Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : A funny thing happened......


GordonH
01-07-2001, 04:03 PM
.... when I was looking through my log files.
Someonehad hotlinked to a couple of images on my server.
When I went to the page they were being used on it was another web host who had also lifted my text.

Here's their page:
http://internetadvancement.com/cgi-bin/members_only/services/hosting.htm

Here's mine (normally in a pop up]:
http://www.hostroute.com/pop_alacart.html

The textisn't that similar now because we changed shopping cart and I had to rewrite it.

Its still very annoying though.

Oops.
Is this a site that plugs other web hosts.
I am confused.
Here is their list of plans:
http://internetadvancement.com/cgi-bin/members_only/services/rate.html
Here's mine:
http://www.hostroute.com/specialplans.html

The "buy now" link on their page links to my site.
They abviously sampled the page earlier this week before we added the cart and secure server to the advanced plans.

What's going on?


Gordon



[Edited by GordonH on 01-07-2001 at 03:08 PM]

KDAWebServices
01-07-2001, 04:57 PM
Well if I was you I would replace those files that have been hotlinked with either:

a) Hardcore Porn
b) A file saying we stole our site from this host: http://www.hostroute.com
c) Something that would be equally embarasing

Craig
01-07-2001, 05:10 PM
haha i like it kda..
But he must remember to show us the porn for a "sample" ;)
See if its up to standard :D

Cheers

Craig

GordonH
01-07-2001, 05:26 PM
Yes
I'd love to do that but unfortunately the images are used on quite a few pages.
There is one they are using that isn't so I will have a look.

Here's another page they ripped off:
http://internetadvancement.com/cgi-bin/members_only/services/hostinggaurantee.htm

http://www.hostroute.com/guarantee.html

At least they didn't lift my signature!

Gordon

[Edited by GordonH on 01-07-2001 at 04:31 PM]

Toons
01-07-2001, 06:17 PM
Sadly this seems to be a growing trend, we've stumbled across 2 sites who had stolen major parts of our site in the past month(lucky its being relaunched soon with a new look anyway).

The threat of a lawyer usually gets them shutdown pretty rapidly :o/

Regards,

Tony Lucas

GordonH
01-07-2001, 06:21 PM
Originally posted by Trijnie
They stole all this from you, but I would not worry. It's not a very style full company.

I would confront them personally.
Tel (Intl): +44 7050 601 918 | Tel (UK): 07050 601 918
Fax (Intl): +44 7050 601 917 | Fax (UK): 07050 601 917

P.S.: funny things happening make you laugh...

Hello
Thats our phone number not theirs.

Yes, OK Tony, I am quite surprised because I don't think our site is much to write home about.....


Gordon

Trijnie
01-07-2001, 06:25 PM
A month ago someone wanted to place several web-sites with us (adult). We told him NO adult sites and kindly reffered him to our terms & conditions. The same day he took a picture of our site and used it for hosting purposes of another kind:

http://www.hiddo.nl



[Edited by Trijnie on 01-08-2001 at 01:53 AM]

Trijnie
01-07-2001, 06:30 PM
Had both sites in a window. I was a bit too fast in writing. Well all the viewers on this board will check out this site and notice that THEY can not be contacted.

CRego3D
01-07-2001, 06:34 PM
I must admit, that's a terrific idea (changic the images on your server with ... something else :D )

I get a few images stolen now and then .. that's exacly what I will do next time .. hehe :D

KDAWebServices
01-07-2001, 06:52 PM
All you have to do Gordon is use search and replace in a program like HomeSite to replace the images with renamed versions and then upload some not so nice pictures in place (I'm sure in about 5 minutes you can find some not so nice pictures - either that or have ICQ open and someone is bound to send you a link to a site with plenty).

I personally would take the nasty picture substitution method because it would certainly make them think twice about doing it again (Especially if they don't check there site often), if they didn't get the idea pretty quick I would then phone a lawyer if you can;t contact them directly.

Then again, that's just my 2p.

nox
01-08-2001, 01:14 AM
Hey Gordon,

Have you tried using this number and email?


Villamor, Ernesto (EV774) evdv@EARTHLINK.NET
Internet Advancement
8420 Ne 136th St.
Kirkland,, WA 98034
626-296-5561

He seems to host with xo.com. Maybe they would *pass on a message* if they believe he is being a lowlife.

Have you got any sales from him yet...:D

Cheers.

Chicken
01-08-2001, 01:38 AM
That is just odd. If it didn't link to your site, then at least you wouldn't wonder so much, but... :confused:

allan
01-08-2001, 03:17 PM
Originally posted by GordonH
Yes
I'd love to do that but unfortunately the images are used on quite a few pages.
There is one they are using that isn't so I will have a look.


Gordon...since you are on a Unix server, you can very easily do a global search and replace with a little bit of Perl magic:

perl -pi.bak -e 's/image.gif/image2.gif/g' *.html

Hope this helps :).

Craig
01-08-2001, 08:10 PM
I must say that its low to steal graphics off someones site. Is it still wrong to take graphics though but change them? Say you took a visa card picture and added it to a few £ signs and a cash register, is that still class as stealing? Or If you saw a background you liked on an image, taking a small bit of the colour from it so u can get a background. Is that sort of thing wrong too?
Where exactly do you draw the line?
And what legal problems can you encounter? and what can you do to stop "graphic stealing"?

Its like how exactly can you copyright something? if you saw an image, screen cap'd it then pasted into a editor all electronic marks would have been erased and thusly all the proof.

*shrugs* just a thought :)
Back to revision now, got my law exam on wednesday heh ;)

Cheers

Craig