Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : found a Webhosting company


Richard Chelements
01-12-2001, 10:09 PM
hi there everyone i have found a good webhosting company i have not got my website there with this company i am going to design my self a good website soon but. i just wanted to say if you wanted a good webhost goto http://www.k-flowers.co.uk
and folow the link to the hosting company and if you quote REF my name you will get discount and i will get a free month of service.

venomx
01-12-2001, 10:34 PM
This type of post is allowed now?

Chicken
01-12-2001, 10:58 PM
No, of course it isn't. This is just one of the more annoying people on the board who has decided that he can't get any clients any other way, other than spam the forum.

What I'm just going to do the next time this individual tries this, is to change his thread title to:

SCAM WARNING! Do not host with *hostname*!!!

Members cannot edit their thread titles and once I see it, I'll change it and lock the post so it can't be deleted. Now there's always the chance that this person will wise up, but...

venomx
01-12-2001, 11:06 PM
lol

CRego3D
01-13-2001, 12:08 AM
here we go again .. when will they learn ?

sodapopinski
01-13-2001, 12:35 AM
Some people just feel so exciting when the first time they run their own e-business.
And some people could not control their self to be a spammer.

klisis
01-13-2001, 12:46 AM
Well, at least I can understand they are excited but advertise with lies?

CRego3D
01-13-2001, 01:21 AM
true, but that shows the desperation that they are facing .. :(

JayC
01-13-2001, 02:20 PM
The premise of this one is kind of amusing. Since they've caught on that these kinds of posts by "new members" always result in requests for the url of the site they have hosted with this fantastic hosting company they've discovered, this time "i have not got my website there" yet. Pretty clever, but if you don't have a website hosted there, how can you know that it's "a good webhosting company?"

Chicken
01-13-2001, 03:18 PM
Ohhh this one is a real winner. They've come onto boards asking really stupid (newbie) questions with the URL in the message.

I will edit out ANY and ALL messages that contain their URL. What is really a shame, is that *maybe* one day they'll actually get a client who will like their services, but due to their actions, no one will know about it.

I'll be forwarding the URLs of two to Deb and Dogvox the next time I see it.

etLux
01-13-2001, 07:39 PM
You mean... http://www.*************** is maybe not such a good idea?

Why -- based solely on that wonderful post up top, now -- I was just about to transfer all thirty of my sites there!

BC
01-13-2001, 08:12 PM
This user can't even spell his homepage right :D

Check his user title now ;)

klisis
01-13-2001, 08:40 PM
Hehe... You guys are really toasting him.
I bet he's crying in the corner of his room.

Spider John
01-14-2001, 01:57 PM
Not bad BC, but might I suggest "Inconsiderate Self-Promoting Grammatically-Challenged Spam Boy"?

etLux
01-14-2001, 02:00 PM
Originally posted by BC
This user can't even spell his homepage right :D

Check his user title now ;)

BRAVO, CHICKEN!

CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP CLAP!

Long live the CDS.

BC
01-14-2001, 07:12 PM
Originally posted by Spider John
Not bad BC, but might I suggest "Inconsiderate Self-Promoting Grammatically-Challenged Spam Boy"?

I'll be a bit nastier next time, Spider ;) Though our slightly less 'experienced' members may not be so appreciative of such a title....

etLux
01-14-2001, 08:15 PM
Er, Spam Person...? We don't want to offend anyone... lol.

BC
01-14-2001, 09:50 PM
Way off-topic, John - there was another thread about this somewhere.

dgessler
01-14-2001, 10:43 PM
may i ask how you people guessed right that he was spamming? How did you know?

Chicken
01-14-2001, 11:58 PM
Bogus URL that pointed to a page that we've blacklisted many, many times. I spent almost two hours battling this loser on the boards one day.