Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : spammer


Daniel B
11-18-2005, 11:43 AM
the below copied message is an email i have recieved about 30 times now...each time i click the remove me from listing link and it goes to a non active domain name. I'm not experienced yet with determining where these emails are originating from...so if someone could look into it...or tell me how?







myemail is a nonprofit/charity contact email address right? if so...

WE WILL EMAIL YOUR WEB SITE TO 2,500,00 0PT-IN EMAILS FOR [Free]

[url removed]

----- ---- --- -- - -
second at our company web site above, read all about details on how our emailing service works, then send a letter to the postal mailing address on our company web site above with your non-profit and/or charity status as registered in your country of origin along with your mission statement enclosed, along with your email address and we will then send you all the specifications needed on how to receive your non-commercial, non-cost, non-transactional, non-relationship, charity/non-profit courtesy emailing.

this non-commercial, non-transactional, non-relationship, courtesy emailing has an important primary purpose of helping society by assisting nonprofits & charities have their non-profit/non-commercial mission statement/special message sent out to 2.5mil option in emails as a courtesy to help worldwide in national and global relief efforts for various causes in need of support.

----- ---- --- -- - -
thanks to the technology of email, here are only a few of the countless charities & non-profit organizations we have countributed to this year alone:

adventist develop & relief agency international, child help usa, direct relief international, doctors without borders, episcopal relief and development, international medical corps, mercy corps, operation usa, red cross hurricane relief division, red cross washington state chapter, the salvation army, among countless others that have requested global assistance.

----- ---- --- -- - -
if this is not a non-profit/charity contact email address and/or you are not interested in our occassional non-commercial, non-transactional, non-cost, non-relationship, courtesy emailings we perform for various nonprofits and charities, delist at: [url removed]

sirius
11-18-2005, 11:50 AM
the below copied message is an email i have recieved about 30 times now...each time i click the remove me from listing link and it goes to a non active domain name. I'm not experienced yet with determining where these emails are originating from...so if someone could look into it...or tell me how?

First and foremost, I would never suggest actually clicking on an unsubscribe link. You've accomplished nothing other than confirming to the spammer that they have a valid e-mail address and that you actually read the SPAM.

Just ignore it and move on about your life....

Sirius

RW-Steven
11-18-2005, 12:21 PM
First and foremost, I would never suggest actually clicking on an unsubscribe link. You've accomplished nothing other than confirming to the spammer that they have a valid e-mail address and that you actually read the SPAM.

Just ignore it and move on about your life....

Sirius


Correct.

Ive been receiving these emails at the rate of around 5 a day for over 5 months now, and i have set a rule in Outlook to delete them as they come in.

the below copied message is an email i have recieved about 30 times now...each time i click the remove me from listing link and it goes to a non active domain name. I'm not experienced yet with determining where these emails are originating from...so if someone could look into it...or tell me how?

Domain ID: D108098127-LROR
Domain Name: SPAMMER-DOMAIN.ORG
Created On:03-Nov-2005 08:52:54 UTC
Last Updated On:03-Nov-2005 09:00:08 UTC
Expiration Date:03-Nov-2006 08:52:54 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:CSL Computer Service Langenbach GmbH (R25-LROR)
Status:CLIENT DELETE PROHIBITED
Status:CLIENT TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Status:CLIENT UPDATE PROHIBITED
Status:TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Registrant ID:CORG-138397
Registrant Name:Bob Soloway
Registrant Street1: PO Box 1259
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City: Seattle
Registrant State/Province:--
Registrant Postal Code:WA
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+206.2231271
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:+206.2231271
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:today2005@earthling.net

Source : [url removed]]

bear
11-18-2005, 12:30 PM
Posts edited to remove the spammers URL. No point in leaving that in to be spidered...

eldawg
11-18-2005, 02:01 PM
I've been getting these over the last few weeks as well. Best to ignore and tweak your filters.

GnomeyNewt
11-18-2005, 02:11 PM
Same here, actually to my email only listed in my whois! Anyhow, no point in trying to figure out where or how to get removed. Atleast for me that is a huge waste of time. Better to just filter it the moment you get it and than you won't see it again.

ChrisTech
11-18-2005, 02:34 PM
You can head over to http://www.spamcop.com/ to filter out the abuse@ email address, or over to http://www.spamcop.net/ to report it.

Been reporting @ spamcop.net for the past 5-6 months, and I've noticed a sharp decline in spam. Maybe the stuff I was getting, no one else was reporting, so it just keep getting flooded out. But who knows. I have less junk coming in, and Im happy with that.