dcabbar
09-15-2005, 01:11 PM
Hi All,
Can someone please tell what the catch is for this ebay auction:
http://cgi.ebay.com/CC-COM-Rare-2-Letter-Int-Domain-Name-For-Sale_W0QQitemZ5807144607QQcategoryZ11153QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Thanks!
Techno
09-15-2005, 01:18 PM
I don't see a catch......but can't believe that the winning bid on CC.COM was only $201.
(I must check out ebay auctions more often),
dcabbar
09-15-2005, 01:27 PM
I think it has something to do with international domain names, but don't know what the actual catch is;)
And, as virginia mentioned, it is pretty unbelievable that this domain is sold for $201, especially given that ClearChannel owns cc.com...
cptcnj
09-15-2005, 01:59 PM
Why do I get the feeling the winning bid was actually for xn--c-6tb.com and not the cc.com we are thinking?
Techno
09-15-2005, 02:10 PM
Looking at it again it does seem unlikely that the poster owned cc.com or had any rights to sell it.
Lubeca
09-15-2005, 05:28 PM
Originally posted by cptcnj
Why do I get the feeling the winning bid was actually for xn--c-6tb.com and not the cc.com we are thinking?
Because it says so! :)
cptcnj
09-15-2005, 06:37 PM
Then that's really sneaky advertising.
inverthost.com
09-15-2005, 08:02 PM
Ha, nice scam. I'm sure eBay/PayPal will make sure the person gets there money back. Lol, people these days.
cptcnj
09-15-2005, 08:21 PM
There seems to be at least one other seller pulling a similiar thing... on the auction block - IDN versions of "money.com" and "poker.net" from what I found.
Lubeca
09-16-2005, 04:48 AM
Originally posted by inverthost.com
Ha, nice scam. I'm sure eBay/PayPal will make sure the person gets there money back. Lol, people these days.
IS it a scam, though? The seller was making it quite clear that they were selling an IDN domain, the item was advertised as an "international domain" and the IDN Punycode was clearly stated in the description immediately after the domain:
Domain Name: сc.com
IDN Punycode: xn--c-6tb.com
It was a bit sneaky - bearing in mind there are a lot of newbies out there who have probably never even heard about IDN domains - but I'm sure any domain name professional or semi-professional would have known exactly what they were buying. USD 201 is probably not excessive for a two-letter IDN; it's probably quite valuable for someone speaking the right language.
Stan Marsh
09-16-2005, 01:43 PM
Seller actually REVISED the description after listing an item. I think adding the IDN actually WAS the revision. Anyway, even without IDN, everything WAS perfect. Domain (I think) WAS listed AS IS, i.e. in all international codes and it's buyer's prerogative to check what he/she is buying.
(Although if I was the winning bidder I perhaps blocked my payment or requested an immediate refund)
Nice reading, anyway...
dmaven
09-16-2005, 06:39 PM
As others stated it was an IDN name. I doubt clearchannel would part with the real cc.com