Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Rip Rip Off.


TimPD
04-20-2002, 08:09 PM
Look what I found today

http://vibehost.com <---------- Orignal

http://acidsun.com/ <------------- Copy.

alpha
04-20-2002, 08:12 PM
lol, at least they *tried* to make it look different...

thats one of the worst sites to copy if you're gonna be lazy and take a layout of a current site...

Akash
04-20-2002, 08:14 PM
copier's posted an offer to sell in the special offers forum too :rolleyes:

vibehosts
04-20-2002, 08:18 PM
People these days just don't care and think they won't ever get caught. Jeeze

NodeHost
04-20-2002, 08:32 PM
The funny part of this all is acidsun.com is posting in the hosting requests forum on this site, and yet offering NO reasoning to this rip??? Hmmmmmmm.........

:mad:

TimPD
04-20-2002, 08:34 PM
Quote "I didn't seriously" He didn't copy it. He said


i found a site on anglefire that had some crap old templates and i got some ideas from that site

php4life
04-20-2002, 09:03 PM
yes, i did find some stuff on personal anglefire sites. Yes I got ideas from those template sites. Did it ever occur to anyone, that maybe that template site copied vibehost, and changed some stuff around. I found the template, changed stuff around to my liking, and posted my website. All I have to say is that no one here listens to the other side of the story, they "assume" and prick on the minority. Im sorry if it seems like I copied vibehost's website, but I DIDNT! The site is coming down anyways, I cant afford the hosting, for I have too many bills to pay.

NodeHost
04-20-2002, 09:42 PM
Whoa, Whoa Whoa!!!!

We prick on the minority? We don't listen to the other side? Wait. Give it a minute.

You had not responded, so we had not had a chance to listen. You have posted your reasoning, and we appreciate that. I can see what you are saying to be true, and I can respect that if you got it from a free template site, why you thought that it would be good to use.

I see sites like this every now and then, but this reason is why I like to develop my own ideas, or just pay others to go ahead and create my site for me..... Not saying this is the way for you, but just mine.

vibehosts
04-20-2002, 09:45 PM
Node,
I understand what you are saying it makes perfect sense but notice he said he got ideas from the sites not the whole thing. If thats true why is it just like mine, especially with the little logos and the findsp review me button?

NodeHost
04-20-2002, 09:51 PM
Very good point....

I am not saying that I agree that he did not rip it, I am just saying that he had not told his side. The sites are WAY similar, and if he did rip it, just admit it and say he is sorry.

I do find these problems with his post:

1) He went off on everyone saying we do not listen to his side before he even posted - how can we do that?

2) The site still remains in question with the things that you pointed out. Some things are different, but this is the case in any rip.

3) IF he pulled it from a angelfire site, I would like to see the site he pulled it from. If he states that he can not find it, I consider that to be a lie, becuase if I find templates that I would want to use, I am going to bookmark that site. I would also post that link up in my FIRST post in defense to help back my side.

4) He is calling himself a minority, what exactly in what context are we to take this? That he is a small reseller (not a minority considering half of the people doing hosting are resellers), that he is just small (we all start somewhere), I just do not know how to take this.

I would like to see a post from him stating these issues and his responses to them. I do not think that this is to much to ask since he did start and state these issues that are now in question.

nk07
04-20-2002, 09:56 PM
Node:

If you would like to discuss a debate that Vibehost.com was taken from a template page, go right ahead. Until you find that page with this so called template, you have no right to state that there is a template for my website.

Peace.

vibehosts
04-20-2002, 09:56 PM
All I'm asking for is to see this angelfire site and then I will know it was them that copied my designers work. And I will make sure this angelfire site is atleast 3 months old because thats how long he has claimed to have the design.

NodeHost
04-20-2002, 10:01 PM
nk07 and vibehosts - please read my post again!

I am saying that I believe that there is such a template that was out there - I want to see the site that he got this template from and if it exists.

Let me say this before the intentions of me posting on this issue get out of hand, I hate rippers! I think they are scum, we all work too hard and spend too much money on our sites to have someone rip them.

Now that being said, I was trying to take a diplomatic way to get some responses from him to back up his story. I do not think that this is going to happen.

Basicly - WHERE is this angelfire site with this template? I do not think that it exists. I believe it is a total rip at this point, and until I see absolute proof otherwise, I am not going to believe it, and want him to fess up and be done with it.

Akash
04-20-2002, 10:03 PM
Originally posted by vibehosts
All I'm asking for is to see this angelfire site and then I will know it was them that copied my designers work. And I will make sure this angelfire site is atleast 3 months old because thats how long he has claimed to have the design.

you do know that you have the right to an immediate ceast and desist order pending your own investigation. I'd fedex a copy of it to the address on the whois record too

vibehosts
04-20-2002, 10:04 PM
LOL Frank I didn't critisize your post at all I was just supporting the point you made about lets see where he got it from. Sorry for misunderstanding.

Akash I believe my designer Norb did that.

Akash
04-20-2002, 10:06 PM
nevermind...:D

nk07
04-20-2002, 10:08 PM
Uhh? Your sig? BTW, I'm norb.

nk07
04-20-2002, 10:11 PM
I can see where this guy is coming from. I support him if he really did get this page from some angelfire page. But until I visually see this angelfire page, it is to my belief that vibehost.com was copied by acid sun.

DomiNET.net
04-20-2002, 11:45 PM
Well vibe, you are not the first nor the only ripped.

Digitallinx stole my design a long time ago....after a huge wht discussion he changed the desing...but he is still using my prices and my plan table and my plan names as well.

http://www.digitallinx.com/plans.php
http://www.dominet.net/en/services.htm

alpha
04-21-2002, 03:16 AM
i dunno about you guys... but im kinda getting tired of seeing these kinds of posts in the lounge...

I remember my good ol days learning photoshop and etc... a frequent graphics forum I went to had a forum named "Pixel Police" (nice and simple) where people could post all the rips and etc.

lol, hopefully the lounge won't become that...

really, all you need to do is contact the person you think the other ripped it from, and let them know that you found a site similar to yours and allow them to take care of it... keep it simple.