Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Big Spammers ipowerweb.com STAY AWAY!!


Vortech
04-05-2002, 05:30 PM
:spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam:


For the past 3 months ipowerweb.com has been spamming users on our network and every where else. My wife had been getting these emails for about 3 months as well. I just thought ok its a one or 2 time thing..

Well she got it at her domains, then got it at her aol email address then hotmail..

So i said let me call these little spaming fools up.. Here is there info.. Nothing works and these are there numbers right from there site..

Telephone:
MON-FRI 24 Hrs. (PST)
SAT 8 am - Midnight (PST)
SUN 3 pm - Midnight FRI (PST)

Main Line: 310-314-1606
Sales: 310-314-1606
Customer Support: 310-314-1608

----start of spam-----

Return-Path: <55464_WebHost4Less@msn.co.in>
Received: from rly-xb01.mx.aol.com (rly-xb01.mail.aol.com [172.20.105.102]) by air-xb05.mail.aol.com (v84.10) with ESMTP id MAILINXB52-0405074816; Fri, 05 Apr 2002 07:48:16 -0500
Received: from imf02bis.bellsouth.net (mail002.mail.bellsouth.net [205.152.58.22]) by rly-xb01.mx.aol.com (v84.10) with ESMTP id MAILRELAYINXB17-0405074756; Fri, 05 Apr 2002 07:47:56 -0500
Received: from msn.co.in ([216.77.216.58]) by imf02bis.bellsouth.net
(InterMail vM.5.01.04.05 201-253-122-122-105-20011231) with SMTP
id <20020405124912.FPGJ1180.imf02bis.bellsouth.net@msn.co.in>;
Fri, 5 Apr 2002 07:49:12 -0500
From: <55464_WebHost4Less@msn.co.in>
Subject: WEB HOSTING - NO SETUP FEE- $7.95 Per Month!
Date: Fri, 5 Apr 2002 07:47:39
Message-Id: <214.185811.646098@msn.co.in>
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html; charset="us-ascii"
To: undisclosed-recipients:;
X-Mailer: Unknown (No Version)


"Better viewed in AOL 6.0 or 7.0"


We respect your right to privacy.
To no longer receive local specials
click here to be removed.


----end of spam-----


She has sent them an email each time asking very nice to be removed hey its worth a try at least some times.. Well they just keep on spamming away.

So i sent an email to UUnet and PSInet there backbones so i hope this well get them to stop..


But just an idea ipowerweb.com STOP SPAMMING... SPAM SUCKS..
:spam: :spam: :spam: :spam: :spam:

punaboy
04-05-2002, 09:36 PM
:spam::spam::spam::spam::spam:

I agree and feel for you Vortech. Same goes for me! My two domains, my 2 AOL and My wifes AOL emails have all been hit by ipowerweb. What the hell's wrong with them anyway? I have emailed them several times, but get no response. I got rid of my catch-all because of them.

I heard there's a program out there somewhere where it will reverse the email sent and send it back to the sender filling up their mailbox with every piece of spam that they sent. Fighting fire with fire, I'd like to try that.

I hope they see this post and get the hint!

:spam::spam::spam::spam::spam:

eddy2099
04-05-2002, 09:46 PM
I am not sure if it is ipowerweb.com that does the spamming. It could have been a reseller or something doing it.

I was just at their website and found that they have an Affiliate program
http://www.ipowerweb.com/affiliates/index.html which probably could be the cause of the spam.

I took a look at the mail-path and you get paths from outside ipowerweb.com itself.

Just a thought.

Edwin

Vortech
04-06-2002, 12:20 AM
Yea but the link in the email when right to them with out an Affiliate program link looked for that to.
The mail seem to of come from bellsouth or msn but the link was clear right to them.. :)

eddy2099
04-06-2002, 12:32 AM
Vortech,

Oh okie. I read your email but did not see any URL in there so I assumed you had them removed for some reasons.

I did not receive any spam from them so I could not say much but found they had an affiliate program so thought it comes from there. I had some other spammed from affilitate program participants.

Thanks for the upgrade.

edwin

Vortech
04-06-2002, 12:36 AM
Yea my wife sent the email to me from here aol account..

The reason it says "Better viewed in AOL 6.0 or 7.0"

It should say "Only viewed in AOL 6.0 or 7.0"

hehe I could not see the link in my eudora but i checked it on here aol account before posting.. :)

roly
04-06-2002, 03:56 AM
:puke: :spam:

Vortech
04-06-2002, 01:26 PM
These guys are very bad, just got anther one.. They must spam over and over to there same list.. lol

Return-Path: <55378_WebHost4Less@msn.co.in>
Received: from rly-xg01.mx.aol.com (rly-xg01.mail.aol.com [172.20.115.198]) by air-xg01.mail.aol.com (v84.10) with ESMTP id MAILINXG13-0406062248; Sat, 06 Apr 2002 06:22:48 -0500
Received: from imf08bis.bellsouth.net (mail108.mail.bellsouth.net [205.152.58.48]) by rly-xg01.mx.aol.com (v84.10) with ESMTP id MAILRELAYINXG16-0406062328; Sat, 06 Apr 2002 06:23:28 -0500
Received: from unknown ([216.77.216.17]) by imf08bis.bellsouth.net
(InterMail vM.5.01.04.05 201-253-122-122-105-20011231) with SMTP
id <20020406112506.GUPH1189.imf08bis.bellsouth.net@unknown>;
Sat, 6 Apr 2002 06:25:06 -0500
From: <55378_WebHost4Less@msn.co.in>
Subject: Thinking of Hosting A New Site? Just $7.95 Per Month
Date: Sat, 6 Apr 2002 06:23:39
Message-Id: <796.570384.524724@unknown>
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html; charset="us-ascii"
To: undisclosed-recipients:;
X-Mailer: Unknown (No Version)

Incognito
04-06-2002, 01:34 PM
if Spam appreciates all the free advertising...

Vortech
04-06-2002, 01:43 PM
I guess you could call it free advertising..
or
You could say these GUYS OUT RIGHT SUCK DON'T HOST THERE.. :)

If its free advertising that they same then deja.com and google.com are the king of free advertising.. :)

yeswebmaster
04-06-2002, 07:07 PM
Brad,

I think he means that the company "Spam" must appreciate all of the free advertising with their product all over this thread. He doesn't mean that iPowerWeb is getting free advertising, he means that Spam (the kind you eat, well maybe not you, definately not me, but somebody eats it :D )

cyansmoker
04-06-2002, 07:38 PM
Originally posted by punaboy
I heard there's a program out there somewhere where it will reverse the email sent and send it back to the sender filling up their mailbox with every piece of spam that they sent. Fighting fire with fire, I'd like to try that.

Geez, Punaboy, if ever you get more info about this program, please: by all means, post it here! I'm really eager to find such a program...

Too bad SpamAssassin isn't 100% accurate, or I would add server-wide rules like this...