View Full Version : Something shady about popscript.com
Virge 01-06-2006, 09:53 PM Has anyone ever heard of this website?
I've just recently stumbled upon it and I am looking at their stuff.
The more and more I go into it, the more and more I think something shady is going on here.
What do you guys think?
Personally I think they are stealing source code somehow, I mean have you seen the amount of programs they have? and how their are so many "Clones" of different websites.
Please discuss.
NateD 01-07-2006, 04:35 AM From looking at their website I can see that they're using some of the templates of monstertemplates.com. This doesn't however make them a dubious company to work with.
I suggest searching through these forums and Google to see if anyone's been "burned" by them. Also, see if you can find some positive reviews from their existing customers.
Shaliza 01-13-2006, 07:00 AM I've heard that they can't be trusted & that their Myspace clone was actually a direct rip from myspace [the look] & Friendster. Something about when you buy the scripts, you can actually see the original authors' names in them.
Do a Google search. People have been screwed over by them.
enetweb 08-24-2006, 02:29 AM Yes, do NOT do business with them! Their scripts are full of errors, and they will give any support. They like to take your money and when you do not get what you bought and get upset with them, they WILL BLOCK YOUR IP!
page-zone 08-25-2006, 08:22 PM It will be an interesting test to see if the site still resolves for very long. I found this thread doing my own curious search on that domain then did this:
Please wait for a HostGator operator to respond.
A HostGator operator should be with you shortly! Thank you for your patience.
Welcome to HostGator Live Chat! You are now chatting with 'JT'
JT: Welcome to HostGator Live Chat, how may I assist you?
Jim: Just thought I would give you a heads up, I had a client sign up for hosting service and couldn't get a script to run that he bought from these people who claim to be "The developer" of the script. He sent me to the long help desk conversation with them and they seemed so clueless, I started checking into them. I'd say you might be getting a evidence siezure from some law enforcement somewhere eventually. POPSCRIPT.COM http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=popscript.com Domain servers in listed order: NS191.WEBSITEWELCOME.COM NS192.WEBSITEWELCOME.COM
Jim: I just did a little digging. You may want to do more extensive since it will bit you
Jim: http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=475510&highlight=popscript.com
JT: im confused
JT: Please wait while I check.
JT: what is it they are doing that they shouldn't be?
Jim: http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=73438
Jim: Buyers beware, I am pretty sure that this is an illegal copy of AlstraSoft’s e-friends. I have purchased the exact same script from POPScript.com and later found out that they got shut down by AlstraSoft. They did not have permission to distribute it.
JT: if you feel this is so you should email abuse@hostgator.com
Jim: Its up to you if you want to host them. I wouldn't. I'm just sewnding you a heads up. I used to talk back and forth with the owner of your company many moons ago at MCHost. Have a good day.
Jim: I don't have time, I'm just doing you a small favor with the ten minutes I already gave you
JT: You're welcome!
JT: Thank you!
Jim: THe buyer beware was a quote, I didn't buy anything
Jim: You too
JT: ok thanks all take a further look at it then
Shaliza 08-25-2006, 09:34 PM There's a company named Alstrasoft & the guy who owns Popscript [Larry Lawrence] stole the codes from their script & claimed he did them himself.
I believe someone notified Alstrasoft about it & they made him take them down.
needlehost 08-26-2006, 04:59 AM yeh, heard this story before, not very legit.
bbrian017 07-22-2007, 12:22 PM Interesting to hear this but a little too late. I just purchased a script from this site for auctions. I'm running live with no error but there is cosmetic issues. Do you think they will help support my project or just let me suffer with what I got. I e-mailed for support Friday so I'm assuming I will hear back from them on Tuesday or Wednesday.
If I do have issues I think pay pal will get my money back anyways won't they?
page-zone 07-22-2007, 01:40 PM Looks like they're still proudly hosted by Hostgator (A YEAR LATER) But they hide it better. Using non hostgator nameservers that point to a hostgator IP.
74.53.81.130
eagle.websitewelcome.com
"poscript.com illegal" (http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&rls=com.microsoft%3Aen-us%3AIE-SearchBox&rlz=1I7GFRC&q=popscript.com+illegal)
Jay August 07-22-2007, 02:11 PM websitewelcome.com is one of HostGator's anonymous DNS servers if I recall it correct.
ukdenny 10-08-2007, 04:07 PM I wish I had found this site before a bought a script from popscript.com. I thought it was super (classified script) then I found out, no email validation was required and anyone registred or not could reply to an ad. Imagine the spam. The CEO of Popscript got quite angry in his email when I told him. I am waiting to see if Paypal will do anything about it. Also there where errors in the script which would not work in php5. A nice man at Bravenet fixed those for me but said it had lots of errors in it.
bbrian017 10-08-2007, 07:15 PM I wish I had found this site before a bought a script from popscript.com. I thought it was super (classified script) then I found out, no email validation was required and anyone registred or not could reply to an ad. Imagine the spam. The CEO of Popscript got quite angry in his email when I told him. I am waiting to see if Paypal will do anything about it. Also there where errors in the script which would not work in php5. A nice man at Bravenet fixed those for me but said it had lots of errors in it.
This guy that fixed the errors think he could fix the errors I have in the auction script I bought from them. Is there anyways you could send me a pm or give me some info on his contact information?
Thanks,
bbrian017
ukdenny 10-09-2007, 03:34 AM The guy that fixed some of the coding did it as a very special favour because popscript.com had said php5 was no good and the script needed php4. But even after those problems where fixed the issue remains of not having a facility to validate a users email address. In my opinion this renders all popscripts useless because they are wide open to spammers.
|