Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : www.allecommerce.com - opinions?


brain21
01-19-2006, 05:58 PM
In my continuing search for a business-class e-commerce provider (i have it narrowed down significantly, however), I ran across

www . allecommerce . com

I can't seem to figure out from the home page at least if these guys operate more like the budget hosting providers, or like the business-class hosting providers (clustered servers, large pipes out to the next, impeccible customer support, FAR more frequent backups, etc.).

When I google around for allecommerce, or allecommerce.com, etc. I get tons of hits for "Allecommerce" as in www . allec . com - which is basically a web-zine about e-commerce on the web. I need info on allecommerce.com the e-commerce web hosting provider.

Since I cannot find any good info, I am turning here.

Does anyone have an experience with them, or know of anyone who does? Good? Bad? Budget or business-class?

Thanks,

Brain21


P.S. sorry about the formatting of the web addrs, but I keep getting an error stating that I must have at least 5 posts in the forum to be able to post URLs (I believe that I have more than 5 posts, but I can't remember).

Corey Bryant
01-19-2006, 06:28 PM
It seems they are a Miva provider. One of the problems with this - once you start with Miva, you wil be using it for life basically. If you are unhappy with their support and need to move, you will need to find another hosting company that supports Miva.

Some people love Miva and some do not care for it. We looked at it a long time ago and I was not really impressed at all with it honestly. It just was too cumbersome. I am sure a lot has changed in the past few years though.

Looking thru their site I noticed their merchant account (http://www.allecommerce.com/learn/shoppingcartbasics.html#4) information. It does not state what company is being used or anything - and this is clearly against Visa's rules and regulations for United States merchant account providers, ISOs, agents, etc.

cdgcommerce
01-20-2006, 04:48 PM
I agree - they really do need to update their site to reflect their status as an agent and which ISO/MSP and Member Bank they represent... otherwise that is going to open up the possibility of a very nasty financial penalty fine.