Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Strange default IE page problem


Erich
04-07-2002, 10:06 PM
SEE POST AT THE BOTTOM instead of this one - I WAS OBVIOUSLY WRONG AND HONESTLY APOLOGIZE FOR MY MISTAKE


Sweet "marketing" ideas this host has:

Whenver I type in a domain that either
doesn't exist or is offline I get this page:

http://graphicrevolutionz.com/suspended.page/

instead of that default MS error message


I didn't check whois etc. any further but it is

a) a ridiculous lie ("site suspended because of yada yada..." - it happened to me today the first time with zoenedit.com, then I tried randomly fantasy domains - all "suspended" lol) and

b) that page links to www-hosting.net without any affiliate code so I suspect/am sure that this must be a page of themselves

and not "someone" sending them traffic

This is the first time that I catched something like that, I surely have heard of stuff like this but it never happened to me untill now.

I didn't click any suspicious emails either (never do) so I guess it must have been a web site?


Anyone know how I can get rid of this?
I couldn't find it in IE options, must be
something to delete in the registry?

AlaskanWolf
04-07-2002, 10:23 PM
WWW-HOSTING.NET is scam artists?

Your post is false, abusing and slanderous and before I go any further I want an apology from you.

1. We are not scam artists, we have been in this business since 1996, and as you can see from my post count, we are active members of this board.

2. This site is hosted by us but is utilizing over 80% of MEMORY and 20% of CPU, therefore we had no choice but to suspend it due to High Resource Usage.

3. If you knew how to read, you will clearly realize this is what it says:

This Account Has Been Suspended
This account has been suspended for any of the following reason
- High Resource Usage

Please contact the your host as soon as possible

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Now how are we scam artists when we include our advertising on a site that we host that is abusing our TOS?

this is soooo funny that today, we got so many people calling us saying "why are you hijacking our computer" I wont even comment on that one......you can laugh hysterically to yourself

PS: thanks for the advertising your kicking into our website. Our hits today from this post alone are bringing in quite a few hits

Chicken
04-07-2002, 11:28 PM
Whenever you type in a domain that either doesn't exist or is offline your browser goes to http://graphicrevolutionz.com/suspended.page ??? That sounds a bit odd. Not sure why that would be happening (doesn't happen on my computer).

SI-Chris
04-07-2002, 11:32 PM
Originally posted by Erich
Whenver I type in a domain that either
doesn't exist or is offline I get this page:

http://graphicrevolutionz.com/suspended.page/

instead of that default MS error message
...
Anyone know how I can get rid of this?
I couldn't find it in IE options, must be
something to delete in the registry?
Hu? Are you saying that www-hosting.net somehow was able to replace the standard not-found error page in your copy of Internet Explorer with one of their "account suspended" pages? Seriously? First of all, it's not possible for a website to make modifications to your copy of Internet Explorer in this manner; if it were, everyone would have their browsers taken over by get-rich-quick sites, porn, etc. etc. etc.

Second of all, where do you get off posting a thread like this anyway? If you *think* you have a problem with your computer try and diagnose it (or in this case contact www-hosting.net at the very least), don't go posting a slanderous rant that's potentially damaging to someone's business. (Although I seriously doubt this will hurt www-hosting.net because of the completely whacked nature of your post).

AlaskanWolf
04-07-2002, 11:59 PM
Using Cpanels simple SUSPEND feature, its as simple as setting up your Suspend Page and once an account is suspended, using htaccess its forwarded to that page.

This feature we had requested Nick to add quite a while ago since when you suspended a page, you got the ugly Apache Forbidden page.

Now him talking about "i went to other sites and get the same page" is very likely and highly false, unless he is simply clicking on a link from that page, to the suspended site (which is http://brym.net)

HRBrendan
04-08-2002, 12:14 AM
It sounds like the site that was suspended by www-hosting is the culprit here, not www-hosting.

-Brendan

Erich
04-08-2002, 06:30 AM
No matter WHAT domain I type in I get that page instead of the Microsoft error page that I always got the past years untill yesterday

www.dgnsdgnmqwe34wekfr.com
www.59djdbnmrddkksfs.com
www.enmcnvmtjkd582nsmd.com

and so on

Are you hosting all these domains?

I got it for zoneedit.com too yesterday when they were offline (which they aren't anymore)

No those sites are not "suspended" by www-hosting.net, that is obviously a fake message. Again, That URL listed above is what I get EVERYTIME a domain is not existent or offline (no dns).

When I got the MS error page untill today, I get that other page now.

www-hosting, now if you had said that that page is not yours and someone else is doing it I would have had to apologize although it would have been odd why someone would make such an effort to send you traffic, but basically you are saying YES WE HOST ALL THESE SITES and that page is true.

Not!

Erich
04-08-2002, 06:32 AM
I am talking about randomly TYPED IN (or mis-spelled) domains, not links followed from somewhere...

Erich
04-08-2002, 06:41 AM
made more tests

I get it when I type in

www.fhshsbddsbsbbsbbssewef8f930o.net

I don't get it when I type in

http://www.fhshsbddsbsbbsbbssewef8f930o.net


That's for any domain. When I leave out the http it wouldn't be a problem untill yesterday as IE would just autocomplete it, now I get that www-hosting.net suspended page everytime instead.

HRBrendan
04-08-2002, 07:22 AM
My guess is the site that was suspended by www-hosting most likely got your computer configured to load their page instead of the default page not found page, and now that their account is suspended you are seeing that page instead.

-Brendan

Erich
04-08-2002, 07:43 AM
What kind of site that graphicrevolutionz running, a pyraming scheme or adult site? The only reason that I could think of not www-hosting.net doing it would be graphicalresolutionz having done it, which might also explain the sudden increase in traffic to that site from all the mis-typed domains all around the world.


I HEREBY HONESTLY APOLOGIZE FOR MY WRONG AND SLANDERING ACCUSATIONS

Please understand that I was upset as I had to spend hours with that issue and still couldn't remove it, and it seemed the closest and most reasonable explanation. I could have contacted you but after assuming that you've done it I assumed that someone autoinstalling such scripts or whatever it was would be any helpfull.

I am very sorry about the wrong accusations.

I have no beef with or against www-hosting and I am not a host nor affiliated with any other than hosting at one.

Erich
04-08-2002, 07:50 AM
I'd like to add that I made the edits - which took me a while - before the post of Brendan.

Erich
04-08-2002, 09:55 AM
Could a mod change the thread title, I couldn't do it and someone might just flow over the thread titles without actually clicking it and get the wrong impression?

T_E_O
04-08-2002, 10:16 AM
On a dutch forum that i frequently visit i found someone complaining that www.lop.com (i won't make it clickable for obvious reasons, hehe) does almost the same thing you described.
There are rumours that the latest version of AdAware (from LavaSoft USA (http://www.lavasoftusa.com)) can detect and remove this, but luckily I have not yet had the need to try this out :)

T_E_O
04-08-2002, 12:23 PM
Erich, I think this article (http://news.com.com/2100-1023-877568.html) might be interesting for you.