Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Blocked from looking up a domain?


TopDog07
05-06-2002, 05:14 PM
Not sure if this should be in the domain forums or not, so I will post it here (Feel to move if needed).

I was looking up some information on a domain at whois.net when I got this message:

Welcome to the VeriSign Registrar WHOIS Server.

The IP address from which you have visited the VeriSign Registrar WHOIS database is contained within a list of IP addresses that may have failed to abide by VeriSign's WHOIS policy. Failure to abide by this policy can adversely impact our systems and servers, preventing the processing of other WHOIS requests.

To see the VeriSign WHOIS Policy, click on or copy and paste the following URL into your browser:

http://www.netsol.com/cgi-bin/whois/whois/

If you feel that you have received this message in error, please contact us at 1-888-642-9675, (703)-742-0914, or via e-mail at:
whoisquery@networksolutions.com

--- It is showing a different IP number then mine, but is still saying it is mine?!?! Anyone else have this problem?

Thanks. :angry:

JayC
05-06-2002, 05:40 PM
Originally posted by TopDog21
It is showing a different IP number then mine, but is still saying it is mine?!?! Anyone else have this problem?The IP number it's showing is the one you're currently using to connect -- not the one of your website. Most likely you're using a dialup account with a dynamic IP address and the address or block of addresses you're on has been tagged by Verisign as "abusive." Doesn't mean you were abusive yourself, it probably was another user or users of your ISP.

Kind of ironic: Verisign/NetSol complaining about someone else being "abusive."

StarGate
05-06-2002, 05:51 PM
I have noticed that with some services that track IP they track my actual IP but sometimes my GATEWAY IP.... has brough me MANY probs so far

TopDog07
05-06-2002, 06:06 PM
Yes, I was referring to my own IP, and I am on dial up.

It was a 209.xxx.xxx number (can't remember the rest of it) but my IP range is 12.xx.xxx.xx :( Thanks for the information. The good suffers with the bad :unhappy:

Speakerguy
05-06-2002, 06:31 PM
What domain were you looking up?

Ill whois it and paste it here

TopDog07
05-06-2002, 08:35 PM
Thanks for the offer/help, but I got it around it by looking it up through a whois on a host website. I will use another place to look up the domains from now, thier website loaded slowly for me anway :rolleyes:

Still and yet, that company "urkes" me. :mad:

2Grumpy
05-07-2002, 12:15 AM
I wrote a shell script once

that looked up ALL 2 3 and 4 letter domains and kept sa list of any available.

And I mean ALL from 00 through ----

It didn't get halfway finished before that IP was blocked :D

Frosty
05-07-2002, 12:38 AM
That same thing happens to me sometimes when i try a WHOIS check at register.com...but then i just re-boot my computer and try again and the message that was saying "i`m blocked cause i`m a baaaad baaaad person with banned IP" goes away.

TopDog07
05-07-2002, 01:59 AM
That makes me fill alot better now :D at least I am not the only one.

Chicken
05-07-2002, 05:51 AM
Originally posted by TopDog21
I was looking up some information on a domain at whois.net when I got this message:

Welcome to the VeriSign Registrar WHOIS Server.

The IP address from which you have visited the VeriSign Registrar WHOIS database is contained within a list of IP addresses that may have failed to abide by VeriSign's WHOIS policy. Failure to abide by this policy can adversely impact our systems and servers, preventing the processing of other WHOIS requests.

<snip>

--- It is showing a different IP number then mine, but is still saying it is mine?!?! Anyone else have this problem?

Thanks. :angry:
NetSol is blocking whois.net, most likely due to too many people running queries from their site. They can contact NetSol to resolve the issue. It isn't you, it's them (and their IP). I've experienced this with busy domain sites before as well. As you did, just go somewhere else until they get the issue resolved and you'll be able to look up domains. Might want to shoot whois.net a quick email letting them know you got the error.

Chicken
05-07-2002, 05:56 AM
Originally posted by Frosty
That same thing happens to me sometimes when i try a WHOIS check at register.com...but then i just re-boot my computer and try again and the message that was saying "i`m blocked cause i`m a baaaad baaaad person with banned IP" goes away.
I'm guessing you aren't getting the same message as above and that register.com is limiting and blocking you. Re-booting and re-connecting gives you a new IP so you can use it again. I don't think this is exactly related to the above, but post if you are getting the exact same message above. Could be wrong...

TopDog07
05-07-2002, 06:12 AM
Thanks Chicken :)

Frosty
05-07-2002, 01:12 PM
I`m innocent. Frosty hasn`t done anything bad :(

Actually the message was the exact same message i got at register.com when i tried to view the WHOIS of a domain. But it`s only happened twice so far.