showed the following details

System Information

Linux reseller7.hostgator.com 2.4.26-grsecvx #1 Thu Apr 29 03:23:00 EDT 2004 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux


Wondering where they have their servers located or they are resellers of hostgator

premium20
03-01-2006, 07:52 AM
Well, I just demo-ed their WHM panel and saw that the system showed the following details

System Information

Linux reseller7.hostgator.com 2.4.26-grsecvx #1 Thu Apr 29 03:23:00 EDT 2004 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux


Wondering where they have their servers located or they are resellers of hostgator

Seems they might have started as a reseller of HG. At least the date in that System Information suggests that. Their site tells that they are using the Savvis datacenter. Maybe we need to wait for someone from SJR to update us !!!

cunning
03-01-2006, 08:17 AM
yea probably and they haven;t mentioned the server config as well

yking90
03-01-2006, 08:37 AM
interesting........

in their AUP one of the lines read as:


1.6. VIOLATION OF ANY SECTION OF THE AUP IS STRICTLY PROHIBITED AND MAY RESULT IN THE IMMEDIATE TERMINATION OR SUSPENSION OF THE SERVICES YOU RECEIVE FROM NETPORTS AUSTRALIA.


http://www.sjrhosting.com/aup.html

cunning
03-01-2006, 09:04 AM
Lol, they must have copied it from their site, was also observed here

ScottJ
03-01-2006, 09:06 AM
Thank you for the review Symbolik9! SJR Hosting is not a reseller of HG, we get our servers from LayeredTech and Servrstra. You can easily do a whois on the Original Posters domain and see we use LayeredTech and HG uses the Planet. About one year ago we did use HG for a dedicated server, but have moved away and have not since. I will have to update that link.

ScottJ
03-01-2006, 09:11 AM
interesting........

in their AUP one of the lines read as:



http://www.sjrhosting.com/aup.html


When we had our company site redesigned in December we also purchased a new AUP, but we did not purchase it from them, so I am not sure how that got there. I will get in contact with our designer.

J_ks
03-01-2006, 02:33 PM
That's a nice kind of a review..it might be that the designers have copied the AUP and they missed to replace the above mentioned quote

Chris1973
03-02-2006, 06:10 AM
I've also recently moved to SJR Hosting, and on the whole I am happy with their service. However there are one or two issues which have occured, which are of some concern.

Firstly, before I had even moved any sites over to them, I found that I was unable to access my WHM and the password was rejected. Upon entering the domain url (which I had pointed to SJR's DNS information), I was greated with a tourist portal which I had never hosted or uploaded!. SJR's explanation was that my site had not been hacked, but somebody had simply used and changed my WHM password (issued by SJR) to gain access!.

Today I accessed my invision forum, and found that the images were missing. Upon entering the Admin CP, and checking the configuration I found that the path to the HTML folder had changed to an Angelfire.com URL and the one to the Uploads folder had been scrambled. The Admin CP had logged no other IP or visit other than my own and nothing else had been changed. Both my Admin CP and FTP passwords are made up of a string of alphanumeric characters that even I have to write down, so my passwords are not something which could be easily guessed. Of course, I have also changed the passwords again this morning just in case!.

SJR Hosting uptime appears excellent, and other than these little issues their hosting would be A1.

ScottJ
03-02-2006, 09:01 AM
I've also recently moved to SJR Hosting, and on the whole I am happy with their service. However there are one or two issues which have occured, which are of some concern.

Firstly, before I had even moved any sites over to them, I found that I was unable to access my WHM and the password was rejected. Upon entering the domain url (which I had pointed to SJR's DNS information), I was greated with a tourist portal which I had never hosted or uploaded!. SJR's explanation was that my site had not been hacked, but somebody had simply used and changed my WHM password (issued by SJR) to gain access!.

Today I accessed my invision forum, and found that the images were missing. Upon entering the Admin CP, and checking the configuration I found that the path to the HTML folder had changed to an Angelfire.com URL and the one to the Uploads folder had been scrambled. The Admin CP had logged no other IP or visit other than my own and nothing else had been changed. Both my Admin CP and FTP passwords are made up of a string of alphanumeric characters that even I have to write down, so my passwords are not something which could be easily guessed. Of course, I have also changed the passwords again this morning just in case!.

SJR Hosting uptime appears excellent, and other than these little issues their hosting would be A1.


It would be nearly impossible for someone to guess your cpanel password. We have disabled the cpanel password reset and have brute force protection enabled on all our servers. We have the majority of the holes blocked for the invision board using mod_security. Please check to make sure your invision board is the latest version. Another thing that you may want to check for is a key logger on your computer. I recommend you use the following free software:

1) Zonealarm.com Firewall
2) http://www.safer-networking.org/ Spybot Search and Destroy
3) Adaware
4) Norton Anti Virus (You can get 6 months free from http://pack.google.com/)


Also please PM me your domain name and what your server your on. I will check the log files and help you get your site secured.

giggss
03-03-2006, 07:08 AM
What is the average time they take to respond to support tickets? Which plan are you on? The $5.95 (2gb plan?)?