Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Spam from wht user ?


BadBoy
05-01-2002, 10:44 PM
I got this in a email,

We have now a new server online with much more advanced features in the control panel, if you would like to move servers please contact us here asap and we will arange it.


First off i dont even have a account with them further more never heard of them,im figuring it comes from here cause my personal email address is the one i use here i use a differnt one on the web.Also there wasnt a reply address.


Heres the info from source code


From nobody@hawaii.dnsvault.com Wed, 01 May 2002 15:18:50 -0700
Received: from [207.46.181.108] by hotmail.com (3.2) with ESMTP id MHotMailBE99B4420046400421C5CF2EB56C090219; Wed, 01 May 2002 15:18:45 -0700
Received: from hawaii.dnsvault.com ([66.96.234.135]) by cpimssmtpa35.msn.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.4905);
Wed, 1 May 2002 15:15:54 -0700
Received: from nobody by hawaii.dnsvault.com with local (Exim 3.35 #1)
id 1732Oi-0006xV-00
for myscreennamewashere@msn.com; Wed, 01 May 2002 18:16:28 -0400
To: myscreennamewashere@msn.com
From: City Host Helpdesk
Subject: New Server online
Message-Id: <E1732Oi-0006xV-00@hawaii.dnsvault.com>
Date: Wed, 01 May 2002 18:16:28 -0400
X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - hawaii.dnsvault.com
X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - msn.com
X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [99 99] / [99 99]
X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - hawaii.dnsvault.com
Return-Path: nobody@hawaii.dnsvault.com
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 01 May 2002 22:15:54.0560 (UTC) FILETIME=[C2CDBC00:01C1F15D]

Oh yea it showed "City Host Helpdesk" as the sender

SoftWareRevue
05-01-2002, 10:51 PM
You should forward these types of things to the moderators using the link at the bottom of all pages.
They'll deal with it.

Coder
05-02-2002, 08:10 AM
Originally posted by BadBoy
hawaii.dnsvault.com

That is a McHost server.

WebSnail.net
05-02-2002, 08:37 AM
Just ran a check and it would seem that City Hosts (who is also a member of WHT) is hosted on Hawaii... That said, it might just be a case of the wrong email so I'd forward the entire email to cs@mchost.com and marc@mchost.com.

They'll take care of it...

avara
05-02-2002, 09:05 AM
As the from field says "City Host Helpdesk", I was just wondering whether it's possible that you registered at their helpdesk at some stage?

I'm just noting this as a possibility, as many hosts will send out announcements to their customers via the helpdesk -- are you absolutely sure you did never register there? If you didn't, maybe someone else signed you up?

It appears like you're the only one here so far who has received this, so it doesn't look like spam to me.

MCHost-Marc
05-02-2002, 01:22 PM
It might be that someone signed up with your email and you got the announcement they sent out through the helpdesk mailing list. I'll take a look at it, though :)

Samuel
05-02-2002, 01:23 PM
I believe I got some spam from a subdomain of Webhosting Talk.

WHT, do you have a mail server running at anther.webhostingtalk.com ([88.58.121.118]) ?