Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : DO NOT accept orders from this IP Address


JasonC0
08-03-2005, 11:45 PM
My guess is that they were trying to get an autocreated account. I have been having problems with Arabic signups. They sign up and then say they cant pay through PayPal, or they sign up with fake info and expect me to create their account.

Dear Support Member,

This email confirms that there has been a new signup via the ClientExec signup script.

View the details of this signup online at (My CE URL)

------------------------------
Customer Details:
------------------------------
Domain Name: ihostu.biz
Organization: df
First Name: fghfgh
Last Name: fghfghfg
Email: fghfg@dghgjhjk.hh
Phone: 65465466
Address: fgh dfgh fgh fghfgh
City: fghfghgd
State: gfhh
Zipcode: 56565
Country: SA
Referred by: dfghgfhgfh
Language: English
Registrar Service Requested: Customer will transfer their own domain
Package Type: 2 - Reseller Web Hosting ( RESELLER )
Domain Package: Resellion
Requested Password: 0000000
Payment Type: paypal - Subscriptions enabled

------------------------------
Package Variables
------------------------------

------------------------------
Signup Environment
------------------------------
IP: 212.24.224.11
HOSTNAME: 212.24.224.11
USER AGENT: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1)


Thank you for using ClientExec!
The ClientExec Team
http://www.clientexec.com

Hands-on Mark
08-03-2005, 11:57 PM
That IP is from Saudi Arabia.

JasonC0
08-04-2005, 12:26 AM
I know. Visit www.ihostu.biz.

rootbug
08-04-2005, 08:44 AM
I've had a DENY in my .HTACCESS with 212. for several years.

:usflag:

AlexF
08-04-2005, 11:17 AM
Just one more reason not to have automatic signups. Thanks for the info.

crucialx
08-04-2005, 11:44 AM
We disabled automatic sign ups about 8 months back - and have since not had a single chargeback, as each order is reviewed.

Outlaw Web Master
08-04-2005, 09:21 PM
I never use automated sign ups for exactly that reason

OWM

Duport
08-04-2005, 09:37 PM
I never use auto sign ups either, thanks for the heads up

gatorzone
08-05-2005, 05:08 AM
yes, we still had to use manual cross-check for validation..

Tomer
08-05-2005, 06:24 AM
We simply cross check their IP with the location they provided. If within the USA, we also check their areacode with their city/area.

- Tomer

7de5igns
08-05-2005, 12:08 PM
I believe we also had this IP address sign up with us a couple weeks ago. We don't use auto signup, but I do remember one of my staff telling me that someone with the same ip was signing up and over and over again, using fake info.

Josh Stein
08-05-2005, 07:16 PM
Originally posted by Tomer
We simply cross check their IP with the location they provided. If within the USA, we also check their areacode with their city/area.

- Tomer

With VoIP and cell phones, nowadays that isn't such a great check.

xAngel
08-05-2005, 07:54 PM
Are there certain IPs that only Americans use? If there are, I would block all else....if I were targeting only American clients that is.

JasonC0
08-05-2005, 08:49 PM
OMG This ihostu.biz turd is really getting on my nerves. They have tried to sign up three times today. When will this idiot realize that he is not going to get an account? I keep adding his ip range to IP Deny but he uses a different IP every time.

xAngel
08-05-2005, 11:18 PM
I remember a webhost on here once, saying that a terrorist group made a secrete site under his service. Is that what's going on here?

rootbug
08-06-2005, 12:32 AM
Folks, read the 3rd reply (mine). While arguably heavy handed, it certainly solves this particular problem (and others). While they could proxy it, you gotta start somewhere.

Today's day & age I could care less about being "P.C"

Add this to your .HTACCESS
order allow,deny
deny from 212.
allow from all

:usflag:

TonyB
08-06-2005, 01:40 AM
He tried to sign up 3 times today lets just say he never did complete the order :D