okihost
04-19-2002, 11:03 AM
I just got some SPAM froom one of the latest new age 10 year old host with a reseller account. I did not know if this is allowed. I can see this genious obviously does not understand what the Host means in OKIHost now this is what I call good marketing.
[start of PM]
Hi OKIhost
Check out my site at http://www.hisdomain.com I have a really reasonable reseller plan, and I help train you while you are selling.
I have references if you need them.
[/end of PM]
Help me train? Wonder who his "references" are?
Anyway the only reason I am posting this is that I hope this is not going to be the new thing on here and I hope there is a rul against it..
akashik
04-19-2002, 11:32 AM
I think everyone gets it from time to time. Yesterday someone was trying to sell me a domain name for $45 (a .ws one at that). I have no idea where they thought I'd be interested in buying it, so I presume it must have been sent to a few people.
Greg Moore
Angel78
04-19-2002, 11:32 AM
perhaps you should drop a PM (not spam) to the mods? :)
SoftWareRevue
04-19-2002, 11:43 AM
Originally posted by Angel78
perhaps you should drop a PM (not spam) to the mods? :) Always the better courses of action (maybe emailing mods@wht is better). Then, if they hear the same story from others . . . . . . . . .
MattF
04-19-2002, 11:53 AM
It is crucial that you report any spam (or better known as mass or unsolicited private messaging) to either myself at matt@webhostingtalk.com or moderators@webhostingtalk.com, I will personally take care of any spammers.
Users may only PM other users if the user has explicitly expressed interest in the other user's products or services, or the user can provide a service/product which directly matches the other user's request.
Akash
04-19-2002, 01:49 PM
Originally posted by akashik
I think everyone gets it from time to time. Yesterday someone was trying to sell me a domain name for $45 (a .ws one at that). I have no idea where they thought I'd be interested in buying it, so I presume it must have been sent to a few people.
Greg Moore
actually if the domain name had the word free in it, it was probably meant for me as I had made an offer for it earlier, if you still have it think you could forward the PM to me? Thanks ;)
BTW: Akashik is NOT Akashd Get it right for cryin out loud!
<edit: the previous line is directed to everyone who gets it wrong>
:D
akashik
04-19-2002, 01:59 PM
Ahhh ok. Well that explains it I suppose :) Good thing I didn't report it then.
Erm and yes, we're not quite the same person, even though our 'names' are close.
I'll see if it's still in the trash, and forward it on to you.
Greg Moore