Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : copy my web site please LOL -site stealers


ADEhost
04-27-2002, 06:50 PM
the above remark was a joke.

I tell you. I can get a good laugh at the industry. Then laugh at myself even harder for doing everything wrong but this takes the cake.

so here goes :

my site : www.adehost.com
Images ( mostly public domain clip art, bought the right's to use ( not exclusive ) to some of the images.

the copier :
Site : mail.latinbusca.com IP address 216.200.145.34
Site : www.arpetec.com ip address 216.40.250.60

sent the advisory to the web companies above
result : nada

last night I sent the notice of copyright infringment advisement to :

EV1.net
Zoneedit.com
Net Access Corporation

all hosting companies that are ( upstream providers also ) involved.

Next is the certified letters to these parties and then to thier upstream providers, if there is no action taken.

side note: I don't know anybody at those firms, if anybody does could you point them to my thread.

Mike

pcsteve
04-27-2002, 06:55 PM
:eek: omg!

I see no one even puts an effort into copying these days..lol

sad.... i hope your letters reach the correct source so the right action is taken.

CChard
04-27-2002, 07:11 PM
For a second I though I was at the same site!!!

weeps
04-27-2002, 08:06 PM
It seems the only difference other then logo is the plans :)

BrianF
04-27-2002, 08:39 PM
That is *the* worst website rip I have ever seen in my life. Good luck getting this guy!

EKR
04-27-2002, 08:53 PM
Originally posted by ADEhost
last night I sent the notice of copyright infringment advisement to :

EV1.net
Zoneedit.com
Net Access Corporation

all hosting companies that are ( upstream providers also ) involved.

Next is the certified letters to these parties and then to thier upstream providers, if there is no action taken.Don't hold your breath waiting for a response from their providers; we had a problem with someone stealing from our site back in January, traced the site to EV1.net (RackShack), made several attempts to get the site shut down or at least have the infringing content removed by emailing RackShack's abuse dept., calling up their 800 #, and talking with reps at their live chat... and here we are 4 days from May and the site is still up. :angry:

Anyway, sorry to hear your site got ripped and I hope you have better luck getting everything resolved. :(

ADEhost
04-27-2002, 08:58 PM
Originally posted by kdghsu
It seems the only difference other then logo is the plans :)

no there is no real difference, I just updated my plans on thursday. these plans have the same shape and form. all he did was copy and paste the table pages

Mike

ADEhost
04-27-2002, 09:02 PM
Originally posted by Eric Radtke
Don't hold your breath waiting for a response from their providers; we had a problem with someone stealing from our site back in January, traced the site to EV1.net (RackShack), made several attempts to get the site shut down or at least have the infringing content removed by emailing RackShack's abuse dept., calling up their 800 #, and talking with reps at their live chat... and here we are 4 days from May and the site is still up. :angry:

Anyway, sorry to hear your site got ripped and I hope you have better luck getting everything resolved. :(

well the procedure is to inform the hosting company with e-mail then wait for a reply. if no reply send a cert letter. after the cert letter go to there upstram provider ..... and keep on going.

what happens is that I will spend 50 on a lawyer, get a C & D letter and hit the hosting company. if I shake enough leaves something is bound to fall and if I shake it hard enough I will get money ( not with copyright infringment ) but other avenues of attack.

Mike

TimPD
04-28-2002, 05:20 PM
They have changed it.

ADEhost
04-28-2002, 07:30 PM
Well I got action done, and proof of the pudding.
I would like to thank anybody that might have dropped a note to the people at the corresponding web host to have my right's enforced. Again thank you

Now for a quick laugh and see security at it's best LOL


http://www.arpetec.com/pagoayuda.htm

look at that page, now my spanish is not that good but I could not find anywhere that that was a dummy example ( if you don't look at the page you won't know what I mean )

LOL

Mike

p.s. should I fowarded a copy to 2checkout and there client ?

mike

Jessicam
04-29-2002, 03:32 AM
:eek2:

Wow. I hope that is made-up data. But yea, someone should email the person.. just in case!!!!!!!!

:eek3:
Jessica

ADEhost
04-29-2002, 11:14 AM
well they got rid of the old data LOL
now it looks like they are pointing to another firm

Mike

Jessicam
04-29-2002, 05:59 PM
Did you get to email this person? If the data was real, he or she may end up with a lot of trouble. :(

Jessica

ADEhost
04-29-2002, 08:23 PM
nope, did not e-mail them, but e-mailed the upstream. faster that way.

mike

okihost
04-29-2002, 08:36 PM
Is there anything that can really do done if they have changed it.. I mean they must have seen the post on here. I wonder if a screenshot would hold up..