roly
04-18-2002, 04:11 AM
http://www.freededicatedservers.com
Is this a SCAM?
Is this a SCAM?
![]() | View Full Version : FreeDedicatedServers.com roly 04-18-2002, 04:11 AM http://www.freededicatedservers.com Is this a SCAM? 2Grumpy 04-18-2002, 05:58 AM Interesting. If it's a dedicated server what's to stop me from just disabling the horrendous pop up ads? Other than the fear of $250 a month and a $300 setup for what I'd doubt is anything even comparable to even Rackshack :D afriq 04-18-2002, 06:03 AM Doesn't look like a scam, but you'll be required to put javascript supplied by them on your site. And they will only consider sites that attract more than 2000 pageviews per day. But what I do find disturbing, is the fact that they use trademarks such as HiRize and Cartsnap. Those of you that were Virtualis clients will recognize those as Virtualis trademarks. Now, does this mean that FreeDedicatedServers bought those trademarks from Virtuals/Adgrafix? Somehow I doubt it ... And this page looks like a copy of the old Virtualis site: http://www.freededicatedservers.com/dedas.htm "So what?", you may ask. Virtualis is no longer with us ... skylab 04-18-2002, 01:01 PM i'd stay far away. especially if your sites are mission critical. having to rely on clickthroughs to keep your server up is a scary thought. cperciva 04-18-2002, 01:05 PM Adult / Password / Warez Sites (We can arrange free servers in safe jurisdictions) Yes, it's definitely a scam. RobbertC 04-18-2002, 04:11 PM Hmm, the technical contact from their domainname is in the Netherlands. The telephone number is false, it doesn't exist. Also, the chamber of commerce (the trade register) doesn't know FreeDedicatedServers. That means they're not an officialy company. Don't trust them :) iamdave 04-18-2002, 09:12 PM Dual Hard Drives - 36 GB LVD SCSI, 40 GB EIDE** Intel Pentium III 850 MHz 100 Base T Ethernet 1024 MB RAM 256+ IP addresses* 300 GB per month bandwidth transfer! Contact our sales team to discuss your custom needs! Price: Free Ya, okay. They make you put a javascript on your site...if you get 2,000 hits a day. The average CPM now is probably $4 thats $8 a day, that's $240 a month. So i don't know, it could be a scam, or it could not be... I wouldn't trust a company that offers free services, like that.... web_res 04-18-2002, 10:32 PM Average CPM for most sites are far below $4 CPM... For untargeted traffic there are many going at around $0.10 CPM. Doubleclick.net (the leader in web ads) gives around 1 cpm but with pop-ups and two ads per page for most sites. A 2k pageviews per day site is not close to qualifying to doubleclick. AcuNett 04-18-2002, 11:11 PM LOL They have all these "traffic multiplier" affiliate links on their site. Seems to me like one of those mom and pop get some cash drives :). smacx 04-19-2002, 12:03 AM Your right on afriq, it is virtualis, I never would have seen that though except hi-rise did strike me as weird. They got bought out by hosting.com and I think they now have hi-rise. Anyhow they are blatently a scam, somebody should actually try and get a server and see what kinda crap they pull. iamdave 04-19-2002, 02:24 AM About the CPM I was exagerating a bit, but there is a $5 CPM... I've seen it, but it's with mulitple pop-ups. NetMongol 04-19-2002, 03:11 AM $5 CPM is ExitFuel.com's "aggressive" pop that spawns multiple windows. They pay but your visitors will hate you for it. skylab 04-19-2002, 03:51 AM fastclicks pop-unders are around $2.30 - $2.50 i believe. which isn't too bad. jvv 04-19-2002, 07:54 AM If it's still the same freededservers as a few years back it's definitely a scam. They require you to put their banners on your site (at your current host) for about a week so they can 'verify' that you meet their requirements. After the week you won't hear anything from them again. roly 04-19-2002, 08:34 AM Originally posted by jvv If it's still the same freededservers as a few years back it's definitely a scam. They require you to put their banners on your site (at your current host) for about a week so they can 'verify' that you meet their requirements. After the week you won't hear anything from them again. how do u know? jvv 04-19-2002, 08:57 AM If it's the same 'company' there was a discussion about them on the freewebspace.net forums. Some people tried them, finding out it was a scam. They had to put FDS banners on their sites for a week to evaluate. After the week they either didn't qualify or didn't get any reply at all. web_res 04-19-2002, 03:16 PM Originally posted by iamdave About the CPM I was exagerating a bit, but there is a $5 CPM... I've seen it, but it's with mulitple pop-ups. Thats 5 cpm on a POP UP (which spawns even more pop-ups) and they will pay you for only one visitor per 24 hrs. So if visitor goes to your site 10x per day, you only get paid .005 dollars for 10 pageviews (.0005 dollars per pageview) equating to about 50 cent cpm. For a site that gets much more then ten pageviews per visitor (like wht for example) it's really worthless. Fastclick, your talking about pop-ups once again and not banner ads. Even then you will notice that if you take your pageviews (not unique visitors per month) per month and then multiply it by $.002 (2 cpm) you will notice that you get alot less then 2.00 CPM overall. web_res 04-19-2002, 03:19 PM Originally posted by roly how do u know? Freededicatedservers.com is not a new site but rather a pretty old one. I haven't seen it updated since last year... I did apply for the fun of it but decided that it wasn't worth placing there ad on my site for a test. iamdave 04-19-2002, 08:23 PM Actually you have it wrong, if the same visitor comes twice within the same day you only get paid once for that visitor... If you get 2000 unique visitors, then yes you will get $5 CPM. web_res 04-19-2002, 10:54 PM How many unique visitors do you think this site gets? I wouldn't be surprised if it was under 2000 unique which is $10 bucks a day, even less as only USA visitors will get paid the full $5 cpm. I'm not sure where you think i went wrong. CPM is defined as cost per thousand impressions and not cost per thousand unique impressions. So if you get 20k views from 2k visitors (average of only ten page views per visitor) it is $.50 CPM. iamdave 04-19-2002, 11:27 PM The site says, that your site must get 2000 hits a day at least, for you to be eligible. web_res 04-19-2002, 11:36 PM I am not sure how that is relevant... I'm just saying $300 per month is not a lot for something like this. A "hit" is a very vague term... gafami 04-21-2002, 05:32 PM Originally posted by web_res Freededicatedservers.com is not a new site but rather a pretty old one. I haven't seen it updated since last year... I did apply for the fun of it but decided that it wasn't worth placing there ad on my site for a test. check out this site: http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.freededicatedservers.com it has a backup of that site ranging back to dec 2000 ... |